LtSmokin's page

Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber. Organized Play Member. 16 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 2 Organized Play characters.


RSS


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

Page 170 in the alphabetical list of ranger feats, both "To the Ends of the Earth" and "Triple Threat" have the same background color, instead of the alternating back-and-forth coloration.

My guess is a feat got removed/added/renamed and got missed.

Really appreciate the work VestOfHolding :)


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
KingTreyIII wrote:

Okay, can someone make sense of Jamirah's tactics for me?

1) "Once in melee combat, she uses her
Stand Still feat to prevent opponents from getting within
her longspear’s reach." Does this mean that she tries to keep the beatsticks from getting adjacent to her by keeping them in her spear's threatened squares? If so, then...
2) How? From Stand Still: "When a foe provokes an attack of opportunity due to moving through your adjacent squares..." She can only use it with adjacent squares, WHICH SHE DOESN'T THREATEN!

FYI this is my first time GMing an ongoing AP, campaign, or whatever, and I'm running it for people who are very experienced with the game (a 5 star in PFS and a 2 star who's also a VA), so I'm looking over tactics and combats entire books in advance.

I'm in a very similar situation as you, 1st time GM and very experienced group.

From what I've been able to gather is the character was designed with 3.5e 'Stand Still' in mind; which contains different wording of:
"Benefit: When a foe’s movement out of a square you threaten grants you an attack of opportunity, you can give up that attack and instead attempt to stop your foe in his tracks."

I think I might just give her the 3.5e feat and when the inevitable 'that's now how that works' happens I'll explain I wanted to keep the core of the character.

If you want to keep things within the rules of PF only, I'd suggest looking at a different feat instead, since 'Stand Still' won't trigger as often as the character build was intending, IMO.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

Which is why I am going with the figment Tattoo familiar to bluff baddies and the poppet to prepare witch spells.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
Galnörag wrote:
...Helpful Advice...

Me and my GM reached an agreement on how we're going to proceed with assistance from the thread I started shortly before he posted his own thread on the same question.

My original idea was to go the sage route with my witch's familiar, but once I learned the tattoo sorcerer was allowed I couldn't pass the thematic opportunity so I'm taking sorcerer at level 1. I then saw the comedic value in a figment tattoo pretending to be the witch's familiar while in actuality is nothing more than imaginary magical ink.

I was then informed that the grave-walker archetype is being allowed, which had been disallowed in our current game which recently ended. And since the spell poppet replaces the normal arcane bond-like witch's familiar ability the class levels wouldnt stack and prevent me from having the figment tattoo.

So....... I'm going to go pretty much full gravewalker witch except with a single dip in tattoo sorc for shenanigans.

Now to make a figment tumor familiar....


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
Gauss wrote:
I already answered that LtSmokin. In that case you have one class with a Familiar and one class without. It would be no different than if you had a Sorcerer/Fighter.

Derp, must have looked over that in your previous post. Thanks for the answers!


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
Gauss wrote:

GinoA, the problem here is that this is not two different class features. They are the same compatible class feature.

It is the player's choice of choosing an incompatible familiar archetype that is the problem. The familiar archetype should go.

To put this another way:
Lets assume you are a Sorcerer3/Witch3 and you had a single (effectively level 6) familiar.
The familiar dies.
Can you select a new familiar with the Figment archetype? No.
Can you take two familiars to get around the figment archetype restriction? No, the classes familiar abilties stack because they are compatible so you must select a familiar that can be used for both classes.

Would this situation be the same if the Witch took the Gravewalker Archetype, as that class archetype has an ability that replaces Witch's Familiar?


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

Oh uh.... Hey there DM....

My Thread on same topic.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

Would the interaction work differently if the Witch was the Gravewalker Archetype?


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/magicItems/magicItemCreation.html

http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/feats.html#craft-magic-arms-and-armor

1)You use the feat, Craft Magic Arms and Armor, to enhance the masterwork item.

