| Duidelik |
Just want to find out if a Tengu that uses two weapon fighting can have 3 attacks per round. One from the main weapon, one from off hand, and one from his bite. Or Does this bite replace either his main or off hand weapon:
that inf licts 1d3 points of damage on a hit. This is a
primary attack, or a secondary attack if the tengu wields
a manufactured weapon.
Airhead
|
Unless the rule has changed from 3.5, he can use it as a secondary attack at a -5 penalty from his full BAB. Ergo, if he had improved two weapon fighting and +8 BAB it would go like such.
+6 main hand, +6 offhand
+3 Bite
+1 main hand, +1 offhandHope that makes sense :)
Wouldn't he have a second main hand (+8 bab) for a +1 ?
| The Wraith |
Duidelik wrote:why doesnt the -2 penalty apply to the bite aswell?Because two-weapon fighting deals specifically with main-hand and off-hand attacks, so a natural claw attack combined with two-weapon fighting may suffer penalties for fighting with two-weapons, but a bite does not.
No, a natural claw attack does not suffer from the additional -2 either.
From PRD (Combat):
"You can make attacks with natural weapons in combination with attacks made with a melee weapon and unarmed strikes, so long as a different limb is used for each attack. For example, you cannot make a claw attack and also use that hand to make attacks with a longsword. When you make additional attacks in this way, all of your natural attacks are treated as secondary natural attacks, using your base attack bonus minus 5 and adding only 1/2 of your Strength modifier on damage rolls. In addition, all of your attacks made with melee weapons and unarmed strikes are made as if you were two-weapon fighting. Your natural attacks are treated as light, off-hand weapons for determining the penalty to your other attacks. Feats such as Two-Weapon Fighting and Multiattack can reduce these penalties."
Either the creature can use it at -5 (because the claw is free from manufactured weapons) or not; natural attacks never suffer from additional penalties from Two-Weapon Fighting.
| The Wraith |
The Wraith wrote:stuffTrue dat, I misread the sentence after your bolded parts. (This is also a change/clarification from 3.5, is it not? All I know is that's how I [used to] handle natural attacks alongside manufactured weapons.)
Yes, the rules are a bit different from 3.5. More streamlined, I might add.