Extended Illusion Question


Rules Questions


A mage specialized on illusions gets the power "extended illusion". Does this only apply to spells which have a duration listed as "concentration" or also to spells with a duration of "concentration + x rounds"?

Thanks in advance

Contributor

Zerberus wrote:

A mage specialized on illusions gets the power "extended illusion". Does this only apply to spells which have a duration listed as "concentration" or also to spells with a duration of "concentration + x rounds"?

Thanks in advance

From what I'm reading, any spell with "concentration" listed in the text, including "concentration + x rounds" spells. Basically, it turns "concentration" into "concentration + x" and spells that are already "concentration + x" into "concentration + x + y" where the added value is half his caster level which stacks with any additional rounds the illusion was already extended after concentration due to being a fancier spell.

(Though it is not RAW, I would see nothing wrong with extending this bonus to Programmed Image and Project Image as well. This last is of course a house ruling, but having illusion specialists do better versions of these spells as well feels to me more like correcting an oversight than giving a significant power bump.)

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Kevin Andrew Murphy wrote:
From what I'm reading, any spell with "concentration" listed in the text

3.p p123 prohibits using Extend with Concentration spells, what makes you think it works?

Contributor

James Risner wrote:
Kevin Andrew Murphy wrote:
From what I'm reading, any spell with "concentration" listed in the text
3.p p123 prohibits using Extend with Concentration spells, what makes you think it works?

We're talking about the Extended Illusions (Su) on p. 81.

Though now that you mention it, since the Extended Illusions modifies concentration spells into concentration + x, they would then be then a valid target for the Extend Feat. Though generally this wouldn't be worth bothering with, because all of those +x modifiers are minutes, and Extend is more useful on the spells that go with hours or days.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Kevin Andrew Murphy wrote:

We're talking about the Extended Illusions (Su) on p. 81.

concentration + x, they would then be then a valid target for the Extend Feat.

Oops sorry, didn't catch the Extended Illusions is an ability.

As for the second, it still wouldn't be valid for extend since the duration is still Concentration.


Thanks for the answers!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Extended Illusion Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions