Rod of Absorption clarifications?


Rules Questions


Hello, just a few questions regarding the Rod of Absorption. In the item description it states that the magic absorbed must be a single-target spell or a ray directed at either the character holding the rod or her gear.

Would a 'creature touched' spell, like vampiric touch, be considered a single-target spell or would spells more like charm person or finger of death apply where the description of the target states 'one creature'?

Would the rod be able to absorb, say, the death effect from being struck by the Wand of Orcus? Just fyi, we're at the bottom of Rappan Athuk facing the avatar or Orcus plus his undead hordes so i just had to ask.

Any opinions would be greatly appreciated.


Targeted spells are essentially any spell that doesn't cover a blanketed area of effect. "Creature touched" is a targeted spell.

Not knowing the exact abilities of the Wand of Orcus, I can't make a specific judgment. I can however, outline some possible conditions. If the Wand of Orcus casts a spell on hit and that spell does not effect an area around the strike, then your rod can absorb it. If it is simply an effect of the Wand (in the same way that fire damage is an effect of a +1 flaming longsword) then your rod cannot absorb it. If the strike causes an effect in an area (rather than solely the target of the strike), then the rod cannot absorb it. Also, if the Wand casts some spell, but the spell has no listed spell level, the rod cannot absorb it (though that may be up to DM interpretation).

Hope that helps.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Rod of Absorption clarifications? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.