Mekarumu

daedel, el azote's page

Organized Play Member. 139 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS

1 to 50 of 139 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>

Thank you!


Hello! How would you address casting mirror image and then illusory disguise or any polymorph spells like elemental form? Would the imagen change to reflect the change? No, but doesnt matter and the spell still works? Or would that render the spell useless? Thanks for your comments!


cavernshark wrote:

It can be done untrained and by anyone with the appropriate skill. The cost is the action spent to take the Recall Knowledge action. Keep in mind that doing this untrained my also greatly increase the chance of misidentifying the magic entirely with a critical failure.

Note that if you didn't observe the casting yourself and are just trying to determine the spell from the effects (identifying if a person is charmed but not seeing the charming) then you have to use Identify Magic instead of Identify Spell, which works similarly but is an exploration activity that takes 10 minutes.

Perfectly explained, thank you!


Hello all! I've got a doubt regarding identifyng spells as per page 305 in the core rulebook. Since Recall Knowledge is untrained, can you just use it with the appropiate skill to identify an spell after this has been cast? (like for example charm?) Can this be done by spellcasters and non-spellcasters? Am i missing anything?


Hi guys,

Is there any distance limitation on the alarm spell? For the mental alarm version, do you have to be in the warded area if you are the caster? In the case of the audible alarm, once it's triggered, do you have to be in the area as well as the rest of the gang?


Hi guys,

Is there any distance limitation on the alarm spell? For the mental alarm version, do you have to be in the warded area if you are the caster? In the case of the audible alarm, once it's triggered, do you have to be in the area as well as the rest of the gang?


I'm just curious: when looking at monsters in the three Bestiaries, I notice several of them have innate spells not heightened to half their level. For example, the winter hag in Bestiary 3 (page 130) has Charm, Fly and Ice Storm heightened to 4th level but Enthrall and Paralyze are heightened to 3th level. Is there a mechanical reason for this that I'm missing?


Hi all,

Is there any rules governing magic item repairs? I've found only the repair activity in crafting and the mending spell. The second specifies is for non magical items, but the first doesn't say anything about that. Is it possible? Are you tied to same restrictions as in crafting, i.e. level of the item, your own proficiency level, etc?


In the description of Take Cover Action (pg 471 core) says: "If you would
have standard cover, you instead gain greater cover, which provides a +4 circumstance bonus to AC; to Reflex saves against area effects; and to Stealth checks to Hide, Sneak , or otherwise avoid detection" (emphasis mine)

However under Sneak description it says: "Because you’re moving, the bonus
increase from Taking Cover doesn’t apply"

Is this errata? Or I am not undertanding the ruling here? Please advise!


Liegence wrote:

You always take persistent damage at the end of your turn. Enervation would not do any damage on the caster’s turn.

If you fail the save, you immediately lose HP from the drained condition but that is not “damage”.

I’ll also add that even though it doesn’t do immediate damage, this spell is very strong

It is isn't it? Losing 2d8 at minimum (4d8 with a critical failure) every turn until you get a flat 15 is huge!

Thanks for clarifying that for me.


Hi guys hope anyone can clarify this for me. I've read enervation spell inflicts persistent damage. Does it mean that if you fail your CON save, you suffer damage and then have to pass a flat DC 15 check or suffer damage again until check is passed? thank you!


Great explanation! Thanks!


Need some clarification on this. If you double hit points recovered after the 1-hour period, how do you take into account continual recovery? you double after 10-min period? or you still have to go the full hour and then double Up the total amount?


Salamileg wrote:
Has he ever played 5e? That's how it works in that system, he probably got the two mixed up.

yup, we all took a hiatus to play 5e while waiting for pf2e. i think you are right. thanks all for the answers!


Hi all,

Yesterday night our DM threw at us a couple of creatures with a reaction that allowed them to add +2 to their AC. Initiative was rolled and the order was: rogue, fighter, cleric, creatures and wizard (me).

The DM used reactions of both creatures against fighter and cleric attacks respectively. Then came their turns and acted. When I was going to attack them, the DM used again the reaction because he ruled it was reset on creatures's turn.

