Shade of the Uskwood

Feyesh's page

Organized Play Member. 23 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 23 Organized Play characters.


RSS

Grand Lodge

Nekome wrote:

For those of us, like me, who can't make up their mind where to start, I've made a random 2e character generator. It uses the core rulebook only, and I have no plans to expand it, but I lay out the method it uses there so that you can apply it to whatever pool of ancestries etc. you want.

Now, if you'll excuse me, it looks like I have an arctic elf abjurer to finish putting together...

Figured I'd let you know, I went to use it & got an error in RED instead of a menaingful output:

{"data":null,"status":-1,"config":{"method":"GET","transformRequest":[null],"tran sformResponse":[null],"jsonpCallbackParam":"callback","url":"http://bidalaka.com: 9090/pfs2/character","headers":{"Accept":"application/json, text/plain, */*"}},"statusText":""}

That was the error.

~ Good Day ~

Grand Lodge

I opened a box & got a 'Caligni Caller' but the base of it says it's a 'Caligni Slayer' (It's even labelled as 2/44, which is true for the Caller, but the Slayer isn't on the list in the thread at all, but I think it's supposed to be the Stalker?

Grand Lodge

Weaponwand was my initial reaction to this post.

Grand Lodge

Because of the wording of it, both yes & no.
When you use 1 kama in each hand, yes, because it says clearly 'as if armed with a single kama in each hand'.
However, when you use one to make a reach attack, this not longer applies & it is now the 'Dual-Chained Kama' so you not be able to use Weapon Finesse when attacking in that manner.

TL;DR
Using as Double Weapon = Yes
Using as Reach Weapom = No

Grand Lodge

Cavall wrote:

You take feats that allow you to bend the rules. So when a rule says a wizard needs a spell book and you take a feat that allows you to cast a spell without one, the rules are bent.

So in this case, undersized mount should still be enough to work, must or no. You can always use the common sense rule.

Sadly 'Rules as Written' trump 'Rules as Intended' or 'Common Sense'

ESPECIALLY in Organized Play.

Grand Lodge

Now, if Undersized Mount had a line saying:
"Appropriately sized creatues become:
For Small Riders; Small, Medium, & Large.
For Medium Riders; Medium, Large, & Huge."

THEN it would work in the class' present state.

Grand Lodge

Daeryon wrote:
Also, the undersize mount feat would work. It's a more specific rule so it trumps the more generic rule of the mount needing to be one category larger

The issue is that taking the feat doesn't change this part:

PRG:UC wrote:
...(Medium or Large for a Small character; Large or Huge for a Medium character)

Because it states that Explicitly, it is to say 'It must be Large or Huge for medium riders, period.' That's why, without that specific part Undersized Mount WOULD work.

Grand Lodge

Weables wrote:
There's the undersized mount feat you could take and retrain later, if you really wanted...
Cavall wrote:
This is literally why theres an undersized mount feat.

Did you miss one of the most stressed point of this requiring an errata that I mentioned?

PRG:UC wrote:
The animal chosen as a mount must be large enough to carry the beast rider (Medium or Large for a Small character; Large or Huge for a Medium character).

This wording means that even Undersized Mount doesn't let you do that, because it specifies the size. Without this line of text, one could just take it & ride it with penalties or not, but because of the RAW wording, NONE can be taken.

That fact is the main reason for this requiring a FAQ, because a given option, is not an option.

Grand Lodge

8 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

The Beast Rider Cavalier Archetype, once it hits Level 4, has a major problem for most (All Medium) Riders.

PRG:UC wrote:
...At 4th level, a Medium beast rider can also choose an allosaurus, ankylosaurus, arsinoitherium, aurochs, bison, brachiosaurus, elephant, glyptodon, hippopotamus, lion, mastodon, megaloceros, giant snapping turtle, tiger, triceratops, or tyrannosaurus as his mount.

Note that none of these animals, as Animal Companions, are bigger than Medium at Level 4, None.

So you can choose one and ride it undersized with penalties right? Wrong.
PRG:UC wrote:
The animal chosen as a mount must be large enough to carry the beast rider (Medium or Large for a Small character; Large or Huge for a Medium character).

You cannot choose any of these on the list, because none of them could support a Medium rider. Small Riders have a slightly difference list, however, because they are small, get off scot-free. It's only broken for Medium riders, and not the OP kind of broken.

Until Level 7, a Medium Beast Rider gains NO benefit & loses a class feature long before then.
I have read in other FAQ requests of this same question that the lists were made how they were made to avoid having a separate list for each size, which has lead to a large oversight in the archetype, leaving it, unplayable as intended.

Did Paizo perchance mean for it to be interpreted the other way around?
With it being, "Once you select something from the list, it becomes large to compensate for the requirement."? (Doesn't state it, but would solve the issue.)
Maybe the size requirement was stated as a reminder that you take penalties if the mount is inappropriately sized, but the statement accidentally made it impossible to do?
Does it intend, "You can choose something from the list, but not mount it?" (Unlikely, it's a archetype with 'Rider' in the name for Cavalier)
Or are "Medium rider's simply docked & forced to keep a horse until Level 7, leaving them without a class feature for the first 6?"? (Outrageous.)

Does anyone have any missed insight? The last request for this FAQ was in January, and there are nearly yearly requests for it since 2011 to no avail. Can we can a Paizo intervention maybe now?

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

TL:DR
What evolutions from previous book can the Abberation Eidolon from Horror Realms Take?

