Greets all, I looked thru the posts to see if I can get some insight on a situation my group will soon face. The group is going to come up against a small colony of rust monsters. I looked over the beastiary, looked in the threads and I did not get any definitive answers, so I will pose my questions to see if you can help mw with this: 1. Rust monster has antennae +6 touch (rust) attack Does this mean they make a normal touch attack against ? ? ?
2. Also this "The object touched takes half its maximum hp in damage and gains the broken condition—a second hit destroys the item." The 2 attacks don't have to come from the same rust monster (does it)? Asa I mention there will be a few of these creatures and I am planning on having them come in waves or different directions, so a piece of armor or weapon may get targeted (hit) by a different Rust Monster. What I want to make sure that I understand correctly is that if I state that a weapon being hit by a RM has the broken condition, that if a different rust monster hits the same weapon then it got destroyed. The way I see this playing out would be like this:
Am I correct in this form of thinking or am I shouting Touchdown at a baseball game ? Thanks for any help :-)
I would suggest a feat that applies to one weapon that would increse the crit modifier by 1. This could be with a weapon that you have greater focus (or weapon of choice class feature)[if it still exists] and another that increases the die type by 1 after having greater specialization with the weapon. for the feats above, maybe include imp crit as a pre-req as well. Just some ideas as well :-)
Here is a question I have been trying to answer by going thru these rules forums. As a warpriest, does having a sacred weapon override the need for needing exotic weap prof? I have seen various posts about using a scorpion whip (or just a whip for that matter) but none of them are stating that they need to take EWP feat. Some point out how to be a human and take the extra feat for purposes that will help wield the weapon better, but no mention of EWP. I have a game in which a person wants to use the hand crossbow as a sacred weapon (non-drow) and informed the PC about needing EWP, but the PC stated that they will take Weap Focus to make it a sacred weapon. I am inclined to allow it, since in the warpriest write up it states that any weapon you take weap focus can be a sacred weapon, but I don't want it to get abused in my games. What do youall think? Mind you I did read the write-up and looked thru the forums, but I was unable to find anything concrete on this matter. Thanks for any help on this matter :-)
With Jeva, I had the party help her as the poor unfortunate survivor of the orphanage. She told the group of the kobold that took the children, as she would like the PCs to track them down and then she can feed on all of them. What the group did was try to take her back to the Hollows, part way there she decided to attack them. Two of the PCs had the daggers from the orphanage and one had the manacles. Between the three and the spell-caster, they manage to hurt her enough that she decided to run away. I let her escape as I plan on her bringing back other werewolves to harrass the party and also to act as a medium between two of my mods for the ongoing campaign.
Hehehehe, I really like these series of modules and once again I start with a new group and planning on playing thru these again. I am going over some of the mods people have mentioned to see how they may fit into how I run my games. One thing I like is the possibilities of what happens with the children hat were taken and how they may affect the town in the future, maybe having the group re-visit the Hollows and a new set of terror arising from the seeds planted in the children (?) Just some ideas :-)
Rumpin - character is an 8th level caster that has the ability to craft magical blades. As far as the weapon itself, I was thinking along the lines of an additional die type (D4 or D6) or the base damage of the weapon only. So if I use a scimitar then the damage dealt by the scimitar prior to any other bonus would be the only thing that would transfer over. Half of the damage dealt would be very high as the character in question uses a weapon 2-handed and has a 20 strength, the PC deals 17-24 points of damage on normal hits so that would mean 8 HPs healed (minimum) per hit. I was thinking of going with the weapon being infused with a power to drink in the essence of those it strikes and having the base damage of the weapon transfer over, instead of adding more damage die to the over-all damage output.
Quick question on how to handle this idea. Back in the day there used to be a ring called a ring of regeneration (like what you can find in pathfinder), but there were a few that were rings of vampiric regeneration. These had the ability to heal the wearer based on the damage they dealt. I do not recall if it was a full transfer or half, but the idea was that if you hit someone for 10 points of damage you would heal 5 or 10 HPs. Now I have a PC in a friends game that has the ability to make magical swords and was wondering how to implement this within a pathfinder game. Looking at the vampiric gloves, I was thinking of doing something similar usinf the same method of making the gloves, but substituing the sword in place of the gloves. Does this seem reasonable? Any other idea or suggestions on how to do this? Thanks for any help on this.
