Rope Trick Question


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

My question is fairly simple:
When you have climbed up the rope and into the extra-dimensional space, can you pull the rope up after you? It doesn't specifically say you can, but I can't think of a reason why you couldn't, unless the magic of the spell prevents the rope from being moved. Which it doesn't say is the case.

Thanks!


Haven't read the PF rules yet, buy back in AD&D you could. Made a nice improvised invisibliity from most angles, but you could still be seen from directly below where the rope would have been.

EDIT: Ninja'd by twowlves! See Rules Can't play that game anymore.

Sovereign Court

In PRPG, no you cannot pull the rope up. In 3.5 ed, it specifically says you can, meaning this is a deliberate (and IMO, much needed) change to bring the spell in line with other 2nd level spells.

Dark Archive

Well, the online rules simplify that a bit then. Thanks!


It pretty clearly says cannot be hidden or removed, what it doesn't say is "or what"??? If you cut the rope does it close the pocket dimension? Cause it to collapse? Or is it just impossible to sever?

Because we know some player somewhere is going to try and remove the rope or just cut it off. I guess the easy answer is cut the rope the effect ends.


Dennis da Ogre wrote:

It pretty clearly says cannot be hidden or removed, what it doesn't say is "or what"??? If you cut the rope does it close the pocket dimension? Cause it to collapse? Or is it just impossible to sever?

Because we know some player somewhere is going to try and remove the rope or just cut it off. I guess the easy answer is cut the rope the effect ends.

Yea I'd say that as soon as you try to hide or remove the rope everything gets dumped out of the space, and the spell ends.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Rope Trick Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.