Nar'shinddah Sugimar

Shadowcat7's page

Goblin Squad Member. 188 posts (194 including aliases). No reviews. 2 lists. 1 wishlist. 1 alias.

Can a creature be invisible and also have an invisibility purge effect centered on it?

Example: A cleric has his sorcerer friend make him invisible and then casts invisibility purge on himself. Does the cleric become visible or can he remain invisible with the other effect radiating out from him?

Link to various digital tools for your game

I thought this was a good reference article on the various tools out there for different games and campaigns. I'm sure there are more out there, but this is a good place to start.

Not sure if this is addressed anywhere - I couldn't find an answer searching through the boards.

Are the stat blocks in the Anniversary Edition set up as to assume that spell effects are already going as stated in the Tactics section of the NPCs? I just don't want to double up on effects that are already included in the stat blocks (or short my NPCs by not adding in the appropriate modifiers). This would include an NPC that is listed as going into a rage or other characters that have special abilities that will adjust their performance.

Thank you!

As noted - there are spoilers for The Skinsaw Murders as well as possible other adventures in this path. If you are a player please stop reading now.

That said, I am looking for some advice on what steps to take next. Here is the story thus far:

Party consists of:

Paladin of Erastil 5/Bard 1
Rogue 5/Ranger 1
Sorcerer 6
Cleric of Shelyn 6

We have played through almost all of The Skinsaw Murders. The party has learned all about the cult of Norgorber, infiltrated the sawmill in the dead of night while they were performing a sacrificial ritual and defeated the cultists in a knock-down drag-out fight. Ironbriar escaped during the fight and headed to the clocktower in an attempt to meet up with his "love" and warn her of the PCs.

The party had a couple of cultists that they stabilized and harshly questioned. Through the use of some great Intimidate checks and some creative threats using the still-functioning sawmill equipment they were able to get some vague idea that the clocktower played some part of this whole cult business, though they did not get any information about Xanesha.

They took a short time to turn over the living cultists to the city guard (the paladin in the party has already established a relationship with many of the watch captions so they are on good terms with the guards) and then headed straight for the clocktower.

Using fly spells they completely bypassed the interior of the tower and flew to the top, encountering Xanesha berating Ironbriar for cowardice and leading the PCs to her. Combat in the sky around the tower quickly broke out. The party was able to kill Ironbriar and quickly realized they were outmatched with Xanesha. They wisely retreated with his body as evidence of his corruption. Xanesha chose not to pursue.

The party has exposed everything to the city government and been granted limited authority to investigate further. Xanesha quickly moved her lair to an abandoned warehouse in the vicinity of the clocktower as a temporary solution until she can find a more permanent living space. She brought the Scarecrow with her as a guard. Her plan was to call some extra-planar help using some purchased scrolls, but before she could put her plan into action the party was able to track down her new lair and destroy the Scarecrow. They discovered the beginnings of a binding circle that she had started as well as the information on the cult's targets. I also included a letter from Lucrecia providing a link to Turtleback Ferry as mentioned in a thread Lisa Stevens posted a long while ago. Xanesha herself was not at the warehouse when the party stormed it. I had her out gathering the final items she needed to call in some help.

The party has exposed the cult and silenced it for now. The mayor is on their side and has given them half the indicated reward in the module - he is holding out the other half until Xanesha is destroyed and the cult finally put down for good.

The PCs are planning on doing some cursory investigating around town, but feel that their focus is now on Turtleback Ferry and the further threats they have uncovered. They have only seen Xanesha in her humanoid form - they still do not know what she truly is, though they have some hints and think that she is probably a shapechanger of some sort.

SO...after all that...what would Xanesha do? I would like to keep her as an opponent for the group. Another wrench I can throw in the pot is Tsuto. He was arrested in Sandpoint and sent to Magnimar, but Ironbriar got him out and inducted into the cult. The PCs defeated him a second time and put him back in jail. Maybe she can get him out again and really irritate them with him a third time? Hire some mercenaries to shadow them and hunt them on their trip to Turtleback Ferry?

Any ideas or thoughts are welcome at this point. Thanks for reading and for your time!

Well...clarification, really.

I've read through what seems like a billion Spring Attack threads in this forum and found a lot of good information, but not something to answer my question.

Is there anything that prevents a character from ending their movement adjacent to their opponent while Spring Attacking?

I don't see why it wouldn't work, but I'm looking mostly for some sort of consensus. So, a character can start their turn at some point away from their opponent (at least 10 feet to be able to use Spring Attack) and move in without drawing attacks of opportunity, but simply stay next to the opponent to continue attacking in subsequent rounds.

Fine according to the rules as far as I can tell. Anyone say otherwise?

7 people marked this as a favorite.

I have begun running the Rise of the Runelords adventure path. One of the players has chosen to portray a female elven cleric of Shelyn. Rain, as she is called in the Common Tongue, has taken to wandering around Sandpoint in her off time, chatting with the folk of the town.

In particular she has begun telling the children of the village stories and legends from Shelyn. The player has been sending me these stories in between games as he writes them and I thought it would be fun to post them here. They have nothing to do with the adventure itself, other than the fact that they are great role-playing items and they have helped create a deeper and wider game world for us.

So as he sends me these tales that Rain is passing on to the children of Sandpoint I thought I would share them with the community here as well (with his permission). If they help anyone else's game in any way that would be great, too.

I'll post the first two that I have shortly.

The PCs in the group that I am running have reached Thistletop. They've fought through the bramble tunnels, driven Gogmurt back to the keep on the island, infiltrated the goblin home itself and methodically defeated everything above ground. The bugbear even chanced to wander upstairs after the battle and encountered the PCs arguing over how best to transport the rescued horse and recovered treasure chest over the rickety rope bridge.

After a short but brutal fight they killed him as he was trying to get back downstairs for reinforcements. So far no one else downstairs is aware of the destruction of the goblin clan above their heads.

The PCs have decided to move back from the island to rest and lick their wounds. They know that there is more below the keep, but not exactly what, and they are not willing to go down in their weakened state after their day of fighting above ground.

So they have tried to burn the keep. They arranged the furniture abd dirty linens in the chief's bedchamber and used alchemist fire to get it started and then left the fire to its own devices.

So...after all you have any advice for me on the results of this action? Do you think that the whole keep will burn? It's made out of scavenged pieces of wood from shipwrecks and (I assume) the surrounding forest. Being so close to the water and taking into account the area that it is in, do you think the wood is too waterlogged and will only smolder and char or will it burn merrily to the ground?

I can definitely come up with some answers on my own, but I'm looking for ideas to help me flesh the whole event out. What do you think will happen to the keep? What about the folks downstairs? Will they even notice? Will it casue a great disturbance for them and drive them out? Is there a chance that the keep will burn so strong that pieces will float across the water to the mainland and start fires there?

Any thoughts or ideas would be greatly appreciated!

I am about to start running RotR using the Pathfinder rules and was wondering if anyone had any suggestions on which XP track would work best since it was originally published for 3.5.

Has anyone had any success with one over the other?

I intercepted this e-mail of thoughts from a friend that had some thoughts on the summoner. I've not searched through all these threads to try to pick out the answers - I admit, I'm lazily posting this to see what thoughts are out there on these. Really I'm just trying to get some perspective on what the rules say as well as on what other GMs think is reasonable. Thanks for any thoughts...

•Using your Summon Monster SLA is a standard action that immediately ends any previous use of the SLA. You can use this to squeeze out two full attacks in a single round. Have a previously-summoned monster attack, then take your turn, summon another monster (dismissing the old one) and have that attack too.

•While summoning another monster with your SLA dismisses an old one, that doesn't apply to summoning another monster with your spells. If you keep one or two Summon Monsters in your spell list, you can have multiple summons out at once.

