Spell Storing weapon special ability


General Discussion (Prerelease)


Is there any rule explicitly prohibiting the use of the Spell storing weapon special ability on ammunition or thrown weapons?

If an area of effect spell like fireball is stored does it only effect the target that the weapon damaged or is the damaged target the center of the fireball?


It appears on the melee weapons chart and not the ranged.

We've been using it for ammo in several groups for years and it hasn't been an issue, but I can see plenty of room for abuse. Any thoughts?


1. No, there's no explicit rule against putting spells into ranged spell storing weapons.
2. Fireballs can't be cast into those weapons. The Spell needs the entry "target" in its description. If the spell has multiple targets, it is only cast on the hit opponent (mostly opponents, there are strange things going on with epic dwarven defenders and spell stored heal magic though...) We "houseruled" (read taken for granted) that spells which need a successful touch attack to function also qualify to be used in this fashion.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Roleplaying Game / General Discussion (Prerelease) / Spell Storing weapon special ability All Messageboards
Recent threads in General Discussion (Prerelease)
Druid / Monk?