
Dr. Johnny Fever |
Hey all,
I'm wondering, can a creature benefit from multiple protection from energy (or resist energy) spells simultaneously if they are set for different energy types?
Ex: can a creature benefit from both a Protection From Energy [fire] and a Protection From Energy [cold] spell at the same time?
If the answer is 'yes', then I'm considering house-ruling that a creature can only benefit for one energy type of a specific spell. They could, however, benefit from both a Resist Energy [fire] and a Protection From Energy [cold].
I'm trying to head off having the PCs being nigh immune to every energy type in the later levels....
Thoughts?

![]() |

This belongs in the Rules Questions forum, but yes, multiple Resist Energies (if different energy type) on the same target is fine.
This is also likely less of a worry than you think. In a typical party of four that would be 20 (5 energy types x 4 people) 2nd level spells to cover everyone. Unless the party is made of casters, this is not going to happen (and if it does then they are giving up much more powerful spell slots to do so). If the party uses scrolls, potions, etc. then they are likely at the default duration of 30 minutes, which is not long at all.
Your God of Knowledge,
Nethys