Why is preparing to throw a splash weapon a full round action?


General Discussion (Prerelease)


I know it was in 3.5 but why?

I assume all it requires to throw a vial of acid is to get it out. How is this a full round action?

Is there a simulationist reason?

Is there some game mechanic reason why it is so?

(PS sorry about putting this in the general thread i couldn't find a spot to discuss rule in pathfinder beta)


Actually I think it takes a move action to pull it out and a standard to throw it.


Solientious wrote:
Actually I think it takes a move action to pull it out and a standard to throw it.

This would make sense. But is not what the rules say. Under the list of full round actions in 3.5 and pathfinder it has "preparing to throw a splash weapon"

I cant see an iterpretation of this statement including throwing a splash weapon other wise it would be just like any non ammunition missile weapon (say like a javelin) so after 'preparing to throw' you must throw it (a standard action). Making it a really time consuming action.

Do you also have to get it out!? before you prepare it (a move action).

Cant splash weapons be treated just like any other non amunition item (say like a potion) requiring a move action to get out and a standard to throw?

Why is this rule like it is?

Grand Lodge

Well, first you have to take off your backpack. Pop the latches and buckles. Open the backpack and rummage around inside. You have to stop and pause to look at the fancy new gauzy underwear you bought at the last town that you didn't tell your buddies about. Then you cut your finger on a broken potion vial and have to suck your finger.

Once all that is done you find your vial.

You set it carefully aside.

Repack your backpack, stopping to admire the new "toy" you acquired in the elven city and didn't tell your buddies about. Close the backpack and fasten all the latches and buckles. Put the backpack back on and then retrieve the vial.

I mean really, it should be a full minute to prepare a thrown splash weapon.

Other than that I can not possibly imagine why it would take a full round to prepare a splash weapon.

Unless it is the Holy Hand Grenade of Antioch. Then, well it makes perfect sense.

Dark Archive

Well, under Oil in Equipment, it says ...

"A pint of oil burns for 6 hours in a lantern. You can use a flask of oil as a splash weapon. Use the rules for alchemist’s fire, except that it takes a full round action to prepare a flask with a fuse. Once it is thrown, there is a 50% chance of the flask igniting successfully. "


Archade wrote:

Well, under Oil in Equipment, it says ...

"A pint of oil burns for 6 hours in a lantern. You can use a flask of oil as a splash weapon. Use the rules for alchemist’s fire, except that it takes a full round action to prepare a flask with a fuse. Once it is thrown, there is a 50% chance of the flask igniting successfully. "

+1

The rules in the SRD/PHB/3.P are flawed because they're talking about a specific kind of splash weapon (oil), which you have to light and then throw. Other splash weapons (acid, alchemists fire) are just thrown as attack actions as normal. (They need no preparation to throw). Basically, this is an editing error that has persisted for quite some time and it would be nice if someone would actually fix this.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Roleplaying Game / General Discussion (Prerelease) / Why is preparing to throw a splash weapon a full round action? All Messageboards
Recent threads in General Discussion (Prerelease)
Druid / Monk?