[Attacks of Opportunity] - Can you provoke an AoO for two reasons?


Combat


Here's a couple of loosely related questions:

-If a wizard casts a ray spell in melee, he provokes an attack of opportunity. But what about if he successfully casts the spell on the defensive? Does that still provoke an attack of opportunity (because it's a ranged attack in melee)?

-When a Tiny (or smaller) creature (with no reach) enters a larger creature's space to attack, it provokes an attack of opportunity. But what about if it uses a 5' step to enter a creature's space? Does that still provoke an AoO (even though the rules say that taking a 5-foot step never provokes an attack of opportunity)?

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2013 Top 4, RPG Superstar 2011 Top 16

hogarth wrote:

Here's a couple of loosely related questions:

-If a wizard casts a ray spell in melee, he provokes an attack of opportunity. But what about if he successfully casts the spell on the defensive? Does that still provoke an attack of opportunity (because it's a ranged attack in melee)?

-When a Tiny (or smaller) creature (with no reach) enters a larger creature's space to attack, it provokes an attack of opportunity. But what about if it uses a 5' step to enter a creature's space? Does that still provoke an AoO (even though the rules say that taking a 5-foot step never provokes an attack of opportunity)?

1st example, No. Touch attacks don't provoke, either melee or ranged. Only the casting of the spell provokes. Rays and other ranged touch attacks are not like firing a ranged weapon. This was discussed here.

In the 2nd example the creature provokes from entering the other creatures space which overrides the 5' step exclusion... Unless the smaller creature is 3 sizes or more smaller. I think... I'll have to find the page number.

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2013 Top 4, RPG Superstar 2011 Top 16

Pg 144 of the Beta goes over the rules about moving and entering other creatures spaces. The three size rule goes both ways, the creatures can move through others squares. It doesn't mention if it provokes (it's identical to the SRD).

--Jingle Bell Vrock!


Entering a square NEVER provokes Attacks of Opportunity.

LEAVING a square provokes Attacks of Opportunity, unless you make a 5ft step or use the Withdraw action (and with Withdraw, only the first square is safe... if you Withdraw from a creature with a threatened area of 15ft, you provoke an Attack of Opportunity when leaving the SECOND square).

From the Official SRD:
"Provoking an Attack of Opportunity: Two kinds of actions can provoke attacks of opportunity: moving out of a threatened square and performing an action within a threatened square.
Moving: Moving out of a threatened square usually provokes an attack of opportunity from the threatening opponent. There are two common methods of avoiding such an attack—the 5-foot-step and the withdraw action"
"If, during the process of withdrawing, you move out of a threatened square (other than the one you started in), enemies get attacks of opportunity as normal."

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2013 Top 4, RPG Superstar 2011 Top 16

The Wraith wrote:

Entering a square NEVER provokes Attacks of Opportunity.

LEAVING a square provokes Attacks of Opportunity, unless you make a 5ft step or use the Withdraw action (and with Withdraw, only the first square is safe... if you Withdraw from a creature with a threatened area of 15ft, you provoke an Attack of Opportunity when leaving the SECOND square).

From the Official SRD:
"Provoking an Attack of Opportunity: Two kinds of actions can provoke attacks of opportunity: moving out of a threatened square and performing an action within a threatened square.
Moving: Moving out of a threatened square usually provokes an attack of opportunity from the threatening opponent. There are two common methods of avoiding such an attack—the 5-foot-step and the withdraw action"
"If, during the process of withdrawing, you move out of a threatened square (other than the one you started in), enemies get attacks of opportunity as normal."

Entering an UNOCCUPIED square never provokes, however we're talking about entering the SPACE of an opponent. Whole different ballgame.

Pg 144 PFRPG beta: wrote:


Very Small Creature: A Fine, Diminutive, or Tiny creature
can move into or through an occupied square. The
creature provokes attacks of opportunity when doing so.
Square Occupied by Creature Three Sizes Larger or
Smaller:
Any creature can move through a square occupied
by a creature three size categories larger than it is.
A big creature can move through a square occupied by a
creature three size categories smaller than it is.


primemover003 wrote:


Entering an UNOCCUPIED square never provokes, however we're talking about entering the SPACE of an opponent. Whole different ballgame.

You are right, my error. Point taken.

primemover003 wrote:

--Jingle Bell Vrock!

Uh... were you a disk-jockey in Vice City during the '80s ? ;)

(you know... V-Rock Radio... BEST radio EVER, btw)


primemover003 wrote:


1st example, No. Touch attacks don't provoke, either melee or ranged. Only the casting of the spell provokes. Rays and other ranged touch attacks are not like firing a ranged weapon. This was discussed here.

In the 2nd example the creature provokes from entering the other creatures space which overrides the 5' step exclusion... Unless the smaller creature is 3 sizes or more smaller. I think... I'll have to find the page number.

While I may agree with you, how do I prove that to someone who points to the Beta and says:

"But Table 9-2 says an Attack (Ranged) provokes an attack of opportunity!"

or

"But page 141 says a 5-foot step never provokes an attack of opportunity!"

Both of these arguments have come up in the course of play, by the way; I'm not just makin' stuff up.

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2013 Top 4, RPG Superstar 2011 Top 16

hogarth wrote:

While I may agree with you, how do I prove that to someone who points to the Beta and says:

"But Table 9-2 says an Attack (Ranged) provokes an attack of opportunity!"

or

"But page 141 says a 5-foot step never provokes an attack of opportunity!"

Both of these arguments have come up in the course of play, by the way; I'm not just makin' stuff up.

You smack them upside the head and tell them to read the WHOLE chapter and not just the tables as text overrides tables... Attack (Ranged) is a specific standard action that requires a ranged weapon. Ranged weapons have range increments. Spells don't, they merely have ranges. Horses of different colors.

No seriously, almost every rule has an exception. Like moving 5 feet through hindered terrain. It's a 5' step that isn't a 5' step. Or missing on a Nat 20 because of concealment miss chance.

--We will, we will Vrock you!

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2013 Top 4, RPG Superstar 2011 Top 16

The Wraith wrote:
primemover003 wrote:

--Jingle Bell Vrock!

Uh... were you a disk-jockey in Vice City during the '80s ? ;)

(you know... V-Rock Radio... BEST radio EVER, btw)

Nah, I'm a Kchat demon myself...

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Roleplaying Game / Design Forums / Combat / [Attacks of Opportunity] - Can you provoke an AoO for two reasons? All Messageboards
Recent threads in Combat