Adaro

Ragash's page

Organized Play Member. 13 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


James Jacobs wrote:


Mimicry is intended to be a monster ability, not a player character ability, and so no, you don't get to use it to its full advantage. If you can cast monstrous physique spells, you can cast other spells to change shape and you should use that method rather than trying to backdoor a spell into doing more than it's intended to allow.

Thanks for your Reply Mr.Jacobs

I was referring on the very text of monstrous physique spells:

"If the form you assume has any of the following abilities, you gain the listed ability: [...] Mimicry, Sound Mimicry, [...]"

And not some cheesy methods to go beyond the scope of the spells itself.

Since the Dopplegange(monstrous humanoid) its the only monster that would give a pc this ability, and it refers to "racial hit dice" for his Caster Level, I was quite puzzled of the outcome.

Thanks again for your time and sorry to bother you with these things


Hello Mr.Jacobs

I've a question regarding Monstrous Physique II, II and IV on Pf1, please dont disintegrate me:
You could cast one of those to become a Doppelganger.
It would net you the "Mimicry" Special Quality (because the spell permit it).

the problem is that Mimicry says:
"Its caster level is equal to its racial Hit Dice"

And as a Pc, probably I won't have Racial hit dices at all.

How to count my Cl? Does it mean I can't use Mimicry even if the spell openly declare it?

Thanks for your time!


Hello guys, i've recently noticied that with the last reprint paizo removed "Gaze Attacks" from the "Aura" section of the monster entry, let them be only a specific kind of Special Attacks and that kinda "broke" the gaze's flow in combat:

given the text:

"Each opponent within range of a gaze attack must attempt a saving throw each round at the beginning of his or her turn in the initiative order"

imagine a scenario where a creature is battling a basilisk.

1)The creature approaching/Charging into the Basilisk, does she trigger the gaze attack?

2)Given the wording of Gaze, the creature can in her turn moves in and out of the gaze attack range and not triggering it if she ends her turn outside the range of the gaze?

It seems very strange to me that paizo suddenly encouraging players to charge into basilisks, given that before the reprint, being Gaze a kind of "aura" suggested that it could trigger as soon as a creature entered it.

what is the correct interpretation in a Raw point of view? any faqs?

thanks for your time, and be kind for my english


@Cavall

it's not really a problem, since he could do it at lvl 10 (both requiment will be meet)

the point is how to read that sentence on the martial flex/barrom brawler

if that "doesn't possess" mean simply "take a feat you dont have" or "it MUST a feat you already desn't have"


to clarify and to reduce the question to the very basic:

""A brawler can take a move action to gain the benefit of a combat feat she doesn’t possess."

it must be read as:

"She can take the benefit of a feat she doesn't have"

or

"She can take the benefit of a feat she doesn't already have"


the core of the discussion orbitated around the concept:

Our Fighter gained at lvl 4 Barroom Brawler
then at lvl 5 Advanced Weapon Training (Feat) to get Abundant Tactics (Ex)

lastly he want to use Barroom Brawler to get again Advanced Weapon Training (Feat) to get Item Mastery for 1 minute

since Advanced Weapon Training could be taken more than one times, and linked to a different king of "training" (just as weapon focus) it seems the intended way to use it.

i wonder if there is any officiale stance on it :/


Hi guys, last night during the play my group and me had a discussion about barroom brawler and martial flexibility

Some of my friends thinks that you cant "flex" in a feat which you already posses even if the feat can explicitally be taken multiple time.

here the text of barroom brawler

"Once per day as a move action, you can gain the benefit of a combat feat that you do not possess for 1 minute. You must otherwise meet all of the feat’s requirements."

and Martial Flexibility
"A brawler can take a move action to gain the benefit of a combat feat she doesn’t possess. This effect lasts for 1 minute. The brawler must meet all the feat’s prerequisites."

my stands is that those are not limitations, but rather indication, and for example you could take another weapon focus (something) even if you already posses another weapon focus.

i've already looked for faqs, but i cannot find anything more explicit that will clarify our doub.

probably my friends are right from a pure "Raw" point of view, but it seems to be that it will be out of the scope of the feature itself.

any help?


Still no faq?


Sorry guys, I forgot to mention something really important in my example:

Let's consider the rogue to be using stealth (I talked about states of awareness cause of that dettail)


Hi guys, I have a tricky question for you:

A mage is required to be aware of danger to use, for example, emergency force sphere( EFS from now)?

I ask this cause i know it not possible to use any immediate action if caught flat footed, so I was wondering if it's the same case if you are denied your bonus to dex?

To be more specific, would be an error to consider a mage "unable to react" if attacked by a rogue during, let's say the 3rd round of combat, if the mage is totally unaware of the rogue?

And what if the mage is only aware of location?

Thanks for your time!


Ragash wrote:

Hi Mr. Jacobs

i've a question about "Immediate Actions"

a creature flat-footed cannot takes immediate action, cause it cannot "react to a blow".

so a creature has to be able to "see" an enemy to beneficiate from an immediate action?

for example:

>No surprise/first round<

a rogue using stealth (beating the mage perception) shoot a dart from his crossbow to the mage for a sneak attack

would the mage be allowed to use "Emergency Force Sphere" to interrupt the attack?

Thank you, and keep up with the great work!

Sorry to auto-quoting, cannot edit the post and i noticied that my question was not clear enough:

> the scene is happening not during surprire round, or the first round

> what if the Mage is totally unaware of the Rogue?
> and if the Mage is simply aware of presence?

Thanks!


Hi Mr. Jacobs

i've a question about "Immediate Actions"

a creature flat-footed cannot takes immediate action, cause it cannot "react to a blow".

so a creature has to be able to "see" an enemy to beneficiate from an immediate action?

for example:

>No surprise/first round<

a rogue using stealth (beating the mage perception) shoot a dart from his crossbow to the mage for a sneak attack

would the mage be allowed to use "Emergency Force Sphere" to interrupt the attack?

Thank you, and keep up with the great work!