I have a question about the abilities some classes can add to their weapons (currently I beleive that the warpriest and the magus benefit from this). The warpriest has the ability to add certain enhancements to their sacred weapon. If a weapon you have is not of the type to normally use that enhancement is it not available or would it mean that the power of the faith of the follower will allow it? Point in case:
The above situation could apply if the WarPriest's weapon was a mace and the keen (P or S) was attempted to be used.
Kestral - theonly blood-lines that ahve been written up have always been geared towards the sorcerer (as they were the ony class to benefit from them) now that the bloodrager exist, there are no bloddlines written up for a bloodrager, they are to use the ones that have always existed (that belong to the sorcerer and most think it is a sorcerer exclusive ability).
Just in case I am also of the belief that bloodline should be an ability that manifest itself in certain individuals (regardless of class, currently sorcerer and bloodrager) and work as stated in the blood-line write up. That is to say that the power of the angels, or demons, or dragon flows thru your vains and stop right there, not to say that the power of the angels, and demons, and dragons flows thru your vains, but it is different if yo uare a sorcerer or a blood rager. The class will describe when (and if) you attain an ability. A dragon looking over a sorcerer and a bloodragers "The force is strong within you, yung padawan." :-)
Jbadams - The blood rager chooses a blood-line, where does it come from??? The only ones written were for the sorcerer. He chooses a bloodline that falls under the sorcererous heading and has those abilities at a slightly lower progression. What I mean by different would be that at 1st level a sorcerer with the draconic blood lines gets a claw attack and a the first bloodline power for a Blood rager would be "Immunity to magic sleep effects and paralysis effects" The second blood-line power for the sorcerer would be Dragon resistance at 3rd, for the Bloodrager it could be "Frightful Presence" In this instance I would agree with everybody that the blood-rager draconic blood-line would not be the same as the sorcerers draconic blood-line because they are written up as different blood-lines, but to say that they both use the same blood-line, but advance slower so pretend it is not the same is a bit lazy. If it were not meant to be the same (that is to treat blood-lines as blood-lines regardless of how one is benefiting from it) then the write-up of one blood-line should be different enough from the oher so that there is an ability difference (as well as a when aquired difference if any are similar). Kestral, was not saying both would go up, just one :-)
I have seen this debate a few times, but unless there is an entirely different sets of write ups, such as a sorcerers draconic bloodline which is different in writing as well as a blood ragers draconic bloodline, there is no different bloodline. all it says in the blood ragers write up is "A bloodrager must pick one bloodline upon taking his first level of bloodrager" The fact that they gain their abilities at different points then a sorcerer is fines since it is not a sorcerer, but it is the same things at different levels. If it is suppose to be different, then a new set of blood lines should be written up showing that their powers and abilities are different so that one cn say that they do not overlap or stack with each other because they are different in their write ups. Just my 2 cents worth... but thanks for the reply.
I have a question when it comes to PrC and adding a level of spell casting. I have two examples of classes and would like to know which of the two is the correct one. Ex: Spontaneous arcane caster meeting requirements for Drag Disc. Let's say he is a level 7 Sorcerer, he has enough XPs to become a level 8 character and chooses the Dragon Disciple. Since it does not say +1 level of existing casting class, would that mean that if he cast fireball he would still deal 7d6 instead of 8d6? and when he is level 2 Drag Disc and gets a +1 to existing casting class he would be a level 9 character, but cast spells as a level 8 (so said fireball would be 8d6 at that time and not a 9d6) Also if the class is a divine caster and has a PrC that has the same verbage only when the special column has +1 to existing casting class is when the levels stack to determine the strength of the spell?
The feat has the following statement:
Just in case I think it is the first one, but if I am wrong I would like to know.
Nope, did look thru several forums and I understand it to mean that the Bane quality of the inquisitor does that... increases the to hit and damage by +2 and add an additional 2d6 to the creature yiu used your bane quality against. I knew of the additional 2d6, but was not sure of the +2 bonus (never really crossed my mind), but someone in my group has that ability and asked about it. Thanks for the help :-)
Hey all, I was looking thru the forums here to find out some information about a situation I will have in one of my games, here is the background info: Have a Dhamphir PC that has the bane class feature, my questions are as follows, The bane ability causes the weapon wielded to be treated as a +2 to hit and damage better then it is (as well as the 2D6 for the bane itself) {discovered this searching the forums} As a Dhamphir among his/her peers someone channels positive energy to heal the group. What will this do to the Dhamphir? Since it is positive energy to heal will the dhamphir be harmed because positive energy does not heal them, or will nothing happen as it was meant to heal insted of harm? then if the channel was done to harm undead, will it hurt the dhamphir or will it nothing happen? I have seen a lot on this matter and various points of view, some along the line that since the dhamphir was not targeted to be harmed (positive to harm undead) that nothing happens and since positive energy was used to heal living, the dhamphir was not affected. {could not find an answer on this} Lastly the group she is in found a note in a language they do not speak, how can they try to dicipher it without using magical aid? Looked around and could not find something along the lines of the old 3.0/3.5 days in which there used to be a dicipher text/language ability. I guess I could use linguistic, but that isn't really covered (when I checked). Any info would be greatly appreciated.
