Hawk

LostGamer's page

Organized Play Member. 25 posts (43 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 5 Organized Play characters.


RSS

Liberty's Edge

Happy Thanksgiving!

Liberty's Edge

OK, the DC is adjusted by the creature's Con modifier.
That makes sense.
Wish they had just said that...

Thanks!

Liberty's Edge

http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/monsters/darkStalker.html

PRD wrote:
Death Throes (Su) When a dark stalker is slain, its body combusts in a flash of white-hot flame. This acts like a fireball that deals 3d6 points of fire damage to all creatures within a 20-foot-radius burst. A DC 15 Reflex save halves this damage. A dark stalker's gear and treasure are unaffected by this explosion. This save is Constitution-based.

emphasis mine

This makes no sense to me: The DC 15 Reflex save is Dex based. To what save is the Con-based sentence referring?

Liberty's Edge 1/5

I always look to the Additional Resources to clearly identify what is legal & specifically not legal for Society play.

So please make it complete: "most of the Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook is legal for play (with some feat and spell exceptions)" yet it does not say what the exceptions are! It's not like those Core Rulebook exceptions are malleable and change every month...

Yes I could go hunting -- but shouldn't _all_ the exceptions be here, like the first sentence claims? PLEASE.

Liberty's Edge 1/5

Enevhar Aldarion wrote:
Mark has stated that most, if not all, of the situational rules from the old Guide were pulled from the new Guide because they did not apply to all characters and not everyone needed a copy of them complicating up the Guide and that they will be in the online official FAQ instead. He also said that any of the FAQ rules that apply to your character will need to be printed out and kept with that character for them to be legal. All of these special rules are still valid the way they were written in the last Guide, as far as I have seen from other posts, until the FAQ goes live. At that point, any changes made to those rules will become official and the old version no longer will be.

Pulling them out of one place might make sense for that place, but these rule deltas should be in the "Additional Resources" as that is where people will look for the changes from non-Society to Society-legal play...

Liberty's Edge

Umm, it doesn't sound quite so interesting then.

Thanks, folks!

Liberty's Edge

Source: Advanced Player's Guide page 76 wrote:
Ground Breaker (Rage, Ex): 6B, Once per rage, the barbarian can attack the floor around her as a standard action. This attack automatically hits and deals damage normally. If the barbarian manages to deal more damage than the floor’s hardness, the space she occupies and all of the squares adjacent to her become difficult terrain. Creatures in these squares, except the barbarian, must make a DC 15 Reflex save or be knocked prone. A barbarian must be at least 6th level to select this rage power.

So, this "Creatures in these squares must make a DC 15 Reflex save" sounds like friendly fire possible. Is that correct? as in allies in adjacent squares must also make a DC 15 reflex save?

"This attack automatically hits and deals damage normally." to what? all the "Creatures in these [adjacent] squares"? again does this also mean friendly fire possible?

and with what - the barbarian's equipped weapon of choice or unarmed? so I know what damage to calculate normally...

Thanks!

Liberty's Edge 1/5

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the errata.

Anyone else notice that Rogue is missing from Table 2-2 Hit Points?

Liberty's Edge

Jiggy wrote:

There is one very important difference, which makes the feat much better:

Sniper's Eye specifies ranged attacks only. Shadow Strike says no such thing, and therefore also applies in melee.

True, I am just glad that Shadow Strike is not limited to melee,as I want to use it with my bow.

Cheapy wrote:
Shadow Strike works with sniper goggles. If you're going for a ranged rogue, you'll be needing those goggles anyways. Snipers eye is restricted to 30' always, whereas sniper goggles let you sneak attack at any range.

Why would Shadow Strike require Sniper Goggles? -- it reads like it removes the need for them...

Dire Mongoose wrote:


Well, no. You can't retake a talent multiple times.

True, but There is a Combat Trick (taken) and a Combat Trick 2 so I can take it one more time.

Liberty's Edge

Yea, thank for all the help. It finally drilled in that even though it is called a trait, it isn't a trait bonus... Go figure.
And the Dwarf Craftsman trait is illegal for PFS play anyway.

But I am still glad to have the responses.

Liberty's Edge

OK, I got to ask. Core says "Flurry of Blows ... For the purpose of these attacks, the monk’s base attack bonus is equal to his monk level." Fine, I got that. Starts at one.

Why oh why does the Table 3-10 on Core page 58 say the Flurry of Blows Attack Bonus is -1/-1 at Monk Level 1?

Is this because the FoB AB should be added to the (modified) Monk BAB=1 yielding an effective AB of 0+Str (for melee)?

