HumanBard's page

Organized Play Member. 11 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character.


RSS


Greetings,
a question to further a little the bg of one of my characters:
when you get recruited to become a knight of Ozem, how much time passes for the training to end, and does a recruit work on the field before becoming a fullfledged knight?

And a little cosmetics questions related: Precisely when does someone get the sword-mark? And does recruits wear a little of gold on their armor or that happens only with the knights?

Thank you for your time


James Jacobs wrote:
HumanBard wrote:

Hello, starting fall of plaguestone soon as a cleric of Iomedae. In my bg I decided that I defected from the hellknights, the godclaw to be more precise (then went to Lastwall, but that is OT). I escaped from Citadel Dinyar around the time of the Glorious Reclamation assault (4715 ar).

I didn't find much info about what happened around that time to the citadel, leaving aside it was temporary conquered. Are there some crucial information about the state of the order I might have overseen which might be useful, considering the adventure starts in Isger? Thank you for your time.

Ps: is it just me or behind the crimson reclaimers rituals is Arazni? I mean, it makes sense, considering Arazni mindset, the goals and feelings about the past of that faction and even tollerance of lots of non-evil undead in their ranks.

Lost Omens Character Guide contains the bulk of what we've said in 2nd edition about Hellknights, but we haven't said much, as far as I know, about what happened with the Godclaw post-Hell's Vengeance, other than that the order is indeed still around. So you've pretty much got a blank check as to how you and your GM want to handle that topic in your game.

We may or may not have more to say about the Crimson Reclaimers in the future. Arazni is certainly a possibly, but I sorta think it's too obvious of a choice and that it's something else. We'll see some day, maybe...

I see. After looking at all the material, even the pantheon in gods and magic, I have to guess that Zon-Kuthon didn't turn out to be the "sixth finger"... Yet, at least :P

While we are in topic, what order of the hellknights do you prefer and why? Even in the minor ones (for example I find fascinating there is one of pretty good guys in Ravounel).


Hello, starting fall of plaguestone soon as a cleric of Iomedae. In my bg I decided that I defected from the hellknights, the godclaw to be more precise (then went to Lastwall, but that is OT). I escaped from Citadel Dinyar around the time of the Glorious Reclamation assault (4715 ar).
I didn't find much info about what happened around that time to the citadel, leaving aside it was temporary conquered. Are there some crucial information about the state of the order I might have overseen which might be useful, considering the adventure starts in Isger? Thank you for your time.

Ps: is it just me or behind the crimson reclaimers rituals is Arazni? I mean, it makes sense, considering Arazni mindset, the goals and feelings about the past of that faction and even tollerance of lots of non-evil undead in their ranks.


Thanks for the praise. About grab, you are totally right! Damn. I also thought about the stupified when they grab people, actually. I really like the stupified take on the brain extraction. I might add that instead of intellect seeker. Of course it would be a Fortitude save, to add to the disgusting factor of having your mind probed. Literally, that is :D or I would just add every round ended in grapple the stupified 1. I mean, I don't want to bog down too much the rolls, even more considering that if you go in a lair full of these guys (maybe in search of an "ancient synapsis center", WOTC STAND DOWN I DIDN'T SAY THE NAME ELDER B-) it could become more annoying than anything. For AC,saves and hps, I feared I was making them too much OP, so why I held back. For the heightened brainwaves and reactions, it seems like all creatures with a cr near that and that can cast decently have a sort of aura. Also, I needed a decent reaction for the creature, seemed being able to do a little more damage or dazzle someone could be nice, but it's also contained in an area and activates when someone miss or the mindflayer saves, so it's not too much.
The mind alteration I explained why, and it applies to why I didn't give him a planeshift of some kind. I didn't want to go above the suggested spells for its cr. It was pointed out to me in a previous version that to get command it should be a cr 12 or something like that. And just reproducing the same effect with an ability didn't seem fair to me, so a lvl 7 spell like plane shift wasn't piqued or reproduced.

Anyway I am really happy if it inspires someone else to make its own version, thank you for the kind words and for taking some of your time to comment it :D


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I always liked minflayers, but of course there aren't any in pathfinder for copyright issues. I created a similar creature (WHICH IS TOTALLY NOT A MINDFLAYER, DID YOU HEAR ME WOTC,THIS IS TOTALLY DIFFERENT. NO, DON'T BRING THE LAWYERS), may be useful for some dms, I hope. Also I'd like some opinions or tips on how to improve it, cause I just started as a player in path 2 (although I have experiences with other systems, played a lot pathfinder 1e also), so I ain't that expert in monster building.