After I posted I saw a few others on this as well, personally I don't like it. I always treated SA as a weapon penetrating the body and striking vital orgns inside therefore delivering more damage. It is kind of wierd that before the weapon even penetrates a critter it already does damage :-( Like the example with the werewolf, if you are using a normal dagger which will not penetrate the skin of the critter due to its DR 10/silver, I find it that because you plan on punturing the spleen that it now can penetrate the skin and get to the juicy parts inside. I know I can always rule 0 this in my games if I want, but just find it ironic that a rogue can penetrate the skin of a critter that is almost toatlly immune to that type of damage (as in the example with a dagger and a +2 strength). Just my opinion, even though rules say otherwise :-)
Awesome thanks :-) Sorry but one more, if critter has DR and someone attacks said critter and damage is not enough to hurt it, what would happen if there were other parts? example: Zombie is standing guard at a door and rogue comes up for a sneak attack with a piercing weapon, since zombie has a DR5/slashing, the piercing weapon is not going to be as effective, assume rogue deals 4 damage (zombie does not even notice) SA kicks in for (let's say) 2D6, dealing 7 more points. Does the zombie ignore the whole things since the initial attack did not penetrate (therefore negating the additional damage) or is this treated as other damage independant of the initial damage? What I see then is that two rogues with normal weapons beating the crap out of poor wolfie (from example above) by flanking and juking it with daggers and dealing SA damage over and over, even though the weapons themselves are ineffective (if option 2 above is correct).
Looking at this now I have a question to clarify what I just read. PCs encounter a werewolf, this creature has DR 10/silver, I know that with non-silver and non-magical weapons the creature ignores the first 10 points of damage ffrom a source. Now based on the table for overcoming damage reduction, if the group is not in possesion of a silver or a +3 or greater weapon, the DR is still effective? Example: Fighter 1 with normal weapon deals 12 points of damage, wolf takes 2 Fighter 2 deals 8 points of damage from a silver weapon and wolf takes all 8 Fighter 3 deal 13 points with a +1 weapon and wolf take only 3? Fighter 4 deals 14 points with a +2 weapon and wolf takes only 4? and fighter 5 with his +3 weapon deals normal (full) damage?
Quick question about this archetype, to start of a druid gains an animal companion and when the druid reaches level 7, the companion grows (or advances) This is easy since a druid has 1 companion. Now in the case of the archetype, it can have more then 1 companion as long as their combined levels are not greater then the druids level (level 5 druid can have a lvl 3 and level 2 animal companion, 1 level 5 AC, a level 4 and 1 level 1, etc) Now if I have a level 6 Pack lord with 2 animals companions, what would happen when the druid becomes level 7? Would both animals gain an advancement? or would it be when one of them reaches the advancement level? In this case the two animals have an advancement at level 4 (Owl) and a level 7 (Roc), and the druid is a level 6 ruid with the packlord archetype. Any help would be most helpful
My bad, now that you pointed it out, I see it.... must have had the "hide in plain sight" ability going on there :-) Planning on playiing a warpriest so I have a few other questions, the sacred weapon ability states, "These bonuses stack with any existing bonuses the weapon might have, to a maximum of +5. The warpriest can enhance a weapon with any of the following weapon special abilities: brilliant energy, defending, disruption, flaming, frost, keen, and shock." This comes right after the ending of the previous paragraph that mentions enhancing the weapon upto a +5. Does that apply only to the numerical value or to the weapons total output as far as all enhancements? Example, an 8th level Warpriest has a weapon and decides to enhance it, can he only add upto +2 enhancement bonuses (numerical or otherwise), if so that would mean that he would have to wait til level 16 before he can apply brilliant energy since it is a +4 enhancement?
