Does knock work on manacles?


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Does knock work on getting someone out of manacles?

Dark Archive

for those who do not know the text of the spell right off their heads:

From the PRD:

Spoiler:

Knock

School transmutation; Level sorcerer/wizard 2

Casting Time 1 standard action

Components V

Range medium (100 ft. + 10 ft./level)

Target one door, box, or chest with an area of up to 10 sq. ft./level

Duration instantaneous; see text

Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance no

Knock opens stuck, barred, or locked doors, as well as those subject to hold portal or arcane lock. When you complete the casting of this spell, make a caster level check against the DC of the lock with a +10 bonus. If successful, knock opens up to two means of closure. This spell opens secret doors, as well as locked or trick-opening boxes or chests. It also loosens welds, shackles, or chains (provided they serve to hold something shut). If used to open an arcane locked door, the spell does not remove the arcane lock but simply suspends its functioning for 10 minutes. In all other cases, the door does not relock itself or become stuck again on its own. Knock does not raise barred gates or similar impediments (such as a portcullis), nor does it affect ropes, vines, and the like. The effect is limited by the area. Each casting can undo as many as two means of preventing access.

Since the target states "Target one door, box, or chest with an area of up to 10 sq. ft./level" my first instinct would be to say no, but I like the cinematic feel of allowing it since it would not really break it.

Liberty's Edge

I, as a GM, would allow it to work for the character.


For me its the "It also loosens welds, shackles, or chains (provided they serve to hold something shut)." That says it should. If they went out and specified everything in the target it would be absurd.


Well if it works on shackles, why not on manacles...


For flavor.

I think it should work on one manacle but not the other. Needs another knock spell....

Since there is another lock...

Dark Archive

Caineach wrote:
For me its the "It also loosens welds, shackles, or chains (provided they serve to hold something shut)." That says it should. If they went out and specified everything in the target it would be absurd.

As I said, I am not sure I agree with how it is written in the book. By their wording, what are manacles holding shut?

Now that being said, I would allow it. I do not see how it could make the spell overpowered and seems to be in line with the intent of the spell. Especially since it does not require a somatic or material component.

Scarab Sages

I would say no, Knock doesn't work, if only because I think there's a spell in Gods and Magic specifically for giving a "Knock" effect to manacles, locks, and chains.

Contributor

Karui Kage wrote:
I would say no, Knock doesn't work, if only because I think there's a spell in Gods and Magic specifically for giving a "Knock" effect to manacles, locks, and chains.

Not technically true:

"They [clerics of Cayden Cailean] may spontaneously cast knock as a 1st-level spell but only to open welds, shackles, or chains used to imprison or hobble someone."

So it's not a new spell, it's a restricted use of an existing spell (thus the lower level-equivalence).


Pathfinder Adventure, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Um, if it works on Shackles it should work on Manacles, they're only slightly different in design, virtually two separate words for the same thing. To deny that would amount to DM dickery. That and Gods and Magic is 3.5 so...


Devil of Roses wrote:
Um, if it works on Shackles it should work on Manacles, they're only slightly different in design, virtually two separate words for the same thing. To deny that would amount to DM dickery. That and Gods and Magic is 3.5 so...

There's actually a pretty significant difference between shackles and manacles. Shackles are typically held shut by bolts or screws, this is why the spell says 'loosen'. It would still be shut and you would still need to be able to grab a hold of the screw mechanism, but you would not need a tool to do so.

But that's a technical thing and really should not affect the game. I don't see any reason why the spell shouldn't work on manacles as well.


The real question is (or should be) can you cast knock while wearing manacles/shackles? Or does someone have to cast it on you.

EDIT: Just noticed the OP said "getting someone out of manacles" so I'm assuming he means if he casts it on someone wearing manacles not casting it while he's in manacles.

Scarab Sages

Sean K Reynolds wrote:
Karui Kage wrote:
I would say no, Knock doesn't work, if only because I think there's a spell in Gods and Magic specifically for giving a "Knock" effect to manacles, locks, and chains.

Not technically true:

"They [clerics of Cayden Cailean] may spontaneously cast knock as a 1st-level spell but only to open welds, shackles, or chains used to imprison or hobble someone."

So it's not a new spell, it's a restricted use of an existing spell (thus the lower level-equivalence).