I read the definition of round in rules and say explicitly that the round starts with the player with highest initiative and ends after the player with lower initiative. And reactions state that can be used only once by round.

So it seems a round is not as flexible as in past editions and is not relative to each participant but fixed. So our DM was wrong? Please advice...

On a related issue: when you delay, can you delay past the round to reset your initiative so you can have a higher initiative but losing your action(s)? Given the definition of "round" doesn't seem possible, but would like to hear your opinions.

Also "Ready" seems to be an exception since it allows to use your reaction in the next round...


I am a little bit confused with item levels, specifically magic items. If you have a precious material magic item, like an adamantine dagger, and you etch a potency rune to it, does the level of the item increase? Do you use the higher of the two levels? is this explained somewhere in the book?


thank you both!


I cannot find anything regarding this. I know the scroll disappear when cast it, but can't find any reference to what happens when used to copy it.


ah, my bad, i understood "this chapter" as the whole equipment section. thanks for clarifying that for me!


Hello! Provided you have the right feat, are formulas for alchemical items and magic items from pages 292-293 incluided in the basic crafter's book? It says that all common items' formulas are on it and these ones seem to be all common...


Yeah, I think I understand it me too! Thank you all!


Ok, so then taking damage while sustaining a spell doesn't make you lose that spell?


I can't find any information regarding concentration on spells and if you lose them if hit by an attack. I've noticed that several spells have the trait "concentrate" but the trait description doesn't clear things up for me. Is there any section in the corebook I am missing where these rules are explained?

More specifically, Iam looking for information about taking damage while sustaining a spell. Does it make you lose it?


Hi all! Just to confirm: I was reading Spiritual Weapon and says "uses and contributes to your multiple attack penalty". I suppose that means that if you attack with your weapon and then uses SW to make a second attack (or viceversa) you'll get a -5 in the second attack. So now every time you attack it will count for the purposes of the MAP. Is this correct?


Ok, re-reading my post i am afraid i didn't explain myself. My issue is not with the maneuver itself, I think I understand it, my question is why would anyone select to simply fly through a ship's space instead of using flyby all the time? Except when a system like engine or core is malfunctioning or wrecked, there's no other limitation to flyby except the roll, and if it fails, there's no additional penalty apart from the one you get for moving through that space.


Ok, I am a total noob to Starfinder and my group is trying to understand starship combat rules. In our first combat we couldn't find a reason why a pilot would choose to move through a ship if flyby allows to make your movement, and if you fail the roll the only penalty is to take a free attack from the ship...exactly the same as in Moving Through Other Ships.

Can anyone point me out what we are not understanding?


Ok, I am a total noob to Starfinder and my group is trying to understand starship combat rules. In our first combat we couldn't find a reason why a pilot would choose to move through a ship if flyby allows to make your movement, and if you fail the roll the only penalty is to take a free attack from the ship...exactly the same as in Moving Through Other Ships.

Can anyone point me out what we are not understanding?


Hello,

I am reading playtest rules (new to them) and went straight to fighter, being one of my favourite classes. I need a (probable stupid) clarification about Double Slice: you cannot use it to attack two targets, true? I can't see anything in the description that says "attack one target" or similar, but reading the mechanics seems pretty obvious it's intended for just one target. Comparing it to Double Shot, this one does specify two targets.


Hiya!

My main problem with the rule for stealth/flat footed is that it's impossible to "surprise" an enemy that is unaware of you. Classical situation: you are hidden behind a tree or something else, and a couple of guards are chatting, unaware of you. You move, sorry, stride right to the back of one of them and surprise him. According to the rules, the guard is not flat-footed even if he was totally unaware of your presence.

I think rules should add that there are circumstances that would allow a target to remain flat-footed even if the attacker doesn't have cover or concealment. Per RAW, it's impossible for a not-rogue to "surprise" an enemy.

If I am wrong please correct me since this is my first attempt to understand the new Pathfinder rules.


Hi everyone, a couple of doubts I have using this. It says " If the spell heals damage or requires you to attempt a caster level check to cure an affliction or remove a condition, roll twice and take the higher result".

So that means that you roll double every healing dice - for example from any cure wounds spell - and take higher result?

