Size and staff


Rules Questions


I just want to know if like for rings, armor ... there is some size to respect concerning staves? I just want to say, a ring worn by a large creature can't be wear by a medium creature. So, if a large creature has a staff, does it make for a large creature or every size of creatures can use it?


If by staff you mean a quarterstaff (or other weapon) then generally no, they do not resize.

I think most other magical items do though, if not by RAW than by general consensus and houserule.

The only exception I know of was one i made myself, where my Halfling wizard used a meta-magic rod as a fancy walking stick. (had it adamantine and diamond tipped to help explain the high cost. Looked good with him and his other expensive outfits. hehe).

-S


When my friends and I were converting from 2E to 3E, we had to explain how a Wand of Frost existed. We turned it into a Staff of Frost made by/for a pixie.

Problem solved.


Selgard wrote:

If by staff you mean a quarterstaff (or other weapon) then generally no, they do not resize.

-S

By staff i want to mean staff like page 491 :-D


Selgard wrote:

If by staff you mean a quarterstaff (or other weapon) then generally no, they do not resize.

I think most other magical items do though, if not by RAW than by general consensus and houserule.

The only exception I know of was one i made myself, where my Halfling wizard used a meta-magic rod as a fancy walking stick. (had it adamantine and diamond tipped to help explain the high cost. Looked good with him and his other expensive outfits. hehe).

-S

Did he have a strong pimp hand?

Scarab Sages

Pg 459:

Size and Magic Items:
When an article of magic clothing or jewelry is discovered, most of the time size shouldn't be an issue. Many magical garments are made to be easily adjustable, or they adjust themselves magically to the wearer. Size should not keep characters of various kinds from using magic items.
There may be rare exceptions, especially with race-specific items.
Armor and Weapon Sizes: Armor and weapons that are found at random have a 30% chance of being Small, 60% of being Medium, and 10% of being other.

Under Staves specifically, pg 491:

A typical staff is like a walking stick, quarterstaff, or cudgel.

So, if it's an item that falls under the *worn* slots for magic items on the body, it should usually size for you.

If you find a staff for a large creature, the first idea that comes to mind would be to pick up the monkey grip feat. You'd be able to wield it as a weapon, but just barely.

But if you just want it for the magical abilities, the fact that it's a really big stick shouldn't interfere. It'll just be funny to see you walking around with a huge stick :D

Alternatively, you could have shrink item cast, and then permanence it and wield a much smaller stick. Your staff is going to be between 8 and 16ft normally. So a shrink item will knock it down from six inches to a foot. Same size as a magic wand.


Magicdealer wrote:

Pg 459:

Size and Magic Items:
When an article of magic clothing or jewelry is discovered, most of the time size shouldn't be an issue. Many magical garments are made to be easily adjustable, or they adjust themselves magically to the wearer. Size should not keep characters of various kinds from using magic items.

So that is to mean that a ring from a large creature can be magically adjustable to a small or medium creature, without any difficulties? Like, I take it in my hand and it becomes a "small" ring?

Magicdealer wrote:


Under Staves specifically, pg 491:
A typical staff is like a walking stick, quarterstaff, or cudgel.
If you find a staff for a large creature, the first idea that comes to mind would be to pick up the monkey grip feat. You'd be able to wield it as a weapon, but just barely.

What is the monky grip feat?

Scarab Sages

Yep, for the most part *barring dm's choice of course* that magical ring will pull off and shrink down to appropriate ring size in the hand of a medium or small creature.

Monkey Grip requires bab +1
The monkey grip allows a wielder to use a weapon one size category larger than him as a 2-handed weapon. All attacks made whilst doing so are at a -2 penalty. That's quoted from memory btw :p There are some other elements regarding two weapon fighting and double weapons too, I think. You can find it in Complete Warrior.

Basically, for a medium creature, they can use a light weapon, a 1-handed weapon, or a 2-handed weapon. A 2-handed weapon for a large creature would be one size category over a 2-handed weapon for a medium creature.

With monkey grip, the character can wield it as a 2-handed weapon. Note that monkey grip is an old 3.0 feat, that is fairly popular for fighters as it lets them get a higher base damage on their weapons.


Magicdealer wrote:
Alternatively, you could have shrink item cast, and then permanence it and wield a much smaller stick. Your staff is going to be between 8 and 16ft normally. So a shrink item will knock it down from six inches to a foot. Same size as a magic wand.

Shrink Item doesn't work on magical items, but you could presumably make magical staves that are the size of a pencil, and then hold a fistful of them at once. ;-)

Scarab Sages

Huh. You're right, I completely overlooked that little notation about non-magical items :(

I remember somewhere there was a *resizing* enchantment you could put onto weapons, but it certainly isn't pathfinder. It might even be another 3.0 ability :(

Ok, bite the bullet, and get YOURSELF enlarged :D

That sort of does the same thing lol


Thanks a lot !


It's not the size of your staff, it's how you use it!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Size and staff All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions