Alter Self clarification


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32, 2010 Top 8

Ok, Alter Self states

alter self wrote:

If the form

you assume has any of the following abilities, you gain the
listed ability: darkvision 60 feet, low-light vision, scent, and
swim 30 feet

So if my character does alter self into a drow, does she get 60' darkvision, 120' darkvision or no darkvision? I doubt the second, but a litteral interpretation might be the third, as Drow don't have 60' darkvision.

Scarab Sages

PRPG wrote:
In addition, each polymorph spell can grant you a number of other benefits, including movement types, resistances, and senses. If the form you choose grants these benefits, or a greater ability of the same type, you gain the listed benefit. If the form grants a lesser ability of the same type, you gain the lesser ability instead.

The listed benefit from the spell is 60' Darkvision, so that is what you would gain, even if the form you chose had 120' Darkvision. The above quote is from the Polymorph section of Transmutation spells in the Magic chapter.

Your God of Knowledge,
Nethys

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2009 Top 32, 2010 Top 8

Nethys wrote:
PRPG wrote:
In addition, each polymorph spell can grant you a number of other benefits, including movement types, resistances, and senses. If the form you choose grants these benefits, or a greater ability of the same type, you gain the listed benefit. If the form grants a lesser ability of the same type, you gain the lesser ability instead.

The listed benefit from the spell is 60' Darkvision, so that is what you would gain, even if the form you chose had 120' Darkvision. The above quote is from the Polymorph section of Transmutation spells in the Magic chapter.

Your God of Knowledge,
Nethys

Blast, I knew I missed it. Thank you.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Alter Self clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions