Poison stacking with itself question


Rules Questions


I understand +1/2 duration and +2 DC. Good rules.

My question is: how does a second dose interact with progress on a cure?

Example:
I'm stung by a wyvern and fail the DC17 save and take Con damage.
On the wyvern's next turn I roll another save, but this time I make it.
But, the cure is 2 saves, so I'm still poisoned. I need another save.
The wyvern promptly stings me again and I fail the (now DC19) save, so I take Con damage again and I'm now looking at 7 more saves instead of 4.
Does this also reset the two saves needed?
If yes, what if I had made the save? I would have made two saves in a row. Am I cured?

I believe that the correct answer is: don't get poisoned.
If you make the save the second time then you were not poisoned again, therefore it has no bearing on curing the poison. Whereas if you are double poisoned any progress on curing the initial poison is lost.

This makes sense, but it is not spelled out, so I'm curious if there is any other ruling.


If you made that save then you wouldn't be poisoned any more however you would make the save at the higher DC.

If you fail you are poisoned for the 7 rounds but if at any time you make two saves you are unpoisoned. Future doses after being cured will have the base save throw again (which is good cause every time you fail it gets that much harder against con poisons to make the next save).

One Wyvern is bad... two are worse!


If I made the very first save, I would not have been poisoned at all.

If I fail the first save, but make the save upon being stung a second time, it makes no sense for the first poisoning to vanish simply because I was not poisoned twice.

The initial poison will last a minimum of one more round, assuming I make the save and achieve the cure. Being stung again should not make the poison go away more quickly.

Liberty's Edge RPG Superstar 2008 Top 32, 2011 Top 16

I think you're doing things out of order. If in round 2 the wyvern stings you, then you'd make your save vs. poison, and it would be at +2 DC - if you make it no more poison at all, if you fail it, you take another round of Con damage.

The rules don't explicitly state what order to do things in the same initiative count, but I've always run it that the creature who's turn it is can choose, and I'd rather have the change at upping the DC on the poison with a 2nd dose, so I make the attack first, then the save vs. poison.


If you are already poisoned by a specific poison, you don't *get* a save the next time you are hit with it, it automatically adds to the duration and the DC of the save the next time you make it.

As for the OP's question, it's a good one. I believe since the 2nd dose of poison does indeed have an affect (raising the DC), it should not also reset the cure needed.

This would make a (2 cure) poison almost more annoying to be hit with every third round instead of every other, except remember, even on a 2 save cure, making the initial save means you are not afflicted with the poison. So if you're one save in, and get hit, the DC goes up (still 1 save to go). If you've already made the 2nd one and get hit, DC is lower, but you *get* a save to avoid (essentially 1 save to go).

If a DM *did* allow a saving throw against the second dose, it would make sense to reset the cure, since there's a chance that sting would do nothing at all.

Example:

Spoiler:
Round 1:
Wyvern: stings (DC 17, cure: 2 saves
PC: DC 17 save failed, takes damage [when this save is made exactly is somewhat a DM choice. If just one creature, making it right when hit makes sense. If multiple chances to get stung, best to save them up for a single save (adding to the DC).]

Round 2:
Wyvern: misses
PC: DC 17 save succeeds.

Round 3, version 1:
Wyvern: stings
PC: DC 19 save. Success = cured. Failed = damage + 2 cure needed.

Round 3, version 2:
Wyvern: misses
PC: DC 17 save made. Cured

Round 4 (v2):
Wyvern: stings
PC: DC 17 save. Success = avoided. Failed = damage + 2 cure needed.

So ends up about the same really. Worse to be poisoned while poisoned regardless.


Kind of shockingly elegant when you work it all out.


Majuba wrote:
If you are already poisoned by a specific poison, you don't *get* a save the next time you are hit with it, it automatically adds to the duration and the DC of the save the next time you make it.

That is an interesting take. But I don't think it is correct. The roll after initial exposure determines whether or not you "suffer from the affliction". If you make that save on the second sting, there is no additional poisoning to stack with the first.

Quote:
As for the OP's question, it's a good one. I believe since the 2nd dose of poison does indeed have an affect (raising the DC), it should not also reset the cure needed.

But a 2 save cure always lasts 2 rounds. If you have saved once, get stung, and the save again, all poison is gone. The second dose of poison shoudl not go away *faster* because a prior dose was present than it would have had it been their alone.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Poison stacking with itself question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions