Mekarumu

daedel, el azote's page

Organized Play Member. 139 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.



1 to 50 of 55 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

Hello! How would you address casting mirror image and then illusory disguise or any polymorph spells like elemental form? Would the imagen change to reflect the change? No, but doesnt matter and the spell still works? Or would that render the spell useless? Thanks for your comments!


Hello all! I've got a doubt regarding identifyng spells as per page 305 in the core rulebook. Since Recall Knowledge is untrained, can you just use it with the appropiate skill to identify an spell after this has been cast? (like for example charm?) Can this be done by spellcasters and non-spellcasters? Am i missing anything?


Hi guys,

Is there any distance limitation on the alarm spell? For the mental alarm version, do you have to be in the warded area if you are the caster? In the case of the audible alarm, once it's triggered, do you have to be in the area as well as the rest of the gang?


Hi guys,

Is there any distance limitation on the alarm spell? For the mental alarm version, do you have to be in the warded area if you are the caster? In the case of the audible alarm, once it's triggered, do you have to be in the area as well as the rest of the gang?


I'm just curious: when looking at monsters in the three Bestiaries, I notice several of them have innate spells not heightened to half their level. For example, the winter hag in Bestiary 3 (page 130) has Charm, Fly and Ice Storm heightened to 4th level but Enthrall and Paralyze are heightened to 3th level. Is there a mechanical reason for this that I'm missing?


Hi all,

Is there any rules governing magic item repairs? I've found only the repair activity in crafting and the mending spell. The second specifies is for non magical items, but the first doesn't say anything about that. Is it possible? Are you tied to same restrictions as in crafting, i.e. level of the item, your own proficiency level, etc?


In the description of Take Cover Action (pg 471 core) says: "If you would
have standard cover, you instead gain greater cover, which provides a +4 circumstance bonus to AC; to Reflex saves against area effects; and to Stealth checks to Hide, Sneak , or otherwise avoid detection" (emphasis mine)

However under Sneak description it says: "Because you’re moving, the bonus
increase from Taking Cover doesn’t apply"

Is this errata? Or I am not undertanding the ruling here? Please advise!


Hi guys hope anyone can clarify this for me. I've read enervation spell inflicts persistent damage. Does it mean that if you fail your CON save, you suffer damage and then have to pass a flat DC 15 check or suffer damage again until check is passed? thank you!


Need some clarification on this. If you double hit points recovered after the 1-hour period, how do you take into account continual recovery? you double after 10-min period? or you still have to go the full hour and then double Up the total amount?


Hi all,

Yesterday night our DM threw at us a couple of creatures with a reaction that allowed them to add +2 to their AC. Initiative was rolled and the order was: rogue, fighter, cleric, creatures and wizard (me).

The DM used reactions of both creatures against fighter and cleric attacks respectively. Then came their turns and acted. When I was going to attack them, the DM used again the reaction because he ruled it was reset on creatures's turn.

I read the definition of round in rules and say explicitly that the round starts with the player with highest initiative and ends after the player with lower initiative. And reactions state that can be used only once by round.

So it seems a round is not as flexible as in past editions and is not relative to each participant but fixed. So our DM was wrong? Please advice...

On a related issue: when you delay, can you delay past the round to reset your initiative so you can have a higher initiative but losing your action(s)? Given the definition of "round" doesn't seem possible, but would like to hear your opinions.

Also "Ready" seems to be an exception since it allows to use your reaction in the next round...


I am a little bit confused with item levels, specifically magic items. If you have a precious material magic item, like an adamantine dagger, and you etch a potency rune to it, does the level of the item increase? Do you use the higher of the two levels? is this explained somewhere in the book?


I cannot find anything regarding this. I know the scroll disappear when cast it, but can't find any reference to what happens when used to copy it.


Hello! Provided you have the right feat, are formulas for alchemical items and magic items from pages 292-293 incluided in the basic crafter's book? It says that all common items' formulas are on it and these ones seem to be all common...


I can't find any information regarding concentration on spells and if you lose them if hit by an attack. I've noticed that several spells have the trait "concentrate" but the trait description doesn't clear things up for me. Is there any section in the corebook I am missing where these rules are explained?

More specifically, Iam looking for information about taking damage while sustaining a spell. Does it make you lose it?


Hi all! Just to confirm: I was reading Spiritual Weapon and says "uses and contributes to your multiple attack penalty". I suppose that means that if you attack with your weapon and then uses SW to make a second attack (or viceversa) you'll get a -5 in the second attack. So now every time you attack it will count for the purposes of the MAP. Is this correct?


Ok, I am a total noob to Starfinder and my group is trying to understand starship combat rules. In our first combat we couldn't find a reason why a pilot would choose to move through a ship if flyby allows to make your movement, and if you fail the roll the only penalty is to take a free attack from the ship...exactly the same as in Moving Through Other Ships.

Can anyone point me out what we are not understanding?


Ok, I am a total noob to Starfinder and my group is trying to understand starship combat rules. In our first combat we couldn't find a reason why a pilot would choose to move through a ship if flyby allows to make your movement, and if you fail the roll the only penalty is to take a free attack from the ship...exactly the same as in Moving Through Other Ships.

Can anyone point me out what we are not understanding?


Hello,

I am reading playtest rules (new to them) and went straight to fighter, being one of my favourite classes. I need a (probable stupid) clarification about Double Slice: you cannot use it to attack two targets, true? I can't see anything in the description that says "attack one target" or similar, but reading the mechanics seems pretty obvious it's intended for just one target. Comparing it to Double Shot, this one does specify two targets.


Hi everyone, a couple of doubts I have using this. It says " If the spell heals damage or requires you to attempt a caster level check to cure an affliction or remove a condition, roll twice and take the higher result".

So that means that you roll double every healing dice - for example from any cure wounds spell - and take higher result?

Being a cleric, will this work if you spontaneously cast a cure spell in exchange for a previously prepared spell?


Hi all! We are currently playing Wraith of the Righteous and are starting mythic rules. I am a 12th-level cleric and selected recalled blessing and eldrich breach - being an elf with spell penetration I thougth it was going to be ultimate way to bypass demons' high SR's. Unsurprisingly I've found now nearly no SR is a match for me, but I've discovered recalled blessing to be in my opinion highly overpowered against non-mythic characters, and I want to know it I am using it correctly.

For example,last session I used it to cast Banishment against a group of 4 lesser demons (Brimoracs IIRC). I was able to banish 3 of them in a single take and not only I didn't lose the spell or spell slot, demons had to select worst d20 roll for their saving throws. And all that for a merely 1 mythic point.

Did I use it right? Is it recalled blessing so powerful? My Dm is starting to have second thoughts about mythic powers. In the same session I used Harm to deliver 120 hp damage to another demon that also had to select worst d20 roll. I suppose the answer is "your dm should use mythic monsters" but I just want to check that I am using it the way is intended.


I am currently reading Pathfinder Unchained and noticed a couple of things.

a) Barbarian Uncanny Dodge. He/she can't be caught flat-footed and doesn't lose dex modifier if immobilized. Intentional? So now loses it if attacked by am invisible/stealthed character?

b) Rogue Improved Uncanny Dodge. "This defense denies another rogue the ability to sneak attack the character by f lanking her, unless the attacker has at least four more rogue levels than the target does". Wouldn't it be "unless the attacker has at least 4 more levels in a class that provides sneak attack than the target does", as specified in barbarian's feature?


The way the game is designed, nothing prevents you from repeating a particular scenario or adventure, right? Obviously as per rules state you won't gain any rewards (no loot, no feat) but it can be interesting to try to acquire better boons. Is this allowed, or am i missing anything?


A few questions that arised the other day. What's the difference between a basic, elite, veteran card?
If you create a new character the only cards you can use are basic ones. That's clear. But when you create location decks, you do so randomly, so chances are you can get an elite magic item (that happened to me playing Merisiel and the darts +1) is this intentional? is correct?

Let's suppose we complete the basic adventure (Perils) and want to start RoR. We just open the box and add the carts to their respective decks, and start playing?


Yesterday we tried our first game at this one and was a little bit of a mess. We had many doubts that fortunately we have been able to resolve with the updated rulebook and perusing this forum, but there's something I cannot find.

When one player is exploring, exactly what kind of cards can the rest of players play to help him? Suppose he/she flips over a monster. Can another player not in his location aid him with a weapon card? Sounds silly to me, but I cannot find any reference in the corebook.

We decided to allow only blessings (from other players in or outside the location) and spells (only if in same location) but we are not sure this is correct.


Probably there's something I don't understand since English is not my native language, but reading Magic Circle I found something weird. The alternate version of the circle says, "...for a maximum of 24 hours per caster level, provided that you cast the spell that calls the creature within 1 round of casting the magic circle"

So you cast the magic circle, and the following round you cast the Planar Binding. But then, if you want to add a dimensional anchor,

"A successful diagram allows you to cast a dimensional anchor spell on the magic circle during the round before casting any summoning spell"

round before casting? but in that round I should be already casting Planar Binding as stated above...

Am I wrong?


Magic circle says: "A magic circle against evil can be focused inward rather than outward. When focused inward, the spell binds a nongood called creature (such as those called by the lesser planar binding, planar binding, and greater planar binding spells) for a maximum of 24 hours per caster level, provided that you cast the spell that calls the creature within 1 round of casting the magic circle"

And also: "A successful diagram allows you to cast a dimensional anchor spell on the magic circle during the round before casting any summoning spell"

But if you cast Magic Circle and have to cast a calling spell in the next round, you cannot cast Dimensional Anchor. Am i understanding this wrong or it's errata?


Hi all, I am a newbie to this game but I've received it as a gift from some friends. I haven't played it yet or even read the rules, but yesterday I knew that there are two base sets (RotR, the one I have) and Skulls and Shackles. I've been told that the Adventure Paths for S&S have to be played with that base set and cannot be played with the RoTR set I have. But I've also noticed this forum, so I come to understand you can create your own content for the game. So my questions: is it easy to create content? what can of homemade content you can create? can you create scenarios, or adventures, or even adventure paths? thanks in advance.


In 3.5, when you wanted to improve a monster with a template or adding Hit Dice, you could also change the standard ability array and use instead elite or non-elite ones. In Pathfinder, I've noticed that only when you add pc-classes or npc-classes to a monster you can use these (elite for pc, nonelite for npc). Is this correct? So monsters that advance solely using templates or adding hit dice always use standard array of abilities?


The other night we had a discussion about regeneration. A troll was attacked with a summoned fire elemental. Rules about regeneration say "Certain attack forms, typically fire and acid, cause a creature's regeneration to stop functioning on the round following the attack. During this round, the creature does not heal any damage and can die normally"

In the combat section of the corebook, it's stated that

"Each round's activity begins with the character with the highest initiative result and then proceeds in order. When a character's turn comes up in the initiative sequence, that character performs his entire round's worth of actions. (For exceptions, see Attacks of Opportunity and Special Initiative Actions.)

When the rules refer to a “full round”, they usually mean a span of time from a particular initiative count in one round to the same initiative count in the next round. Effects that last a certain number of rounds end just before the same initiative count that they began on."

So we didn't know if the round is next round OR the full round that exists after the initiative of the fire elemental and until the elemental's next turn.

Opinions?


If I am the main grappler, and have a creature grappled, and successfully make a check to maintain the hold, I can select to damage the creature with a light or one-handed weapon. But assuming I am humanoid, to do so I have to have such a weapon in one of my hands, so I will suffer a -4 penalty in my grappling checks, since humanoids require both hands to avoid it. Am i correct?


Hi all,

What's the level of the abilities of Bloodline if the sorcerer wants to conjure them defensively? I am starting to play one sorcerer with elemental: fire bloodline, and I can release an Elemental Ray as a Spell-Like Ability. But I cannot find what spell level is that considered...


Hello,

Lately we are using Stealth a lot, and we are having troubles with several things. One of them is this: how come that improved cover gives a +10 to stealth checks and total cover doesn't give anything? One of the players suggested to give a +20 as per invisible modifier. What do you think?

Also: am I correct to assume that when you move into total cover or total concealmente, you can roll a stealth check even if you were observed, since line of sight is broken? Provided you are not facing enemies with darkvision for the total concealment case...


Hello,

Assuming a shadowdancer meets the criteria to HIPS, if he does so at the beginning of his turn and doesn't do anything else, for how long does he remain stealthed? Does he have to make another stealth roll at the beginning of hs next turn to remain hidden?


Hi all!

In the last game we had this situation: three drow archers were in an area of darkness shooting against the pc's. The pc's were in an illuminated area. I ruled that the drows had total concealment since they were in darkness, and since one of them was a rogue I thought of making sneak attack. But I was unsure if this was possible, since the drows weren't using Stealth or were invisible and total concealment doesn't mean automatically losing dex bonus to AC, so I decided not to make sneaks. Did I rule right? The way I see, even if the drows are in total-concealed area, it's necessary to be invisible or hidden (via Stealth) to qualify to make sneak attacks...


Hi all,

Simple question: do monsters add +3 if a class skill is selected? I am currently struggling creating an eidolon for my summoner, and I can't find anything about this. My guess is that the answer is no, but please can anybody confirm (or point me to the example in book)

TYhank you!


