| Selgard |
PRD:
Inappropriately Sized Weapons: A creature can't make optimum use of a weapon that isn't properly sized for it. A cumulative –2 penalty applies on attack rolls for each size category of difference between the size of its intended wielder and the size of its actual wielder. If the creature isn't proficient with the weapon, a –4 nonproficiency penalty also applies.
So wielding a 2h weapon 1 handed would be -2, wouldn't it? Or did I fail a reading check? (l aiways get screwed up ever since they changed the size labels back from 3.0 to 3.5).
?
-S
| TLO3 |
PRD:
Inappropriately Sized Weapons: A creature can't make optimum use of a weapon that isn't properly sized for it. A cumulative –2 penalty applies on attack rolls for each size category of difference between the size of its intended wielder and the size of its actual wielder. If the creature isn't proficient with the weapon, a –4 nonproficiency penalty also applies.
So wielding a 2h weapon 1 handed would be -2, wouldn't it? Or did I fail a reading check? (l aiways get screwed up ever since they changed the size labels back from 3.0 to 3.5).
?
-S
Hunterofthedusk is correct.
Also, there are no rules for using a 2h weapon in one hand because it cannot be done. A 2h small weapon becomes an inappropriately sized 1h weapon when a medium humanoid wields it. A medium 2h weapon cannot be wielded in one hand by a medium creature and cannot be wielded at all by a small creature.
| Wolf Munroe |
Selgard wrote:PRD:
Inappropriately Sized Weapons: A creature can't make optimum use of a weapon that isn't properly sized for it. A cumulative –2 penalty applies on attack rolls for each size category of difference between the size of its intended wielder and the size of its actual wielder. If the creature isn't proficient with the weapon, a –4 nonproficiency penalty also applies.
So wielding a 2h weapon 1 handed would be -2, wouldn't it? Or did I fail a reading check? (l aiways get screwed up ever since they changed the size labels back from 3.0 to 3.5).
?
-S
Hunterofthedusk is correct.
Also, there are no rules for using a 2h weapon in one hand because it cannot be done. A 2h small weapon becomes an inappropriately sized 1h weapon when a medium humanoid wields it. A medium 2h weapon cannot be wielded in one hand by a medium creature and cannot be wielded at all by a small creature.
The bastard sword can be wielded two-handed (with martial proficiency) or one-handed (with exotic proficiency) though, so it is a non-proficient weapon when wielded with one hand without the exotic proficiency. It is sized correctly for a character of the size. (Provided both the weapon and the wielder are the same size. Medium bastard sword and Human (Medium Humanoid) being the defaults.)
| TLO3 |
The bastard sword can be wielded two-handed (with martial proficiency) or one-handed (with exotic proficiency) though, so it is a non-proficient weapon when wielded with one hand without the exotic proficiency. It is sized correctly for a character of the size. (Provided both the weapon and the wielder are the same size. Medium bastard sword and Human (Medium Humanoid) being the defaults.)
That's correct, but RAW the bastard sword is not a 2h weapon. It's an exotic weapon with special wielding rules in the description. Notice that it's not listed anywhere on the martial weapon list.
I was trying to clear up the size appropriate rules because people are still confused about what their characters can and cannot wield.
The appropriate part of the rules is this:
"The measure of how much effort it takes to use a weapon (whether the weapon is designated as a light, one-handed, or two-handed weapon for a particular wielder) is altered by one step for each size category of difference between the wielder's size and the size of the creature for which the weapon was designed. For example, a Small creature would wield a Medium one-handed weapon as a two-handed weapon. If a weapon's designation would be changed to something other than light, one-handed, or two-handed by this alteration, the creature can't wield the weapon at all." (emphasis mine)
| KaeYoss |
"A bastard sword is about 4 feet in length, making it too large to use in one hand without special training; thus, it is an exotic weapon. A character can use a bastard sword two-handed as a martial weapon."
That tells the tale pretty clear, and it's the same tale that has been told by every official answer to this question: You just cannot use the bastard sword in one hand unless you have special training, i.e. the exotic weapon proficiency.