Enervation and Persistent Damage


Rules Discussion


Hi guys hope anyone can clarify this for me. I've read enervation spell inflicts persistent damage. Does it mean that if you fail your CON save, you suffer damage and then have to pass a flat DC 15 check or suffer damage again until check is passed? thank you!


You always take persistent damage at the end of your turn. Enervation would not do any damage on the caster’s turn.

If you fail the save, you immediately lose HP from the drained condition but that is not “damage”.

I’ll also add that even though it doesn’t do immediate damage, this spell is very strong


Liegence wrote:

You always take persistent damage at the end of your turn. Enervation would not do any damage on the caster’s turn.

If you fail the save, you immediately lose HP from the drained condition but that is not “damage”.

I’ll also add that even though it doesn’t do immediate damage, this spell is very strong

It is isn't it? Losing 2d8 at minimum (4d8 with a critical failure) every turn until you get a flat 15 is huge!

Thanks for clarifying that for me.


daedel, el azote wrote:
Liegence wrote:

You always take persistent damage at the end of your turn. Enervation would not do any damage on the caster’s turn.

If you fail the save, you immediately lose HP from the drained condition but that is not “damage”.

I’ll also add that even though it doesn’t do immediate damage, this spell is very strong

It is isn't it? Losing 2d8 at minimum (4d8 with a critical failure) every turn until you get a flat 15 is huge!

Thanks for clarifying that for me.

worth to note that you first take the damage, and THEN make the (free) Check.

Basically, the (free) check is for next round's damage.

Although, if you spend actions to try to remove it, then those would be before you take the damage since the round hasnt ended yet.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Enervation and Persistent Damage All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.