Count Lucinean Galdana

PrinceofVisigon's page

14 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Hey, had 2 quick questions. 1. You only get the "Extra" attack when you combine Spell Strike and Spell Combat (IE can take a full round action) Correct? 2. How many attacks do you get if you have Speed active on your blade? (Level 10. 'Touch Attack', 2 Base Attacks AND Speed attack?)


Loving the Magus discussion. Learning so much :D. Wanted to let you all know this matter seems to have finally been resolved in my favor. Will keep updated with any other rules questions.


Ya. He's saying that free action is used to channel the spell into the sword basically. Interpreting the rule as a magus is allow to make touch attacks with his weapon, but not grant him the extra attack.


Ya. What sparked all this was me trying to use Arcane Mark to "Mark" my opponent. Marco (my Magus) wears a purple cloak with a silver star on it. I was hoping that a trait of his would be that he tends to 'mark' enemies with that silver star. But, well you guys know the rest of the story.


You guys mention Arcane Mark. It's true that (when played properly) Arcane Mark can be used for the 'extra attack'?


Ya...I'm posting this question in the right place yes?


Thanks Starglim. As a minor update, I've told him to post here. But he doesn't seem to trust these forums for some reason.


Question related as well. The "extra" attack. What bonuses does the Magus get to it? if any.


No one else in this group is backing me mostly due to being new to Pathfinder. The one veteran player is backing him. Also @Nefreet what's the Design Team? I take it they do the rules?


Well, he's not 'house ruling' it. He referred me to the Magus page for an official FAQ from Paizo and seemingly has not taken my suggestion to post his ruling on this board. Not trying to grief him, I know DM is a hard position to play (doing it myself too) just frustrating when it won't even be admitted that I'm right on this matter and the other characters in the campaign are very powerful half beings, powerful magic users or a combination of that. Not supposed to turn into a venting session. But I wanted you all to know I really appreciate the input.


I decided to create another character to continue the campaign who would actually help. I created a magus; firstly, because it fit my character (I am big in role play), secondly, for it's rules. I felt the double attack makes it a very useful asset to the group. I am running into the problem that my DM is still denying me my secondary attack. What is your advice? Thank you for all your rulings above.


Thanks guys, I REALLY appreciate the clarification. I really don't mind if this gets DM overruled, but I just wanted to make sure I was in the right rules wise on my argument for this. I can see how it could be considered OP though.


@Nefreet What they're arguing though is that I can use that spell (Shocking Grasp for example) as a regular 'touch' spell attack itself. But not channel through my blade as the touch attack.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hey guys, I know this question has already been addressed in a few forums. I've shown my DM them, and he still doesn't believe me. But I want to get an actual confirmation on this board. The Magus' Spell Combat/Spell Strike abilities allow him to cast a touch spell through his sword (As a sword strike attack) AND THEN get his full round of attacks (In this case 2 as a level 9 character). If someone could confirm or deny this for me that would be great as my DM and another veteran player doesn't believe me when I poise this, saying the forums are only for 'house rules'.