Alchemist bombs and sneak attack


Rules Questions


Do they mix? My gut reflex answer is no, at least not for the splash damage... what about with the precise bomb discovery? Maybe yes on the primary target?

RPG Superstar 2011 Top 4

Precise Bomb only let's you designate which squares are not splashed. It doesn't allow you to deal precision based damage with the bomb.


TLO3 wrote:


Do they mix? My gut reflex answer is no, at least not for the splash damage... what about with the precise bomb discovery? Maybe yes on the primary target?

With other forms of attack that inflict more than one damage "instance" (manyshot for example) the precision damage only applies once. I guess that's a precedent. Also, check out this thread. You have to scroll down a bit

Zo


Core book combat section wrote:

Throw Splash Weapon

A splash weapon is a ranged weapon that breaks on impact, splashing or scattering its contents over its target and nearby creatures or objects. To attack with a splash weapon, make a ranged touch attack against the target. Thrown splash weapons require no weapon proficiency, so you don't take the –4 nonproficiency penalty. A hit deals direct hit damage to the target, and splash damage to all creatures within 5 feet of the target. Splash weapons cannot deal precision-based damage (such as the damage from the rogue's sneak attack class feature).

Alchemist bombs are splash weapons, so no precision-based damage can be applied


But precision damage can be applied to a touch attack spell, right? Like if a sorcerer 1/rogue 1 used acid splash on a flat-footed opponent it would deal 1d3+1d6 damage (all acid)? In other words, sneak attack applies as long as there's an attack roll involved, even if it's a touch attack.

I know this is how we did it in 3.5 but for some reason I can't find concrete proof that's how it works in Pathfinder.

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.
jakebacon wrote:

But precision damage can be applied to a touch attack spell, right? Like if a sorcerer 1/rogue 1 used acid splash on a flat-footed opponent it would deal 1d3+1d6 damage (all acid)? In other words, sneak attack applies as long as there's an attack roll involved, even if it's a touch attack.

I know this is how we did it in 3.5 but for some reason I can't find concrete proof that's how it works in Pathfinder.

it still works with spells, but not alchemist fire, acid flasks or other things that fall under the "splash weapon" catagory


Good to know. I'm not sure how I got it into my head that sneak attack couldn't be applied to touch attacks in Pathfinder.


You can't apply feats to splash weapons either. But bombs are considered as weapons you can apply feats to. So why can't you sneak attack with a bomb. Say if you roll to hit the opponent's AC rather than AC touch attack.


Being a Touch attack isnt why you cannot sneak with Bombs.

Although were that the case theres now ay to make a touch attack not a touch attack just to do more damage.

Bombs are splash weapons and you cannot sneak attack with splash weapons its fairly straight forward.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Alchemist bombs and sneak attack All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.