•You can have your Summon Monster SLA and your Eidolon out at the same time. Just use the Summon ability, then take 1 minute to call your Eidolon. (The rules say you can't use your Summon ability while your Eidolon is active, but there's nothing stopping you summoning your Eidolon while a Summon is active.) Since your Summon lasts 1 minute/level, this is a great way to double your hitting power if you have some prep time.

•You can even get a summon and your Eidolon out within two rounds! First use your Summon ability, then cast the Summon Eidolon spell. As a nifty bonus, this lets your Eidolon gain +4 to Strength and Constitution if you have the Augment Summoning feat.

Can I use multiple gift certificates on a single order?

I have been running the SCAP for the past couple of years now and we are just about to start Chapter 10 - Thirteen Cages, but I ran into a question almost at once.

I'm using a spoiler button just to be safe. If you're a player there are spoilers to the game inside.

The entrance to the Fiery Sanctum has an alarm trap on it that is supposed to alert specific Cagewrights within 1 mile, but I cannot see where in the text it mentions who exactly this is. Did this information get omitted? Has anyone made any decisions as to who is alerted by this trap?

Thanks for any suggestions.

I'm at work & don't have my books in front of me so please bear with me.

The Church Inquisitor PrC gets an ability to see through illusions at some point in their progression. I believe the character gets a save any time he encounters an illusion, even when one is not normally available.

My question is - Is this against certain sub-schools of Illusion or for the entire school as a whole? My first thought leads me to invisibility. Does the character get a save every time he encounters an invisible creature or object?

Pathfinder RPG SRD wrote:
Staves hold a maximum of 10 charges. Each spell cast from a staff consumes one or more charges. When a staff runs out of charges, it cannot be used until it is recharged. Each morning, when a spellcaster prepares spells or regains spell slots, he can also imbue one staff with a portion of his power so long as one or more of the spells cast by the staff is on his spell list and he is capable of casting at least one of the spells. Imbuing a staff with this power restores one charge to the staff, but the caster must forgo one prepared spell or spell slot of a level equal to the highest-level spell cast by the staff. For example, a 9th-level wizard with a staff of fire could imbue the staff with one charge per day by using up one of his 4th-level spells. A staff cannot gain more than one charge per day and a caster cannot imbue more than one staff per day.

The bolded portion is what I have a question on. Does this mean that a caster cannot recharge a staff until they can cast a spell of the highest level that the staff holds?

For instance, an 11th level caster comes into possession of a Staff of Passage. The staff allows the user to cast astral projection - a 9th level spell. According to the above quoted rules it seems that the caster cannot recharge the staff until he reaches a level where he can cast 9th level spells? So he might have to wait through 6 more levels before being able to do this? Is this true?

Follow-up question: If this is the case, does it make sense?

I want to say that I'm traumatized...but I can't get it out of my head after watching...and I kind of like it...the horror...

music mash

This may belong in off topics...not too sure, but it is technically music so I put it here.

I have a player who wants to play a monk. A question has arisen about shuriken.

In the old 3.0 Sword & Fist (I think) it was noted that a character throws 3 shuriken per attack, and that each shuriken required a separate attack roll. Only 1 could benefit from sneak attack or any extra damage. Thus, a monk with Flurry of Blows would be able to throw 6 shuriken a round at first level, rolling 6 different attack rolls. Granted the attack bonus would be low. Is this still correct for 3.5?

I can't find anything similar to this in 3.5 anywhere. Really, I can't find much at all on shuriken. I know they are treated like ammo for pricing and recovering them after a fight. I'm assuming that means 50 +1 shuriken costs 2,000gp (plus mw cost).

Is there anywhere I can look to find some further rules info on these weapons?

Does anyone have any suggestions on developing the Soul Pillars a little more? My players just discovered the lesser pillars last night.

The cleric cast detect evil on the pillars...and I wasn't sure what response to give. Luckily it was at the end of the session so I was able to beg off of an answer until next time in two weeks.

I'm thinking that the pillars would radiate evil...but how much? What about magic?

Anyone else come up with some ideas for these that I can, borrow?

I have a player in my Shackled City game whose character is a level 12 wizard. He is wishing to create the following item, which I am looking for input on.