The Mentefleia:

Mentefleia Creature 8
LE, Medium, Aberration
Perception +18; darkvision
Languages Aklo, Common, Undercommon; telepathy 100 ft
Skills Arcana +19, Deception +16, Diplomacy +16, Intimidation +18, Occultism +19, Stealth +14
Str +3 Dex +4 Con +4 Int +7 Wis +6 Cha +6

AC 24, Fort +12, Ref +15, Will +19; +1 status to all saves vs. magic
HP 134

Heightened Brainwaves (aura, mental) 20 ft. Any creature in the aura takes a –2 circumstance penalty to checks and DCs to oppose the mentefleia’s spells and mental abilties.
Intellect seeker (manipulate) A mentefleia attempting to Grapple a creature after a successful Tentacles strike can use their Occultism bonus instead of Athletics.
Memory adjustment ◇ (concentrate, mental) Trigger: A target creature fails a save against one of the mentefleia occult innate spells with the enchantment and incapacitation traits Effect: The target memory is altered and they don't remember the encounter with the mentefleia. Instead, the encounter is replaced with a similar one with a normal humanoid creature. Whichever the race and shape, every mentefleia leaves unconsciously a personal recurring "trace": small details all the victims remembers clearly and have in common. Every 24 h and every time the victim is left with some doubt of their recollection or the true nature of the humanoid in their memories, they may roll a DC 24 Will save. This effect lasts until the victim rolls a success, they are met with undeniable proofs or they see the mentefleia themselves. While under the effect of the spell that triggered this effect, the creature cannot roll a save to end Memory adjustment.

Speed 25 ft

Melee ◆ Tentacles +17 (attack) Damage 3d6+4 bludgeoning plus grab

Occult Innate Spells (DC 24, attack +16); 5th Dimension door, 4th Confusion, Suggestion (at will), 3rd Levitate (at will), Mind reading (at will), 2nd Telekinetic maneuver (x4), 1st Charm (at will), Command (x2) , Mindlink (x2), Cantrips (3rd) Telekinectic projectile, Daze

Brain eater ◇ (manipulate) Trigger: The mentefleia deals damage to a creature with Constrict. Effect: The mentefleia heals a number of Hit Points equal to half the total damage dealt by Constrict. If the creature is reduced to 0 HP by the damage of Constrict, or if it's used while it’s already at 0 HP, then the creature dies.

Constrict ◆ 2d6+4 bludgeoning DC 27

Mental Blast ◆◆ (concentrate, enchantment, incapacitation, mental, occult) The mentefleia syphon its psychic powers in a 30 ft cone. Creatures within the cone must attempt a DC 22 Will save. The mentefleia can't use Mental Blast again for 1d4 rounds. If the damage of this ability would bring a creature to 0 hp or below, it instead leaves them with 1 hp. However, they must roll a will save as if targeted by the charm spell of the mentefleia's spell list. Critical Success: The creature is unaffected. Success: The creature is stunned 1. Failure: The creature is stunned 2 and takes 3d8 mental damage. Critical Failure: The creature is stupified 1, stunned for 1 round and takes 3d8 mental damage.

Occult reposte ↻ Trigger: A creature in the Heightened Brainwaves aura attacking the mentefleia missed or used an effect or a spell against which the mindflayer succesffuly saved. Effect: The mentefleia casts one of its cantrips against the creature.

So, you may notice a few differences. Here is what and why:
1- Being a cr 8 I had to add some things. The aura and the reaction are a good example of this.
2- Spell list changed. Some spells are really different between path 1, more similar to dnd spells, and path 2, where some are really different, also in the reasoning on what a monster cr-wise should have. So, no planeshift, no command. I tried to give it some manner of escape anyway, some few more spells in its psionic horror theme. Also, I created the Memory Adjustment so it may charm better things. I mean, it's a whole different thing after the charm ends thinking it wasn't a lovecraftian-like abomination to approach you (also may create some cool plot hooks I hope).
3- I changed the brain extraction dynamic. I don't like instakills, but this should make it interesting, nasty and deadly anyway.


