Summon Monster, then it walks out of range?


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

Hey, this came up during our session tonight:

A Druid cast Summon Nature's Ally I at max range, and then wanted the summoned creature to move farther, out of the "range" of the spell. He argued that the spell is to pull the creature from somewhere else (another plane perhaps?) and thus that occurred within max range. Our DM used the rules for creating a spell effect which extends beyond the max range of the spell temporarily, and ruled it couldn't move out of the caster's range this session, but we would look for an official Pathfinders ruling on this.

So... yeah, what the official stance on this?


Quote:

A creature or object brought into being or transported to your location by a conjuration spell cannot appear inside another creature or object, nor can it appear floating in an empty space. It must arrive in an open location on a surface capable of supporting it.

The creature or object must appear within the spell's range, but it does not have to remain within the range.

This is from the Conjuration description in the Magic section...or part of the way down here.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Summon Monster, then it walks out of range? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions