| Draznar |
First I'll start with the set up. My first character I've designed is a level 5 wizard. As we know, caster level is an important aspect of being wizard-y, so when looking through the traits I noticed 'Magical Knack' on pg. 5 of the pdf. "Pick a class when you gain this trait—your caster level in that class gains a +2 trait bonus as long as this bonus doesn’t increase your caster level higher than your current Hit Dice."
Pretty cool right?
Now here's where the question comes in. On pg. 224 of the rule book it states that:
"Caster Level: A spell’s power often depends on caster level, which is defined as the caster’s class level for the purpose of casting a particular spell. A creature with no classes has a caster level equal to its Hit Dice unless otherwise specified."
So if your caster level is always equal to your Hit Dice, and the trait gives you +2 to your caster level as long as it does not bring you above your hit dice, what use does the trait have?
I feel like I'm missing something here, so if someone could point me in the direction of what I'm over looking that would be awesome d~^_^~b.
| Ross Byers RPG Superstar 2008 Top 32 |
This trait is intended for multiclass characters, I think. Normally, a Ftr3/Wiz1 would only cast at first caster level. With Magical Knack, their caster level would be three.
Note, this doesn't unlock things like second level spells or any other perks like that: You actually need Wizard levels for those. But their burning hands would deal 3d4 damage instead of 1d4.