Hello everyone. I created something for my personal use, but then I thought: why not make it usefull for all my group. Then I made it usefull for... Well, almost everyone, I think. I just wanted a sheet where I had a lot of space to write notes and every bonus my stats/throws/anything could have.
It's a first attempt to anything more than a simple table, so you are welcome to create your own version or improve it if you like it.

So, if you want to see all the features and modify it, you must create a copy. As I have written, DO NOT modify red numbers.

You can find it here

As for what my sheet lacks or could be improved:
-Doesn't have a companion/familiar sheet. Not gonna have one for a while. I will start to play a melee character cause I don't want to study everything of the system for my first time.
-Bulk issues: "L" is written as 0,1. You need to add by yourself in "Current bulk" all the bulk you are carrying. I took this decision cause someone could have a pack mule or a magical storing item. Or maybe doesn't want coins to weigh anything.
-In AC you must add by yourself the lowest between Armor Cap or Dex.

As I said, first time trying (I must say it is pretty easy, and I am not the sharpest tool when it comes to these things), so if you have some tips and you give me formulas you must explain them to me really basic. This said, leaving aside some errors or little modifications don't expect great changes to it (for now, at least). It was mostly created for personal use and, as I said, first time reading the rules of this edition, leaving aside a little of playtest. So, if there are some errors or I ignored something important, tell me. I hope it will be usefull to anyone. I wish you all great games and thanks for your time.


Hello, I was playing around with some guys on how much could a bard get on a knowledge check, and then some questions arised:
1-What is NOT in the Akashic Records? What is the limits of knowledge you could extract from there? For example, could a god like Asmodeus hide something from being recorded there? Or is the Akashic a primal force of the universe so strong to defy even god's will?
2-Leaving aside the Akashic Records, what could not be found with, for example, pagebound epiphany, which refers to all libraries in the world? For example, would some particular informations from books like the Necronomicon or the Book of the damned be left out?

tl;dr and mechanically speaking, what is the difference in limit for your knowledge checks with the material plane resources and with Akashic Records, and is there even a limit?


Chess Pwn wrote:
Quote:
Natural weapons are considered light weapons.
Do know, it's is difficult to understand what you're saying. Maybe try using longer sentences when describing your view and his view?

Sorry, I'll try to be more clearer. He says that natural weapons are considered light, in which case "An attack or fullattack with A light weapon" means the creature grappled can make an attack(or fullattack) with a single natural attack, not with multiple ones(taking the dragon example, he can only use the bite, one of the claws, one of the wings or the tail).

In my opinion, it should be seen as an example of the sentence you can take any action that doesn’t require two hands to perform.
The fact is: how do I make it clear?


Chess Pwn wrote:

If someone grappled the dragon then the dragon can use all it's attacks on the thing that grappled it. None of his attacks requires two hands to use.

Now the thing grappling the dragon can maintain the grapple and then do the damage of 1 attack.

Or if the Dragon was grappling with it's bite then on it's turn, if it maintains the grapple it would do the damage of it's bite and that's it.

That's what I thought. But here's the thing(sorry if I seem repetitive, but the argument isn't ended, and we didn't get to a point we agree both) from the srd.

"Instead of attempting to break or reverse the grapple, you can take any action that doesn’t require two hands to perform, such as cast a spell or make an attack or full attack with a light or one-handed weapon against any creature within your reach, including the creature that is grappling you."
Now, I say: anything not requiring two hands, and "such as" thing is just an example. I don't see a problem with mouth, wings, tentacles and tails.
He says: It says you can make a full attack with "A" light or onehanded weapon, so also for natural attacks.
If I am right, how should I make it more clearer?
Or am I just wrong?


So if, for examples, the target is a dragon, he can only use the bite, no claws, wings and tail to what should be the stupid guy who grappled it? Well, if it is so I'll abide to rules.
What confused me was: you can take any action that doesn’t require two hands to perform
Mouth doesn't require an hand, as wings and tentacles, so I thought the could be added in the full attack.


Hi everyone, I am currently gmming and this came up multiple times: if a creature grappled attacks, can it use its multiple attacks?
It says that you can do just a single attack, but it also says that under the examples about anything done with hands. I could say claws is involved in it, but tentacles? Wings? Tail? Bite?
And what about multiple limbs? If you have 4 hands, or maybe 8, you get just one attack?
A player is sure that it's so, reading the Raw. I say its the opposite, and reading online seems everyone thinks the same. But I'd like a sure answer, where it's explained. Thanks in advance.