Question on Area Effects


General Discussion (Prerelease)

The Exchange

I was reading the Stone Shape spell, and it states that it affects an area 10 cubic feet plus 1 cubic foot per caster level. Now, I've noticed what appears to be some inconsistency in different spell decriptions and whatnot, where sometimes they seem to be referring to an understanding of the area that is based on geometry, and at other times they seem to be saying something different.

For instance, in some instances, when a spell or effect is said to cover a 20 square foot area, it appears that it means an area that is 20 feet on each side (which, in geometry, would be a 400 square foot area). But in other cases, it seems like it's talking about a geometric 20 square foot area, meaning the area could be 4x5 or 10x2, and so on.

So when the description for Stone Shape indicates an area 10 cubic feet plus 1 cubic foot per caster level, and I'm a 9th level caster, does that mean the affected area is 19' x 19' x 19', or does it mean it is roughly 3'8" x 3'8" x 3'8"?


We always interpreted it to mean you have 19 little 1 foot cubes - arranged as you see fit, so long as they are adjacent.


Same here. In this particular case, with the way the description is worded, it means 19 1-foot cubes. Good luck!

~Dosgamer

The Exchange

Ah, that does make the math a lot easier. I hadn't thought of doing it that way.


Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
Nightwish wrote:

For instance, in some instances, when a spell or effect is said to cover a 20 square foot area, it appears that it means an area that is 20 feet on each side (which, in geometry, would be a 400 square foot area). But in other cases, it seems like it's talking about a geometric 20 square foot area, meaning the area could be 4x5 or 10x2, and so on.

So when the description for Stone Shape indicates an area 10 cubic feet plus 1 cubic foot per caster level, and I'm a 9th level caster, does that mean the affected area is 19' x 19' x 19', or does it mean it is roughly 3'8" x 3'8" x 3'8"?

This is an issue with the English language (especially when dealing with areas and volumes): a 20 square foot area (i.e., 4 ft. x 5 ft.) is not the same as a 20 foot square area (20 ft. x 20 ft.) and 10 cubic feet is different from a 10 foot cube. In the case of stone shape, if the wording is 10 cubic feet plus 1 cubic foot per level, then a 9th level caster would affect 19 cubic feet (about 2'8" x 2'8" x 2'8", or just nineteen 1 ft x 1 ft x 1ft cubes aranged as desired; 3'8" x 3'8" x 3'8" is slightly more than 49 cubic feet).

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Roleplaying Game / General Discussion (Prerelease) / Question on Area Effects All Messageboards
Recent threads in General Discussion (Prerelease)
Druid / Monk?