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Hi all,

When you do a tumbling check, you do it once per opponent or per threatened square?

Thanks!


Hi all,

Blind-fight has specific advantages against invisible characters. Would these apply if instead of fighting an invisible creature, you are fighting in darkness (without darkvision) and thus cannot see your enemy?


Hello all,

In D&D 4E Mordenkainen Emporium we had a useful set of rules regarding Hirelings and Henchmen. I wonder if there's something similar in Pathfinder. I can't find anything in my rulebooks. Can anybody point me in the right direction?


Hi all,

When you are grappling someone, and you gain the grapple condition, can you attack other foes? Or you are restricted to the foe you are grappling?

Since a monster with the grab ability can start a grapple for free for any attack that hits, that means that using full attack action it can attack several opponents and use grab on all of them, right? Even if it gets the grappled condition on its first (or posterior) attack? I think that being grappled doesn't prevent performing the rest of its attacks, but I am unsure of this...

Thank you!


Hi all,

Grapple rules say:

Quote:
As a standard action, you can attempt to grapple a foe, hindering his combat options. If you do not have Improved Grapple, grab, or a similar ability, attempting to grapple a foe provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of your maneuver. Humanoid creatures without two free hands attempting to grapple a foe take a –4 penalty on the combat maneuver roll. If successful, both you and the target gain the grappled condition (see the Appendices). If you successfully grapple a creature that is not adjacent to you, move that creature to an adjacent open space (if no space is available, your grapple fails). Although both creatures have the grappled condition, you can, as the creature that initiated the grapple, release the grapple as a free action, removing the condition from both you and the target. If you do not release the grapple, you must continue to make a check each round, as a standard action, to maintain the hold. If your target does not break the grapple, you get a +5 circumstance bonus on grapple checks made against the same target in subsequent rounds. Once you are grappling an opponent, a successful check allows you to continue grappling the foe, and also allows you to perform one of the following actions (as part of the standard action spent to maintain the grapple).

My doubt: when you start a grapple, can you perform as well one of the actions? or you can do that ONLY after starting a grapple, when in your next turn you maintain the hold? What happens if your grappling enemy turns the grapple? Would that mean that in theory, you and him can spend some rounds just fighting to find out who's the grappler, without dealing any damage at all?

Also: grab says: "A successful hold does not deal any extra damage unless the creature also has the constrict special attack"

I understand that if a monster with grab and constrict hits with its attack, say a claw, it deals claw damage, try to establish a hold for free, and if successful, deals constrict damage. Is that correct?

Thank you!


Hi all,

I am a little confused on how to improve monsters adding racial hit dices. Is table 2-1 used for reference, or you have to apply the changes there? For example, if you want to change a CR 3 into a CR 5, do you automatically add 25 hitpoints and 3-5 bonus attack? Doesn't make much sense to me...


hi all,

I have just been reading grapple rules and there's something I cannot quite understand: the actions you can make when winning a grapple check, i.e. move, damage, pin or tie-up, can only be performed if you are the active grappler? (the one that started the grapple). So, if the other combatant wants to perform one of this actions, he has to beat the previous grappler in a check and then become the active grapple himself?

I am a little bit confused about this...


Hi all,

I have played extensively D&D and now I am playing Pathfinder, and still have this concern: how exactly does a rogue approach a trap to disable it? I mean, if we take a look at the description of the traps, there are many whose trigger is by proximity (using alarm spell, for example). How does the rogue bypass it to approach to the trap? We have always assumed that the rogue has the innate ability to do so (call it trapfinding or whatever) but tbh, maybe we are playing it wrong. Opinions, suggestions, everything is welcomed :)


Hello,

What ability do you use for a spell-like ability concentration check? Charisma always?

Thank you!


In tonight session my cleric casted a SW against a guard that had cover. We are unsure of if the SW is subjected to cover modifiers or not. The Dm ruled that since the description of the spell says it's a ranged weapon, cover should kick in. Is that the correct interpretation?


Hello all,

Sorry if this has been posted before, found many threads but none answered clearly my question: does Blind-fight foil Stealth? In D&D 3.5 according to rules compendium, and in D&D 4th, a hidden character (one using Stealth or Hide) is considered invisible, so Blind-fight would foil them. Is the same for Pathfinder then?

Thnak you.

PD: I also checked the thread about the Stealth revision, and couldn't find anything there, except that hidden and invisible wouldn't be the same thing.

1 to 50 of 55 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>