2)Cost of adding a +1 enhancement to an masterwork weapon is Bonus Squared x 2,000g. So 2,000g base, cut that in half from your archetype. 1,000g

3)The DC to create a magic item is 5 + the caster level for the item. If you are required to be 3x the enhancement mod, 3rd caster level, the DC would be 8. This is lower than the DC to create a masterwork weapon because you are merely adding magical powers to a weapon, not creating a masterpiece of a crafting trade.

These are all assuming you currently have a masterwork weapon.

In personal experience it is much easier purchasing a masterwork weapon than spend time crafting one, but this would depend on the campaign being run and downtime available.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

Yea IMO it definitely appears to be a typographical error, as the two written and assumed intended purposes conflict in their effect.

Actually on second reading through and interpretation, perhaps the 10% spell failure on AOE spells you are inside of is because they are focused on you as their target and the spell is not targeting only you?


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
Byakko wrote:
Melkiador wrote:
I still think it qualifies as "not an action", since there is no action listed for touching yourself.

Hmmn, you count as your own ally.

Do you also count as your own friend?

Are we going to RAW or RAI this? I need to know how to apply this to my schizophrenic insanity character.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
Claxon wrote:
Ellioti wrote:

Dip two level of Master of Many Styles Monk for pummeling charge. Grab WF and feral combat training for using it with your natural weapon. Sadly i can't find an appropriate critter. It does also give WIS to AC.

Wolf shaman can take Travel domain and eventually go into Dimensional Dervish. Same if you take three levels of Horizon Walker.

Doesn't work.

Advanced Class Guide Errata wrote:

Change the Pummeling Charge feat’s Benefit

section to read “Benefit: You can charge and make a full
attack or f lurry of blows at the end of your charge as part
of the charge action. You can use Pummeling Charge
in this way only if all of your attacks qualify for using
Pummeling Style against a single target.” and change the
Normal section to read “Normal: You cannot make a full
attack on a charge.” Change the Pummeling Style feat’s
introduction to “Your unarmed strikes weave together
in an effortless combo, focusing on the spots you’ve
weakened with the last hit.” Change its Benefit section
to “Benefit: Whenever you use a full-attack action or
f lurry of blows to make multiple attacks against a single
opponent with unarmed strikes, total the damage from
all hits before applying damage reduction. This ability
works only with unarmed strikes, no matter what other
abilities you might possess.

Depending on the interpretation of "as well as effects that augment an unarmed strike." from Feral Combat Training. I'd rule Pummeling Charge augments unarmed strikes because you are doing something with Unarmed Strikes that you can't normally do without taking the feat (Pummeling Charge).


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

I've received my DM's ruling on how this will work for an upcoming campaign but am curious as to the general consensus of how this would work.

A level 1 Tattooed Sorcerer with a Figment familiar archetype takes his second level in the Witch class, to become Sorc 1/Witch 1

The Figment archetype from Familiar Folio states "a figment can never serve as a witch's familiar"

This doesn't prevent the character from taking a level in Witch, just prevents the tattoo familiar from serving as the Witch familiar/living-spellbook.

Would the character gain a second familiar to serve as his patrons conduit and familiar? Or would he be required to pick a new familiar and essentially lose the Figment archetype?


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber
Cap. Darling wrote:
In my Reading the packlord cannot even benefit from boon companion unless he is a multiclass since he is already at max level with his companion.

Boon companion raises the 'effective druid level' of the companion, not the person taking the feat. So a packmaster level 2, with his two points in separate companions and Boon Companion feat assigned to companion 1, would have Companion 1 = level 2 and Companion 2 = level 1.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

As a 5th level Cavalier (Huntmaster Archetype) I have two hounds who are performing admirably in combat but however currently are outpacing my 20ft move speed. I have decided to take a level in Nature Oracle to gain a mount. Would my Huntmaster feat stop applying to my dogs and now apply to my horse as per the description?

Quote:
Benefit: If you have the animal companion class feature, pick one of the following types of animal companions that this feat affects: bird, dog, small cat, or horse. If you have the divine bond (mount) or mount class feature, this feat always affects horses.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

Our Runelords campaign ended a few weeks ago, surprised Mark_Twain007 hasn't posted the last of our deaths in here.