
Fenalik |

Hello! last game session of my Savage Tide Campaing, the Arcane Trickster of my group of players did something that I´m not sure to be legal: he used the "vampiric touch" spell with his sneak attack ability and he said the extra damage inflicted by the sneak attack was also converted in extra hit points like the damage caused by the spell because the sneak attack damage becames of the same type that the spell. I consulted the Complete Arcane rules about sneak attack and weaponlike spells and I have my doubts...What do you think on this matter?
Thank you!

ArchLich |

I would think allow it.
After all it is not really over powered unless you allow them to have an item that allows Vampiric Touch with unlimited use or even limited uses per day. As scrolls and spells it consumes lots of their resources to get them to stack. After all to get a higher caster level (to get more power and damage) cost the character either sneak attack damage (exchanging sneak attack for spell casting by taking appropriate levels in casting class) or treasure that could have gone to other resources (as it costs more to get a higher caster level on items).