NopeDK's page

Organized Play Member. 24 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 20 Organized Play characters.



The Exchange

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

This has been somewhat clarified before but I feel that it left something out.
I will use italics as reference to sections, paragraphs and sentences on the online prd.

The FAQ states that for the purposes of a single weapon, the enchantment Impact and Lead Blades do not stack, as the item is essentially under a permanent Lead Blades spell.
Core -> Magic -> Combining Magic Effects -> Same effect more than once in differing strengths

But what if there are multiple magical items that all use the same spell on the same wearer?
Let us reuse Impact from before, what if the wielder of an Impact weapon becomes the target of a Bull's Strength?
As the spell does not target the weapon but the wielder, you gain both bonuses. (I have never heard of it not been done this way). This means that magical items with a required spell does not infer that the wielder is under the spell as well for it to work.

Then what happens when you dual wield two Menacing weapons?
Following the previous question, it should stack as it is not the wielder that is under the effect of the spells but each item is subject to its own spell, and then the items each grant untyped bonuses, which should stack as per Core -> Magic -> Special Spell Effects -> Bonus Types -> last sentence but what I always encounter is GMs saying they would not stack "as they are the same source". But are they? It is two different weapons, which could have different enchantments and both having Menacing, the creation spell is not not inferred on the wielder so the sources are two different objects, both providing untyped bonuses.

Then what happens with identical items?
Would the previous weapons no longer stack if they are identically enchanted due to the "same source" part or do they not stack at all as the enchantment on the weapon actually does infer something on the wielder disallowing this?

What about two Rings of Tactical Precision? They both provide untyped bonuses, if the spell is not inferred on the player than they should stack but again most rule they do not. Why not? They are different objects, providing untyped bonuses to the wielder.

What I am looking for an official answer to is:
What counts as a "source" for the purposes of stacking?
Does an enchantment count the enchantment as a source for the wielder or only the object?
In extension: What about magical items, they are not spells but objects under a spell like the previous enchantments, is the item now a source for the wielder?

What I would expect:
Lead Blades and Impact do not stack as the enchantment is considered a source of an identical spell on the object. The enchantment is counted as a source for the object and not the wielder. Casting Bull's Strength on the wielder works normally as the enchantment does not infer the spell on the wielder, therefore it would be two Bull's Strengths affecting different targets (like Mass Bull's Strength).

Two Menacing weapons would stack due to the previous logic, the enchantment is a source for the object, not the wielder, and therefore using two of them would stack as they are untyped bonuses.

Two Rings of Tactical Precision would stack, again due to the previous logic, it is the rings that are the target of the spells, not the wielder and it should therefore stack, again due to untyped bonuses.

In any of the previous expectations where changed to a typed bonus, then all of them would not stack as you only take the highest bonus for a given type. The bonus to Profession (Soldier) from the rings would not stack as they are the same type.

The Exchange

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Hello all,

I recently saw a discussion regarding the Rod of Wonder's reduce size:

Quote:
66–69 Reduce wielder two size categories (no save) for 1 day.

What magic school (if any) does this effect belong to?

I was hoping it would match the other size changers and be Transmutation (Polymorph) but:
  • One I asked said that he would take it as pure Transmutation and apply the reverse of the Ability Score modification listed in the "Size Changes" table in the Magic section.
  • Another just mentioned Transmutation without any further information.

(If it belongs to Polymorph, there would be no Ability Score modification as it is not listed)

Second, what is the range of the:

Quote:
63–65 Any nonliving object of up to 1,000 pounds of mass and up to 30 cubic feet in size turns ethereal.

Would like to "open" doors and not kill myself doing it xD

Thanks =)

The Exchange

Hello everyone,

As per the title, how would a single natural attack interact with an Agile Amulet of Mighty Fists?

Agile, per RAW, only has exceptions for two-handed and off-handed attacks, and I can't seem to find a FAQ/Errata/clarification regarding this issue.

Thanks

The Exchange

Hello everyone

This is gonna be a simple and complex one.

Feral Combat Training allows a monk to use a Natural Attack with his Flurry of Blows.

The FAQ for FCT states: "Feral Combat Training allows you to use the selected natural attack as if it were a monk weapon (snip)".

Brawler's Martial Training states: "She also counts as both a fighter and a monk for feats and magic items that have different effects based on whether the character has levels in those classes (snip)".

Brawler's Flurry states: "(snip) or weapons with the "monk" special feature. She does not need to use two different weapons to use this ability. (snip)".

Will this combination allow me to use a natural attack with my Brawler's Flurry?

If not, is there anyway that I can gain the Brawler's Flurry for my Natural Attack?

Thanks

Addi Quillicus has not participated in any online campaigns.