Will a summoned monster spell end if monster moves out of short range?


Pathfinder First Edition General Discussion


I was listening to one of my players talking about one of the PFS games he was able to play in, and he brought up an interesting point. Apparently, there is a rule that magic cannot go outside of the range of the spell. In regards to a summoned monster that is close range 25ft + 5ft/2 levels. So at level one, if I summon a dog 20 feet away, and then it moves 10ft away, does it vanish outside of the confines of short spell range?


Quote:

Conjuration

Each conjuration spell belongs to one of five subschools. Conjurations transport creatures from another plane of existence to your plane (calling); create objects or effects on the spot (creation); heal (healing); bring manifestations of objects, creatures, or forms of energy to you (summoning); or transport creatures or objects over great distances (teleportation). Creatures you conjure usually—but not always—obey your commands.

A creature or object brought into being or transported to your location by a conjuration spell cannot appear inside another creature or object, nor can it appear floating in an empty space. It must arrive in an open location on a surface capable of supporting it.

The creature or object must appear within the spell's range, but it does not have to remain within the range.

Emphasis mine.

I think that should cover it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / General Discussion / Will a summoned monster spell end if monster moves out of short range? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.