| Chovesh |
In 3.5 a two handed weapon added +4 to disarm attempts, while certain weapons like a Flail/Spiked Chain added +2 to disarm.
Two handed weapons also prevented AoO's when usign either Trip/Disarm. I didn't find or couldn't find references to these two things in the Beta.
Have these two things been removed?
William Harris
|
In 3.5 a two handed weapon added +4 to disarm attempts, while certain weapons like a Flail/Spiked Chain added +2 to disarm.
Two handed weapons also prevented AoO's when usign either Trip/Disarm. I didn't find or couldn't find references to these two things in the Beta.
Have these two things been removed?
If you mean "In 3.5 2-handed weapons prevented AOO's when disarming or tripping..." I believe you are mistaken. A trip attempt only provokes an AOO when you attempt to do it unarmed (without the unarmed strike feat) a disarm attempt always provokes unless you have the improved disarm feat.
Also, not all 2-handed weapons can be used for trips, in general it is the weapons that have a chainlike element (flails, spiked chain, etc.) each is listed as such in thier equipment description in the 3.5 PHB.
If you mean the Beta rules, or some other pathfinder reference for this topic, You may be right, but I am not familiar enough with the rules to tell you.
| Eric Tillemans |
In 3.5 a two handed weapon added +4 to disarm attempts, while certain weapons like a Flail/Spiked Chain added +2 to disarm.
Two handed weapons also prevented AoO's when usign either Trip/Disarm. I didn't find or couldn't find references to these two things in the Beta.
Have these two things been removed?
Only reach weapons prevent the AoO if your opponent doesn't threaten you, otherwise in general two handed weapons do provoke AoO's in 3.5
| Majuba |
Chovesh wrote:Only reach weapons prevent the AoO if your opponent doesn't threaten you, otherwise in general two handed weapons do provoke AoO's in 3.5In 3.5 a two handed weapon added +4 to disarm attempts, while certain weapons like a Flail/Spiked Chain added +2 to disarm.
Two handed weapons also prevented AoO's when usign either Trip/Disarm. I didn't find or couldn't find references to these two things in the Beta.
Have these two things been removed?
Yes. The +2 for flail/chain is in the weapon descriptions in the Equipment chapter. It does look like bonuses based on "handed-ness" of weapons are not there. Final comes out soon to know more than that!
A trip attempt only provokes an AOO when you attempt to do it unarmed (without the unarmed strike feat)...
What Eric said - trips always provoke w/out improved trip. Whether your opponent can take the attack (i.e. has reach) is separate.
| DM_Blake |
In 3.5 a two handed weapon added +4 to disarm attempts, while certain weapons like a Flail/Spiked Chain added +2 to disarm.
Yes, 2H weapons in 3.5 added +4 (and light weapons penalized -4) to disarm attempts. That does seem to be gone from Pathfinder Beta. As far as this goes, Paizo has said that they are determined to maintain backwards compatibility, and they added some new rules, but if any rule is missing from the beta (and not specifically changed) then we should assume it still works according to the SRD.
So you and your DM must decide if this was a deliberate change. If you think it's not deliberate, then the SRD rule still stands. If you think it was a deliberate change, then the new rule in the Beta stands, unless you want to houserule it.
As for your question about flails and spiked chains, according to Beta, flails, spiked chains, and whips all give +2 to disarm. It says so in the Beta rules. Sai give +4 to disarm attempts.
Two handed weapons also prevented AoO's when usign either Trip/Disarm. I didn't find or couldn't find references to these two things in the Beta.
Have these two things been removed?
No, and no again.
You have brought this up before. Less than a month ago.
I'm sorry to say, you were wrong then and you're wrong again now.
The other thread is here.
According to the d20 SRD, all weapons that are allowed to make trip attacks prevent an AoO, but only when tripping, never when disarming:
Tripping with a Weapon
Some weapons can be used to make trip attacks. In this case, you make a melee touch attack with the weapon instead of an unarmed melee touch attack, and you don’t provoke an attack of opportunity.If you are tripped during your own trip attempt, you can drop the weapon to avoid being tripped.
Note the first line. "Some weapons". Not all weapons. Read the weapon's description. If it specifically says this weapon can make trip attacks, then it can, otherwise it cannot make trip attacks at all.
If the weapon can make a trip attack, it does not provoke an AoO. This is not specific only to 2H weapons - any weapon that can trip gets this benefit.
And this rule only applies to trips. There is no such rule for disarms.
And again, that rule is from the SRD and it was omitted from the Pathfinder Beta, so once again, you and your DM decide if this was a deliberate change. If you think it's not deliberate, then the SRD rule still stands. If you think it was a deliberate change, then the new rule in the Beta stands, unless you want to houserule it.