
dndculix |

So intelligent magic items in Pathfinder can be given ranks in skills. This may be a silly question, but do you think any skills possessed by intelligent magic items could be considered class skills? e.g. Say a king owns an intelligent sagely staff that gives advice. The staff has ranks in Diplomacy and Sense Motive. Does the staff gain the +3 bonus for a class skill on those skills?
The PFSRD says class skills "represent part of [your] professional training and constant practice". One one hand, intelligent items aren't really trained, so you could say no. Also, they're just objects - why would they have any class skills? OTOH an intelligent item may very well be created with a specific purpose in mind - giving advice, destroying a certain enemy, etc. If the item is meant to do one thing and do it well, it may make sense for the skill to be a class skill. If the item has been around a long time and had practice using that skill, that might qualify too.
D&D 3.5 granted intelligent items 10 ranks in a skill, and the rules don't mention anything about cross-class ranks. So perhaps the intent is for any skills known by an item to count as class skills?
What do you think?

VoodooMike |

Any skill an item was designed with (given as part of creation) should be considered a class skill. Any skill it picks up over time that was not part of its original creation should be conisdered a cross-class skill - I imagine an item that is 500 years old may have learned a bit of diplomacy even if diplomacy was not one of its original intents, and so on.

Tilnar |

So intelligent magic items in Pathfinder can be given ranks in skills. This may be a silly question, but do you think any skills possessed by intelligent magic items could be considered class skills? e.g. Say a king owns an intelligent sagely staff that gives advice. The staff has ranks in Diplomacy and Sense Motive. Does the staff gain the +3 bonus for a class skill on those skills?
So perhaps the intent is for any skills known by an item to count as class skills?
What do you think?
Personally, I'd say you have 2 possible takes on this:
1. Any skill the item's built with is a class skill for the item. Which is easy and clean, I suppose.
2. The item's available class-skill list is equal to that of the item's creator.
Based on the flavour of magic item creation, personally, I'd probably go with #2 myself. (And lo, item-makers rush out and grab a level of bard or rogue..)

Tilnar |

Wait a minute, sorry if I am being dumb.
Can PC's make Intellegent Items?
And if so how?
The rulebook adds price increases for intellegent items, but there are no rules for what is required to make them. I had always assumed they were DM creation only.
My bad, the OP said "in PF rules", and my brain didn't impose that limit on the 3.xE stuff in my head. You're right, at the moment, there doesn't appear to be clear rules for making intelligent items (and, to be honest, I hope that when such rules do emerge, they don't require a Psion...)
Still, I would say that the item had to have been made by *someone* at some point, and so the #2 rule can still be used.