Oracle - Haunted Curse Clarification


Rules Questions


Haunted Curse's text reports:
"Retrieving any stored item from your gear requires a move action, unless it would normally take longer."

But retrieving stored items already was a move action (as noted in the Combat chapter of the Core Rulebook), so... was it meant to be that the curse turns the action to a standard one or is it correct (and in this case, what's the difference from not having it)?


Irrlicht wrote:

Haunted Curse's text reports:

"Retrieving any stored item from your gear requires a move action, unless it would normally take longer."

But retrieving stored items already was a move action (as noted in the Combat chapter of the Core Rulebook), so... was it meant to be that the curse turns the action to a standard one or is it correct (and in this case, what's the difference from not having it)?

I noticed this too, but I took it to mean that drawing weapons and potions and the like was included, meaning no more move-draw-attack.


Rake wrote:
Irrlicht wrote:

Haunted Curse's text reports:

"Retrieving any stored item from your gear requires a move action, unless it would normally take longer."

But retrieving stored items already was a move action (as noted in the Combat chapter of the Core Rulebook), so... was it meant to be that the curse turns the action to a standard one or is it correct (and in this case, what's the difference from not having it)?

I noticed this too, but I took it to mean that drawing weapons and potions and the like was included, meaning no more move-draw-attack.

Not to mention retrieving an arrow or bolt becomes a move action as well. It also seems to bar the possibility of the quickdraw feat, or certian magic items that allow you to retrieve items faster.

Grand Lodge

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

Thread Resurrection, for more clarity, after errata, Haunted now reads:

Quote:
Retrieving any stored item from your gear requires a standard action, unless it would normally take longer.

Under Move Actions in the Combat section of the PRD it lists two separate types of actions

Draw or Sheathe a Weapon:

Drawing a weapon so that you can use it in combat, or putting it away so that you have a free hand, requires a move action. This action also applies to weapon-like objects carried in easy reach, such as wands. If your weapon or weapon-like object is stored in a pack or otherwise out of easy reach, treat this action as retrieving a stored item.

If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you may draw a weapon as a free action combined with a regular move. If you have the Two-Weapon Fighting feat, you can draw two light or one-handed weapons in the time it would normally take you to draw one.

Drawing ammunition for use with a ranged weapon (such as arrows, bolts, sling bullets, or shuriken) is a free action.

and

Manipulate an Item:

Moving or manipulating an item is usually a move action.

This includes retrieving or putting away a stored item, picking up an item, moving a heavy object, and opening a door. Examples of this kind of action, along with whether they incur an attack of opportunity, are given in Table: Actions in Combat.

Since the curse specifically says retrieve a stored object, which is under manipulate an item, and drawing a weapon/wand/"readied" item is all under draw a weapon, is a Oracle who is haunted only penalized for the more complex action, or all both types of action?

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32, RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

The curse only applies to retrieving a stored item. Drawing a weapon (in easy reach) is still a non-provoking move action. Drawing ammunition is still a free action. Grabbing spell components from a spell component pouch is still a freebie as well.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber
Jiggy wrote:
The curse only applies to retrieving a stored item. Drawing a weapon (in easy reach) is still a non-provoking move action. Drawing ammunition is still a free action. Grabbing spell components from a spell component pouch is still a freebie as well.

I agree that appears to be the RAW, is it the RAI?


Galnörag wrote:
Jiggy wrote:
The curse only applies to retrieving a stored item. Drawing a weapon (in easy reach) is still a non-provoking move action. Drawing ammunition is still a free action. Grabbing spell components from a spell component pouch is still a freebie as well.
I agree that appears to be the RAW, is it the RAI?

The spell-component thing is FAQed. As for the others, the Actions in Combat table lists Retrieve a stored item as its own entry, separate from Draw a weapon. The Haunted curse specifically refers to Retrieving a stored item, which is a defined term in game.

PRD Home>Advanced Base Classes>Oracle wrote:
Retrieving any stored item from your gear requires a standard action, unless it would normally take longer.

Drawing ammunition is specifically spelled out as a free action, so it doesn't fall under the Retrieve a stored item category.


Irrlicht wrote:

Haunted Curse's text reports:

"Retrieving any stored item from your gear requires a move action, unless it would normally take longer."

Haunted: "Retrieving any stored item from your gear requires a standard action, unless it would normally take longer."

Normally it's a move action, if you're haunted it takes longer and thus requires a standard action.

What was your source? The PRD says standard, and I don't see it in the errata. Does your book say move instead of standard?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber
Grick wrote:
Irrlicht wrote:

Haunted Curse's text reports:

"Retrieving any stored item from your gear requires a move action, unless it would normally take longer."

Haunted: "Retrieving any stored item from your gear requires a standard action, unless it would normally take longer."

Normally it's a move action, if you're haunted it takes longer and thus requires a standard action.

What was your source? The PRD says standard, and I don't see it in the errata. Does your book say move instead of standard?

This thread has been resurrected, I'm not sure if those weren't the beta rules for haunted being quoted. Anyways the discussion was around the quoted sections of the Combat sections about move actions, and the difference between drawing a weapon and retrieving a stored item. In that a weapon is not considered stored.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Oracle - Haunted Curse Clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions