Two Hand of the Apprentice questions


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

Hello. I have a couple of questions regarding this ability, and was hoping the smarties here could help me.

1. If I cast shocking grasp and hold the charge, can I make an attack using Hand of the Apprentice without canceling the charge? My initial thought is that a spell-like ability would cancel the charge as another spell would, but I could not find a definitive answer.

2. If I have a spell-storing quarterstaff and use Hand of the Apprentice to make a ranged attack with it, can I choose to target the opponent with the stored spell? The spell-storing property can only be added to melee weapons, but the description of the property doesn't specify that it must be used with a melee attack.

Thanks for the help. I apologize if these questions should be obvious; I am still learning the rules.


Moab wrote:

Hello. I have a couple of questions regarding this ability, and was hoping the smarties here could help me.

1. If I cast shocking grasp and hold the charge, can I make an attack using Hand of the Apprentice without canceling the charge? My initial thought is that a spell-like ability would cancel the charge as another spell would, but I could not find a definitive answer.

2. If I have a spell-storing quarterstaff and use Hand of the Apprentice to make a ranged attack with it, can I choose to target the opponent with the stored spell? The spell-storing property can only be added to melee weapons, but the description of the property doesn't specify that it must be used with a melee attack.

Thanks for the help. I apologize if these questions should be obvious; I am still learning the rules.

1. Since Hand of the Apprentice is a supernatural ability, it does not cancel the charge. The spell only dissipates if you cast another spell or discharge it.

PRD wrote:
If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates.

2. I think the point was that a ranged weapon cannot give the spell-storing power to its ammunition. A thrown weapon can still release the spell, especially since the text says:

PRD wrote:
Anytime the weapon strikes a creature and the creature takes damage from it.

Since there's no restriction to melee, I don't see why it wouldn't work.

Note that you can make practically any weapon a throwing weapon with the throwing quality.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Two Hand of the Apprentice questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.