Spring Attack in Surprise Round


Rules Questions


How does this work?


It doesn't.

If you can act in the surprise round you can only take a single standard action (or any action that you could otherwise take in place of a standard action). You wouldn't be able to move and attack (although I think you are able to charge but only up to your movement, not up to double your movement, but thats special to the charge action.)

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

You are able to charge in a surprise round. It's limited to your base movement. Beware though, you can not use a charge action in a surprise round if you still need to draw your weapon (unless you have Quick Draw.)


The current wording doesn't specify what action(s) Spring Attack uses. So who knows.

Depending on how it's worded, you could possibly Spring Attack IF you satisfy the requirements for a (partial) Charge, that is: straight line to attack opponent, though your total movement will have to be <= Move Speed (in other words, a Charging Spring Attack). But like I said, we can't make any definitive statement until we see the wording fixed.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spring Attack in Surprise Round All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.