Liberty's Edge 1/5

NiTessine wrote:
Of course, according to http://paizo.com/pathfinderSociety/resources the Craftsman alternate racial trait is not legal for play, so the question is entirely academic in the context of this campaign.

Oh Blast it! I thought that I had checked that. Thank you for catching it!

I'll have to study the stacking issue more carefully as well.

Liberty's Edge 1/5

cblome59 wrote:


Yes, but trait bonus are not racial bonuses. Two seperate bonus types.

It sounds like there may be news of this shortly tho from Mark's post, so don't lose hope just yet.

Hey I am new at this, so I only know what I read. :-)

Since the APG clearly says they are (alternate) racial traits (p10)... Sigh.

Here's hoping it all gets straightened out...

Liberty's Edge 1/5

Mark Moreland wrote:

Under the current Day Job rules, racial bonuses do not count toward your final Day Job modifier. Only ranks in Perform, Craft, and Profession, Ability modifiers, feats, and class skill bonuses are calculated.

Stay tuned for more information.

Ouch! Not nice! :-(

The Guide to Organized play specifically INCLUDES trait bonuses:
"You may only include the following modifiers: Skill Ranks + Ability Score modifier + any applicable feat or trait bonuses."

I will stay tuned, as I would really like an answer. Before Sunday if possible. :-)

Liberty's Edge 1/5

Abraham spalding wrote:
Miner, Mason, Whitesmith, blacksmith, metallurgist, possibly an artist that makes stone statues, Quarry worker, sapper, engineer, cooper (the metal bands)...

I saw miner, and engineer.

Where are the others listed? since I need a source for PFS...

Thanks!

Liberty's Edge 1/5

Quote:
Craftsman: Dwarves with this racial trait receive a +2 racial bonus on all Craft or Profession checks that create objects from metal or stone. This racial trait replaces the greed racial trait.

Exactly which PROFESSIONS are metal/stone and receive this bonus?

I am most interested in Professions... but for consistency, which CRAFT - I expect stonemasonry and weapons, but are there others?

Specifically for the day job check after Society sessions...

Liberty's Edge

Thank you!

Liberty's Edge

Core says "shuriken are treated as ammunition for the purposes of drawing them" and "When using a bow, a character can draw ammunition as a free action; crossbows and slings require an action for reloading"

Since it is the weapon that required the action to reload (not draw ammo), I would interpret this to mean drawing a shuriken is a free action (aka arrows).

Please confirm?

Liberty's Edge

What about for the purposes of earning money?
Perhaps that makes this a Society specific question... But I still need an answer.

Liberty's Edge 1/5

What should I be listing under "Special Abilities" when registering my characters?

Racial traits, feats, bonus talents, all of the above or what?

Liberty's Edge

Quote:
Craftsman: Dwarves with this racial trait receive a +2 racial bonus on all Craft or Profession checks that create objects from metal or stone. This racial trait replaces the greed racial trait.

Exactly which PROFESSIONS are metal/stone and receive this bonus?

For that matter, which CRAFT besides stonemasonry & weapons?

Liberty's Edge

wraithstrike wrote:
I am confused by the question. All the damage should be the same, but I don't get the attack bonus question.

That's OK. All the ABs were the same at -1+Str/-1+Str , it was just the damage which for some reason wasn't.

Thanks

Liberty's Edge

Thank you.

So if a monk has no off hand, then looking at a stat block for Flurry of Blows, which seems to break out AB & Dmg for 1H-P, 1H-O, etc...
Shouldn't all the AB & Dmg be the same?

Is there any reason why under FoB stats, the Damage for 1H-O would be less than 1H-P ?

Liberty's Edge

Trying to understand various FoB interpretations of the rulesbook.
Core says "A monk applies his full Strength bonus to his damage rolls for all successful attacks made with flurry of blows, whether the attacks are made with an off-hand or with a weapon wielded in both hands." and "A monk cannot use any weapon other than an unarmed strike or a special monk weapon as part of a flurry of blows." Emphasis mine.

So, A shuriken can be used as part of a monk's FoB and its damage would get the full Strength bonus applied. Correct?

Also, it does not matter if the shuriken is in the "primary" hand, the other hand, or one in each; because any/all get the full Strength bonus on damage, because a monk has no off hand. Correct?

Liberty's Edge

The APG says
"... You may attempt an elemental fist attack once per day for every four levels you have attained (see Special), and no more than once per round.
Special: ... A monk may attempt an Elemental Fist attack a number of times per day equal to his monk level, plus one more time per day for every four levels he has in classes other than monk."

This implies that a monk is not limited to "and no more than once per round". It is ambiguous -- please clarify?

If the 1/round limit applies to monks as well, please include the phrase to the Special section to eliminate the ambiguity.

Second, is this rule also true for PFS play?