Blast! Well I knew there was some reference in there. Can I at least get partial credit Sean?

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber
Felgoroth wrote:

The real question is (or should be) can you cast knock while wearing manacles/shackles? Or does someone have to cast it on you.

EDIT: Just noticed the OP said "getting someone out of manacles" so I'm assuming he means if he casts it on someone wearing manacles not casting it while he's in manacles.

Since it's verbal only, it should be fine.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Enlight_Bystand wrote:
Since it's verbal only, it should be fine.

The fact that it is verbal only makes me think that it was specifically designed with getting one's self out of shackles, manacles, and other tight spots in mind (as well as to open stuff of course).


As a side note, I really like the flavor of "verbal only". My sorcerer recently turned level 5 while IN a jail cell. He woke up the next morning and ordered the cell door to "Move it!" and dammit, that's exactly what it did!

I also like not using "arcane" languages for some spells. Sorcerers especially don't "cast spells", when I play them. They "bend reality to their wills." It's hella fun when you play it that way. :)


Freddy Honeycutt wrote:

For flavor.

I think it should work on one manacle but not the other. Needs another knock spell....

Since there is another lock...

Unless you go by manacle's as one object, and

Quote:


Each casting can undo as many as two means of preventing access


In the same train of thoughts...

Could a knock spell 'unlock' and trigger a loaded crossbow?

The required mechanical manipulations would not be much different from a lock, but there are no parts to 'open' in a crossbow...

'findel

Grand Lodge

LordGriffin wrote:

As a side note, I really like the flavor of "verbal only". My sorcerer recently turned level 5 while IN a jail cell. He woke up the next morning and ordered the cell door to "Move it!" and dammit, that's exactly what it did!

I also like not using "arcane" languages for some spells. Sorcerers especially don't "cast spells", when I play them. They "bend reality to their wills." It's hella fun when you play it that way. :)

Problem is that does bend the rules severely. Whatever Sorcerer's do it's similar enough to what a Wizard does so that the spell will correctly identify on a spellcraft check no matter who's casting it. Going by the RAW, what sorcerers do is IDENTICAL to what wizards do, the difference being that the magical matrix is permanently embedded in thier minds and charged by expending spell slots as opposed to being memorised on a one by one basis by a preparation caster.


Enlight_Bystand wrote:

Since it's verbal only, it should be fine.

Ya I didn't read far enough into it to see it was verbal only :P


Regardless of what the spell text says, you can only target something in the target description of a targeted spell. The possible options are:

  • door
  • box
  • chest

A manacle is mechanism that you use to bind a medium creature. It has a lock, but it isn't a door, a box, or a chest.

The text:

PRD wrote:
It also loosens welds, shackles, or chains (provided they serve to hold something shut).

Might be interpreted to mean the spell opens something other than a box, a chest, or a door. But if that were so, the spell needs errata to change the target description. If the target entry had "see text", that could also let it work on manacles. . . assuming you mean the above text is talking about manacles. But the target text is limited and specific.


IF you consider

Each casting can undo as many as two means of preventing access

Only one side of the manacle is preventing access to your wrist, so I stick with it can only unfo one and not the other. Unless both manacles are on the same wrist then it would be both...


LazarX wrote:


Might be interpreted to mean the spell opens something other than a box, a chest, or a door. But if that were so, the spell needs errata to change the target description. If the target entry had "see text", that could also let it work on manacles. . . assuming you mean the above text is talking about manacles. But the target text is limited and specific.

This is fine, but that doesn't change the fact that one particular wizard doesn't need to cast a particular spell in the same way that another wizard casts it. It is perfectly fine for one wizard to say: "Gesta Vani Heares!" along with mystical ritual hand waving - and another to say: "Open Dammit". As long as they release the appropriate components and arcane potential, the spell will happen.

A "verbal" component means noise-from-mouth is made, it doesn't mean a specific set of words said in a specific language.


From what I'm aware, Knock wouldn't open manacles, but it would unlock the locks keeping the manacles closed.

PRD wrote:
Most manacles have locks; add the cost of the lock you want to the cost of the manacles.


Ravingdork wrote:
Enlight_Bystand wrote:
Since it's verbal only, it should be fine.
The fact that it is verbal only makes me think that it was specifically designed with getting one's self out of shackles, manacles, and other tight spots in mind (as well as to open stuff of course).