Being a cleric, will this work if you spontaneously cast a cure spell in exchange for a previously prepared spell?


Ahh I see! Well we started the module recently, not being 1st level characters, but 11-th, so I don't think we are going to Abyss right now (still dealing with the taking of the sword of valor). All this said, it's fair to point out that our DM has made a good job adapting monsters to match our level but it's when we use our mythic powers when the things start to be out of balance. To be honest, it is me who I think (hyerophant) am overpowered because the other two players (guardians) don't make much more damage using their mythic abilities. But this recalled blessing thing is just too much for non-mythics xD


Volkard I am afraid I don't understand you...please can you elaborate?


Hi all! We are currently playing Wraith of the Righteous and are starting mythic rules. I am a 12th-level cleric and selected recalled blessing and eldrich breach - being an elf with spell penetration I thougth it was going to be ultimate way to bypass demons' high SR's. Unsurprisingly I've found now nearly no SR is a match for me, but I've discovered recalled blessing to be in my opinion highly overpowered against non-mythic characters, and I want to know it I am using it correctly.

For example,last session I used it to cast Banishment against a group of 4 lesser demons (Brimoracs IIRC). I was able to banish 3 of them in a single take and not only I didn't lose the spell or spell slot, demons had to select worst d20 roll for their saving throws. And all that for a merely 1 mythic point.

Did I use it right? Is it recalled blessing so powerful? My Dm is starting to have second thoughts about mythic powers. In the same session I used Harm to deliver 120 hp damage to another demon that also had to select worst d20 roll. I suppose the answer is "your dm should use mythic monsters" but I just want to check that I am using it the way is intended.


I am currently reading Pathfinder Unchained and noticed a couple of things.

a) Barbarian Uncanny Dodge. He/she can't be caught flat-footed and doesn't lose dex modifier if immobilized. Intentional? So now loses it if attacked by am invisible/stealthed character?

b) Rogue Improved Uncanny Dodge. "This defense denies another rogue the ability to sneak attack the character by f lanking her, unless the attacker has at least four more rogue levels than the target does". Wouldn't it be "unless the attacker has at least 4 more levels in a class that provides sneak attack than the target does", as specified in barbarian's feature?


And another doubt...a bane defeated is banished, so it,s returned to The box and shuffled with its equals...does this mean that it can reappear in The scenario later if an effect says to add random cards from The box? In one of the locations of brigandoom! You have to summon a random monster. If other monsters have been banished before they can reappear, is this correct?


Andrew L Klein wrote:
Landslide is correct. Keep in mind that outside of a dead character, leftover cards are not actually banished so they don't trigger the Adventure Path power.

Thank you both for the advice!


Another question that arised in our second game today: when you rebuild your deck after a scenario, and you trade cards with the rest of the group, what happens with leftover cards? We assume they are put back into the box, suffled with the rest of them and ready to re-appear in the next adventure...is this correct?


The way the game is designed, nothing prevents you from repeating a particular scenario or adventure, right? Obviously as per rules state you won't gain any rewards (no loot, no feat) but it can be interesting to try to acquire better boons. Is this allowed, or am i missing anything?


A few questions that arised the other day. What's the difference between a basic, elite, veteran card?
If you create a new character the only cards you can use are basic ones. That's clear. But when you create location decks, you do so randomly, so chances are you can get an elite magic item (that happened to me playing Merisiel and the darts +1) is this intentional? is correct?

Let's suppose we complete the basic adventure (Perils) and want to start RoR. We just open the box and add the carts to their respective decks, and start playing?


By the way, I want to know if it's possible to play with the RoR characters in one of the other settings, or you have to start anew with characters for that specific setting. If that's the case, can you use the class deck on any setting? I love rogues (currently playing Merisiel) and love to buy the class deck for her, but would I be able to use it in any setting?


Thank you all for your propmpt answers! Hawkmoon269, we are currently playing Rise of The Runelords. I find the game intriguing and fun, but other people at the table found it excessively complicated and i want to be able to answer to as many doubts as possible next time we play.