They did not say what previous evolutions that the Abberation Eidolon can take. You could ususally assume this means that it can't take any of them. However when you look some of them are things like 'Tentacle'. An abberation can't take Tentacle? Really? That alone isn't enough for quesitons, but this is what is. The Base Forms for Abberation give you evolutions that the Abberation Does Not Qualify for.
E.G. Quadruped: Limbs (Legs) X2, Bite.
Abberations does not qualify for Bite. An Abberation can Not Take the Bite Evolution. The only problem is that this is a reccuring pattern with most of the previous books evolutions. With the rules as written, the maximum attacks an Abberation can get is 3, when eidolons all have the capacity for eventually 6, but the abberations can ONLY GET (Without Manufactured Weapons) 3 Maximum.

It's this conclusion of several fishy things that make me believe that there was a fault on Paizos part for not listing previous evolutions available to the Abberation Eidolon. I could always get home rules, but that is not what I am looking for as I wish to play this in Organised Play.

Can anyone tell me if there has been any kind of ruling made officially by Paizo to comment on these & say what is actually available to a Abberant Eidolon Subtype?

Grand Lodge

These questions may sound off, but they are questions that have come to mind when thinking about the Alchemist Discover, Demolition Charge to which the answers for I cannot find anywhere.

Demolition Charge:

When the alchemist creates a bomb, he can choose to have it deal damage to an object as if by a sunder combat maneuver. If the item is worn or held by an opponent, the item is considered the direct target, and the wearer/holder takes splash damage from the blast. If the object is unattended, a demolition charge deals an additional 2d6 points of damage on a direct hit. This bonus doesn't affect the bomb's splash damage.

Firstly,
Do you sunder using the wielders CMD ir do you make an attack roll? The text says that the DAMAGE is dealt as though by a sunder attempt, it does not say how the attack is proceeded with.

Secondly,
Do you make an attack roll on the wielder or the item? If item, how do you determine the AC of both an attended item & an unattended item?

Thirdly,
Apparently energy damage only does half damage to items. Would this still apply with Demolition Charges that arr specifically designed to destroy objects? Otherwise you could just make attck rolls &/or aim to damage items no differently to a weapon attacking a lock.

Laslty,
Where is says that the wielder/holder takes splash damage, does it still do splash damage as normal also?

Cheers

Grand Lodge

I understand my wording was mildy bad, let me rephrase. Can you have bullets loaded in your gun already so that when you draw it it is already loaded?

Grand Lodge

Just to be clear, can a gun be Loaded while holstered? And does it matter if it is early or advanced?

Grand Lodge

If you pick up a class that grants a weapon that you "Begin Play With" E.G. Gunslingers getting Guns, as a 2nd level multi class, do you still get the weapon granted by that class despite not technically beginning play as that class?

Grand Lodge

Okay, so the Link ability says that me and my eidolon "Share Magic Item Slots" Does that mean that magic items effecting my stats effect my eidolon stats?

Grand Lodge

Alrighty then. Thank 'yall.

Grand Lodge

Okay, well what if I wielded two shields? Would I get the bonus from those? So I have one shield in one, another in another and then two weapons. I could get the ac bonus from both right?

Grand Lodge

I don't get extra attacks but if I can attack twice can't I?

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

The description does say "The arm can manipulate or hold items as well as the alchemist’s original arms" So doesnt that means that they can attack with them right?

Grand Lodge

But then why is it just two-weapon fighting if I cannot do it while wielding two-weapons in this way?
Is there anywhere that is says I cannot use two-weapon fighting to benefit from dual wielding two-handed weapons in this way?

Grand Lodge

I didn't know about multiweapon fighting, thank you. :D
So if I had two weapon fighting and then grew the extra arm(s) would multiweapon attack automatically replace two-weapon fighting or would I have to swap the feat?

Grand Lodge

Okay, so Alchemists can use Vestigial Arm twice and end up with 4 arms on their characters right?
So what if I were to multi-class Fighter and Alchemist and at level 3 be LvL 1 Fighter/ LvL 2 Alchemist and use my discovery to get one arm and get the bonus discovery feat to get the second.
I understand this much.

But heres the part I need to ask about:
When fighting with a two handed weapon in each set of hands, how would I go about using the two-weapon fighting feat?
Would I need it for this case?
And if so would it just be the standard -4/-4 penalty?

Also I sheepishly ask; are there any feats to increase attack rolls at the cost of anything else e.g. AC?

Grand Lodge

Okay so I am considering getting a combat trained Bison as a mount and general Item carrier. But I have a question.

When I buy it as a mount do I use level one animal companion stats for it

Starting Statistics: Size Medium;
Speed 40 ft.;
AC +1 natural armor,
Attack gore (1d6);
Ability Scores Str 14, Dex 12, Con 12, Int 2, Wis 11, Cha 4;
Special Qualities low-light vision, scent.

or do I use the base stats for Bison.

N Large animal
Init +0; Senses low-light vision, scent; Perception +8
DEFENSE
AC 17, touch 9, flat-footed 17 (+8 natural, –1 size)
hp 42 (5d8+20)
Fort +8, Ref +4, Will +1
OFFENSE
Speed 40 ft.
Melee gore +10 (2d6+12)
Space 10 ft.; Reach 5 ft.
Special Attacks stampede, trample (2d6+12, DC 20)
STATISTICS
Str 27, Dex 10, Con 19, Int 2, Wis 11, Cha 4
Base Atk +3; CMB +12; CMD 22 (26 vs. trip)
Feats Endurance, Improved Bull Rush, Power Attack
Skills Perception +8

From this my other queries should be answered. They are regarding carry weight and attack commands.