He wants to create something that will take up the neck slot that basically acts as an always on shield spell. I'm very hesitant about an item such as this, but agreed to at least research it.

According to the creation rules as written it seems pretty straight forward to make it. I am aware that these rules are simply guidelines, but for the sake of argument let's look at them.

The magic item creation rules say that for an item that is continuous or use activated the formula is:

spell level x caster level x 2,000

So for a continuous shield spell the formula looks like this:

1 x 1 x 2,000 = 2,000

But for an item based on a spell that has a duration of 1 minute/level we need to multiply the total price by 2.

So the total price of the item is 4,000gp by the RAW as far as I can tell.

This seems underpriced to me. He gains a +4 shield bonus to AC that also protects against touch and incorporeal attacks as well as effectively being immune to magic missile spells.

Looking at similar items I find the ring of force shield, which grants only a +2 bonus to AC and nothing else, costs 8,500gp. So it reinforces my opinion that the item by the rules is underpriced.

Any advice on a realistic market price for something like this?

Sorry if this is not the place to post this, or if it has been already posted. I didn't see it anywhere. Please move this to the appropriate place if necessary.

In the Beta, page 16, under the heading of Weapon and Armor Proficiency for the Bard, it states that the bard does not incur spell failure chance while wearing light armor and using a shield. It then goes on to state that a Bard does incur the normal spell failure chance when wearing medium or heavy armor or using a shield.

Does the shield incur the spell failure chance or not?

Not sure if this is an intentional change or not, but Spring Attack now draws no attacks of opportunity for movement. It used to be that by using the feat you would only negate AoO's from the defender.

This means that a character can now waltz through a mob of enemies without fear of attacks as long as he takes a swing at one of them along the way.

There seems to be way too much abuse potential with this. Any thoughts? Did I miss something about the reasoning behind this along the way?

Two questions, actually.

How does Empower Spell interact with shillelagh?

How would you go about pricing a permanent shillelagh?

Is it intentional to allow these two feats to work together?

Here's my situation:

Fighter level 2 (BAB +2)
Strength 18 (+4 modifier)
Has both Power Attack & Overhand Chop as feats
weapon of choice is greatsword

Power Attack is not a Combat Feat, so it can be used in conjunction with Overhand Chop, correct?

This being the case, the fighter can take a -2 penalty on his attack rolls (which is his BAB, and add a +4 bonus to damage (because he is using a 2-handed weapon). He can also use his Overhand Chop feat at the same time to deal an additional 8 points of damage (twice his Strength modifier). So the 2nd level fighter is now doing 2d6+16 points of damage (because he also gets his normal +4 modifier from Strength). He takes a -2 on the attack roll and has to use a full round action to do this. Is this correct?

We just created characters last night, so haven't had a chance to playtest this yest. But the player of the fighter was a bit excited at the prospects. Can't say that I blame him. Of course, I can turn this right around and do it to them as well, I guess.

I just wanted to check to see if I am reading these feats correctly so that our playtest is accurate.

This may have been covered, but I missed it if it was.

Why is the multi-classing restriction still on the paladin? I've heard it over and over since the beginning of 3E that the multi-classing restrictions on paladins and monks were only there as a left-over from previous editions and it was not a balance issue at all. I just don't understand why a paladin can't multi-class freely just like everyone else. I know they can multi-class, but then they can't ever take paladin levels again, and that doesn't make sense to me.

I know we can house-rule it away...which I have, with no adverse effect. I was just curious why the restriction is still there for the Alpha rules? And can we expect to see it still on the monk as well?

I was trying to place an order since today is the last day of the sale (which I just discovered that it was I thought I missed it), but I am unable to as the site will not process my card payment. I am trying to use a debit card, so that may be the issue...but it does not have a 3 digit verification code on it, and being Sunday my bank's offices are closed to help me.

Am I stuck? I cannot use a different method of payment, and waiting until the bank is open (or Paizo's offices are open) will mean that the sale will be expired.

So, is there anything that can be done? Thanks for any help.