Yesterday we tried our first game at this one and was a little bit of a mess. We had many doubts that fortunately we have been able to resolve with the updated rulebook and perusing this forum, but there's something I cannot find.

When one player is exploring, exactly what kind of cards can the rest of players play to help him? Suppose he/she flips over a monster. Can another player not in his location aid him with a weapon card? Sounds silly to me, but I cannot find any reference in the corebook.

We decided to allow only blessings (from other players in or outside the location) and spells (only if in same location) but we are not sure this is correct.


Looking again at the spell, I thing it's just poor wording. If you don't use any diagram, then you cast magic circle and next round, planar binding. If you use a diagram, it allows you "break" this combination adding dimensional anchor, so it will be magic circle, dimensional anchor and planar binding, all cast without interrumption.


xebeche wrote:

It seems to work like this:

1) spellcaster casts one of the magic circle spells.
2) spellcaster immediately begins casting planar binding.
3) if the called creature has dimensional travel abilities then roll initiative and hope the spellcaster rolled better to get dimensional anchor off successfully, otherwise their efforts might be wasted.

This said, there may be other things a spellcaster can do to keep such a creature from using dimensional travel, dimensional lock, for example.

But Magic Circle states: "A successful diagram allows you to cast a dimensional anchor spell on the magic circle during the round before casting any summoning spell."

Before casting any summoning spell, not after. And also: "This spell has an alternative version that you may choose when casting it. A magic circle against evil can be focused inward rather than outward. When focused inward, the spell binds a nongood called creature (such as those called by the lesser planar binding, planar binding, and greater planar binding spells) for a maximum of 24 hours per caster level, provided that you cast the spell that calls the creature within 1 round of casting the magic circle."

So if you cast the summoning spell within 1 round of casting the magic circle, how can you cast dimensional anchor during the round before casting the summoning spell?


Probably there's something I don't understand since English is not my native language, but reading Magic Circle I found something weird. The alternate version of the circle says, "...for a maximum of 24 hours per caster level, provided that you cast the spell that calls the creature within 1 round of casting the magic circle"

So you cast the magic circle, and the following round you cast the Planar Binding. But then, if you want to add a dimensional anchor,

"A successful diagram allows you to cast a dimensional anchor spell on the magic circle during the round before casting any summoning spell"

round before casting? but in that round I should be already casting Planar Binding as stated above...

Am I wrong?


Weirdo wrote:


It's perhaps best to think of the dimensional anchor as extending the casting time of the circle itself to add an extra layer of protection.

Now that you mention it, makes perfect sense, thank you!


Magic circle says: "A magic circle against evil can be focused inward rather than outward. When focused inward, the spell binds a nongood called creature (such as those called by the lesser planar binding, planar binding, and greater planar binding spells) for a maximum of 24 hours per caster level, provided that you cast the spell that calls the creature within 1 round of casting the magic circle"

And also: "A successful diagram allows you to cast a dimensional anchor spell on the magic circle during the round before casting any summoning spell"

But if you cast Magic Circle and have to cast a calling spell in the next round, you cannot cast Dimensional Anchor. Am i understanding this wrong or it's errata?


Hi all, I am a newbie to this game but I've received it as a gift from some friends. I haven't played it yet or even read the rules, but yesterday I knew that there are two base sets (RotR, the one I have) and Skulls and Shackles. I've been told that the Adventure Paths for S&S have to be played with that base set and cannot be played with the RoTR set I have. But I've also noticed this forum, so I come to understand you can create your own content for the game. So my questions: is it easy to create content? what can of homemade content you can create? can you create scenarios, or adventures, or even adventure paths? thanks in advance.


Sorry if this has been asked before: I've got the first base set, Rise of the Runelords, but haven't played it yet (it was a gift). My question is: is it necessary to get the base set for skulls and shackles in order to play the 6 adventures of this specific AP? Or can I just buy these and play them with my base set?

Full Name

Joseph Blomquist

Age

40something

Location

Cincinnati, OH

Occupation

Freelancer; Writer; Game Designer, Saturday Morning Games

Homepage URL

www.underwearontheoutside.com

About Doctor Mono

Freelancing and Credits

Saturday Morning Games