To piggy back off of that, how much heal or damage do you do? It states the "how often" and where it is deriving it, but it does not really allude that the damage or healing would be based of fervor. on the other hand if it uses up two fervor actions, would it be the amout that fervor does (x2). Example, Warpriest level 8 with a +4 wis mod, meaning he has 8 fervor uses.
I am inclined to beleive that channeling cost two fervors and only channels out what ever amount youwould normally heal with fervor, but in a radius (thus the cost of an extra fervor). Just looking for clarifiction.
Question about the feat "Slashing Grace"... I understand how it helps with slashing weapons to make them finessable, but my question is with this part,
does that mean that only the slashing weapons that this feats opens up to be finessable can take advantage of the dex for damage, or does it allow all your finessable weapons to take dex to damage??
Using Sacred weapon with Kukris will give me the same output as rapiers, both finessable and both D6s. With a swashbuckler dip, I would use scimitars, same numbers as above (as far as damage die and crit range). As far as the dual enchant, I took it to mean that if you have two weapons (one in each hand) that when you use the enhance ability at 4th level to give your weapon a +1, that that one action (use) will apply to both weapons and that you would be able to do this for the next 3 rds (for a total of 4)... am I wrong in reading it that way?
Understand the rules as they are written, but I find it wierd that if you wanted to play a swashbuckler wielding a dagger or kukri, or gladius that then you could not take advantage of the slashing grace because they fall in the light category. On another note, slashing grace mentions you need weapon finesse as a pre-req, how would that apply in this situation: Level 1 human swashbuckler with swashbuckler finesse
Also once that is done, that would mean that in the above example I would use Dex on attacks and damage with the scimitar ??
Ahhh, so having multiple weapons (in this case two, one for each hand) the enhancement applies to both since it is enhancing the weaponkind (sp), but the enchantment (icy, acidic, or some such thing) is individual. Did see that, but was still a bit unclear if the numerical bonus applied to more then one weapon if it was the same type of weapon. Thanks.
I have seen a few post already about the sacred weapon and how it interacts with yo weapon fighting and double weapons. I started going thru them as I was wondering how a situation would be handled, but I could not find it. If you have weapon focus short sword or kukri or some such small light 1 handed weapon and you are fighting with two of the same weapon, would sacred bonus apply to the weapon you are focused in (in this case both of them) or do you still choose to apply to only one? I can go both ways with this, but just wanted to ask to make sure, seems that the wording in many of these implies that they are refering to two different weapons, but you know what they say about "assume" :-)
I use it and I like it. It gives a better unpredictability when it comes to crits as they may do more then just knock down hit points. Imagine the game when one of your players crits (and succeeds with this book) and the arrow flys true and knocks the weapon from an enemy's hand or pierces his heart! Really great for playing out epic scenes :-)
Anyone can surmise, but as pointed out when everyone like to point out "Read as Written" all abilities state if they work only in blood rage mode and some do not make that caveat. Is it an oversight, some would say yes, others would say it was done on purpose to know the difference. Until such a time as someone within Piazo makes a clarification, it can be taken both ways.
A lot of this is like bringing up the "Ex Post Facto" law... but in reverse The bloodlines where a nice twist for sorcerer when Pathfinder took of and became a staple after DD 3.5 There are things now that did not exist then so wording is not forward compatible. I think that if you have a bloodline, then it is a bloodline period, no distinction between the bloodrager and the sorcerer. Some PRC require that you have the ability to cast arcane spells, but it does not specify if it is from wizards schools, sorerous insight, or bards performance... it is all arcane. The fact that the Drag Disc PRC came out before the Bloodrager should not stop it from being considered as having a bloodline. I am in agreement with bleeding sun above and think that option 2 is the one that makes most sense and is what should be applied as a basis of how the PRC should interact with the bloodrager.
Yeah I saw that, but had to ask... still think it is cheesy that if you can do something, you need select it again because name is different :-( I think to much thought went into each "rule" and not enough into the synergy of different aspects. I guess this follows the same division in thought as the bloodragers "bloodline" vs the sorcerous "bloodline", is a bloodline a bloodline or are the bloodlines different. meh, food for thought :-)
Sorry for the necro, but if a feat has a pre-req that you meet via another form besides a feat will it work? here is the example (and situation I am looking at)
SO here is what I was wondering, a Suli race (energy resistance 5 to acid, colde, electric, fire) with this class at level 8 he opts for the two rage powers, since he meets the pre-req for energy resistance, can he take energy resistance greater without needing to take energy resistance lesser?
|