+1

It's pretty clear this is what it was meant for.

Liberty's Edge

Laurefindel wrote:

In the same train of thoughts...

Could a knock spell 'unlock' and trigger a loaded crossbow?

The required mechanical manipulations would not be much different from a lock, but there are no parts to 'open' in a crossbow...

'findel

USE MAGE HAND ITS EASIER...

To the situation, this is mechanics vs. LOGIC, the mechanics of the spell do not warnet that it would be over powered to be used on a lock of a different calaber. the spell manipulates a lock in a door, chest. it does not change it or miniuplate the material of the door or chest so why should it not work on the cuffs, what is so different. now logic, why would a magical spell that works on a door/chest not work on the locks of a cuff.

Dont think to far into D&D it never turns out good.

Grand Lodge

midnight756 wrote:


USE MAGE HAND ITS EASIER...

To the situation, this is mechanics vs. LOGIC, the mechanics of the spell do not warnet that it would be over powered to be used on a lock of a different calaber. the spell manipulates a lock in a door, chest. it does not change it or miniuplate the material of the door or chest so why should it not work on the cuffs, what is so different. now logic, why would a magical spell that works on a door/chest not work on the locks of a cuff.

Dont think to far into D&D it never turns out good.

Mage Hand is nothing more than say your bare hand with a few pounds of force. By itself it won't pick locks.


LazarX wrote:
Mage Hand is nothing more than say your bare hand with a few pounds of force. By itself it won't pick locks.

Er, he meant to shoot a crossbow. 'Would knock release the trigger mechanism if it was cocked and loaded' was the original question.

Paizo Employee Creative Director

Knock does indeed work on manacles. It works on any lock, in fact, provided the lock or the thing that the lock LOCKS is within the area of effect of the spell. A set of manacles attached to Godzilla probably wouldn't be something a knock spell could unlock... but Godzilla could just melt the manacles anyway so it'd probably never come up in play.


James Jacobs wrote:
Knock does indeed work on manacles. It works on any lock, in fact, provided the lock or the thing that the lock LOCKS is within the area of effect of the spell. A set of manacles attached to Godzilla probably wouldn't be something a knock spell could unlock... but Godzilla could just melt the manacles anyway so it'd probably never come up in play.

Any question that can be answered can be answered better if you can work Godzilla in there somewhere.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Prince That Howls wrote:
James Jacobs wrote:
Knock does indeed work on manacles. It works on any lock, in fact, provided the lock or the thing that the lock LOCKS is within the area of effect of the spell. A set of manacles attached to Godzilla probably wouldn't be something a knock spell could unlock... but Godzilla could just melt the manacles anyway so it'd probably never come up in play.
Any question that can be answered can be answered better if you can work Godzilla in there somewhere.

Is that an example of Godzillawinning the thread as opposed to just Godwinning it?

Grand Lodge

Paul Watson wrote:
Prince That Howls wrote:
James Jacobs wrote:
Knock does indeed work on manacles. It works on any lock, in fact, provided the lock or the thing that the lock LOCKS is within the area of effect of the spell. A set of manacles attached to Godzilla probably wouldn't be something a knock spell could unlock... but Godzilla could just melt the manacles anyway so it'd probably never come up in play.
Any question that can be answered can be answered better if you can work Godzilla in there somewhere.
Is that an example of Godzillawinning the thread as opposed to just Godwinning it?

I think the term is godzillamodding. :)


It didn't read that way to me, but neither does that use seem unreasonable (overpowered). It's 2nd level, so most parties with someone capable of casting it would have some other means of defeating manacles (sneakily or forcefully, at least) anyway.


Caineach wrote:
For me its the "It also loosens welds, shackles, or chains (provided they serve to hold something shut)." That says it should. If they went out and specified everything in the target it would be absurd.

As absurd as saying "locks"? Or "see text"? Because the spell doesn't target locks, it shouldn't work on locks.

James Jacobs wrote:
Knock does indeed work on manacles. It works on any lock, in fact, provided the lock or the thing that the lock LOCKS is within the area of effect of the spell.

Good to know. More errata to keep track of q:


Not to revive an old thread, but if knock works on any lock, would it be safe to assume that arcane lock works on any "lockable" mechanism (like manacles) also?


How bout chastity belts?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does knock work on manacles? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions