Dwarf - Hardy trait


Rules Questions


I was hoping I could get a clarification on the dwarf race trait 'Hardy'.

Hardy - Dwarves receive +2 racial bonus on saving throws against poison, spells, and spell-like abilities.

The errata1.0 (08/13/09) doesn't indicate a correction to it so I'm assuming this is correctly written. Are there anymore erratas?

Now "saving throws" includes - fortitude, reflex, will saves.

So this means a dwarf receives +2 on any saving throw he's required to take for any spell against him? (includes poisons, but this issue i'm looking at isn't as common)

Is this the correct use of the trait?

Then this means if the dwarf is hit by a 'fireball' (say 10ft away) then he gets to add his +2 to his reflex save (for 1/2 damage). He is being attacked by a spell but would the reflex save be for 'fire' and not 'spell' causing him to avoid the +2 increase. Or does he get the +2 regardless because he is rolling due to the spell.

There are other examples but this one occurred recently and there are both viewpoints.


Bobsayshello wrote:

I was hoping I could get a clarification on the dwarf race trait 'Hardy'.

Hardy - Dwarves receive +2 racial bonus on saving throws against poison, spells, and spell-like abilities.

The errata1.0 (08/13/09) doesn't indicate a correction to it so I'm assuming this is correctly written. Are there anymore erratas?

Now "saving throws" includes - fortitude, reflex, will saves.

So this means a dwarf receives +2 on any saving throw he's required to take for any spell against him? (includes poisons, but this issue i'm looking at isn't as common)

Is this the correct use of the trait?

Then this means if the dwarf is hit by a 'fireball' (say 10ft away) then he gets to add his +2 to his reflex save (for 1/2 damage). He is being attacked by a spell but would the reflex save be for 'fire' and not 'spell' causing him to avoid the +2 increase. Or does he get the +2 regardless because he is rolling due to the spell.

There are other examples but this one occurred recently and there are both viewpoints.

The save is not based on the fire, but on the spell, so yes, the dwarf in this instance would get the +2 bonus. This applies to any spell, or spell-like ability that requires a saving throw, be it Fortitude, Reflex, or Will.


Just a thought...

They get +2 racial bonus against poison.
They get +2 racial bonus against spells and spell-like abilities.

So, if a spell poisons a dwarf, he gets +2 on his save (and not +4) since typed bonuses don't stack... right?

Another thought...

Imagine a non-dwarf character who has acquired +2 on saves against spells but not against poison.
He's hit by the aforementioned poisoning spell. Does he get the +2 on his save since it's a spell?
He fails his first save. The next round, he rolls again. If he got +2 on his first save, does he get it again?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Dwarf - Hardy trait All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.