Finally getting around to rebuilding my Lore Warden. Basically all my Lore Warden levels are going Avenger Vigilante, and my one level of Crusader Cleric of Calistria is changing to Warpriest of Calistria. Switching to focus more on Dex, was somewhat balanced Dex/Str but with the Vigilante talent Lethal Grace going Dex has much better benefits. Most of my equipment is even remaining the same, only equipment changes are I'm changing from a Mithril Breastplate to a Mithril Kikko and selling back some unused equipment. After all changes I might have one lower bonus on my trip attempts than before, which is compensated by new equipment purchases. (I had over 80k gold saved up, this is a level 14 character.)
Overall, like others have said, Avenger Vigilante is a good replacement for those Lore Warden levels. (I actually have MORE skill points than I did before, but less HP.)
What Changed: Lore Warden Archetype
What's the problem: Loss of Second Level Bonus Feat, Reduction in effectiveness for multiple combat maneuvers. Change in Skill points. Resulting in a Seeker level character that became invalid post level 2 due to feat dependencies.
What I'd like to see: Grandfather existing Lore Wardens to Field Guide Version. (Character must have been played as a level 2 Lore Warden before GenCon 2017.)
I was asked to post my questions to this by Tanya at ECCC this last weekend.
So, I have a Character that took 1 level of Sorcerer specifically to pick up the spell Blood Money, I purchased a Blood Reservoir of Physical Prowess specifically to use with the spell Blood Money. Blood Money was later (December I think) banned.
What do I have to do, and what can I do about this?
1. Swap the spell for something else
2. Retrain the Class level
3. Sell back the Magic Item for Full Price
4. Retrain the entire character
The spell does not fall exactly under the things in the first post, but due to this specific spell it actually most closely relates to:
Quote:
If a class, prestige class changes, or a class-feature-dependent Ability score is altered:
You may rebuild your character to its current XP, maintaining the same equipment.
This is because the spells power is very dependent on your Strength score.
The specific thing I asked Tanya about was the magic item and selling it for full price as it is basically useless to my character for any other purpose then the banned spell.
I've GMed a scenario that I specifically offered to run to get a character the boon. +2 Profane bonus to a stat of my choice for the next RL year and all I have to do is pay for an atonement? Yes Please. (I didn't actually HAVE to pay for the atonement as my character was Chaotic Good and could have just accepted the shift to Neutral Good.) I'd say ones like that could be considered a bit too powerful.
The shift would be to chaotic neutral, not neutral good.
I'm a bit tired, I meant Chaotic Neutral. Anyway it goes, it wouldn't have been to an Evil alignment thus no atonement "needed"
I've GMed a scenario that I specifically offered to run to get a character the boon. +2 Profane bonus to a stat of my choice for the next RL year and all I have to do is pay for an atonement? Yes Please. (I didn't actually HAVE to pay for the atonement as my character was Chaotic Good and could have just accepted the shift to Neutral Good.) I'd say ones like that could be considered a bit too powerful.
Evoker: "Crud, I'm running low on bat guano for my fireballs. Well, that's why I picked up Baleful Polymorph. Hay Mr. Fighter, come here, I'm going to cast a spell on you that will improve you hearing...."
Even your Corpse is a valid target for Enlarge Person, just because you died does not mean your body isn't a valid target and it stays enlarged.
Remember, Raise Dead says "Target: dead creature touched" your corpse doesn't stop being a creature just because you died.
Now, if you were Reincarnated, or received a True Resurrection because your body had been destroyed, then no, it's gone because it was associated with the old body.
RAW, uncertain, but if you can, you won't be able to use any of your Supernatural Abilities, Spells and Spell like is in the air, only says you can use your Extraordinary Abilities.
I would put this entirely in the realm of asking your DM if they allow it.
Just get a Skald with the rage power for a bite attack, then everyone has a bite attack. I agree with Martin though, you must enlarge the dwarf so they become a large sized weapon.
Jared, wouldn't the Gnome be considered a small weapon, thus suffer a -2 penalty?
I have a guy in the runelords game I'm running. He's a 2 weapon fighter (focusing on longsword) with a 15 str and 15 dex. He has weapon focus longsword, so instead of fighting with a longsword and a shortsword giving him a +2/+1 to hit he's using two longswords so he has a +0/+0 to hit, oh and he doesn't have a ranged weapons because it's not a longsword...
What about thrown long sword?
But then he wouldn't have 2 longswords to fight with when he closed to melee range...
You can only purchase things in print. If "collapsible" is defined somewhere, and it's legal, then you can purchase it.
But, generally, it's of no concern. A medium-sized Barbarian carrying around a longspear, a glaive, an earthbreaker, a greatsword, a dwarf, a heavy crossbow, a ten-foot ladder, and a kitchen sink can still use Escape Artist to squeeze through a tiny-sized hole.
Make him a Titan Fighter and give him a belt of the weasel, replace the weapons with large sized versions and he is still squeezing through a tiny-sized hole, without the check, at full speed, no penalties.
Hi, I purchased the current Humble Bundle that includes a large number of books and scenarios as PDFs. Thing is, I own most of the books as PDFs already. I would like to give my "duplicates" to friends, is that possible?
I have all my codes still and have not redeemed them as yet.
Using UMD to trick an Intelligent item doesn't sound very feasible.
Character: I'm an Elf
Item: No, you are not an Elf
Character: Yes I am
Item: If you were an Elf, you wouldn't sleep
Character: I don't sleep, I'm an Elf
Item: You were sleeping last night
Character: No, I was Meditating, I'm an Elf
Item: Dude, you were snoring.
Most of my characters have at least a 14 con, if for some reason I do a 10 or 12 con, then you can bet all my FCB go to extra hitpoints. Admittedly, I have only played one sorcerer, and not very high level, and never a wizard.
In the Weapon Master's Handbook is the Weapon Trick feat that lets you select a weapon option and any trick within that option that you meet the qualifications for you can do. One of those tricks under the Polearm Tricks is Choke UP, which despite the sound of it, is not a feat designed to let you attack close up with a reach weapon, but instead wield it one handed.
Choke Up:
(Acrobatics 1 rank, Climb 1 rank): You can take a –2 penalty on attack rolls and damage rolls until the beginning of your next turn in order to choke up on and wield a two-handed polearm sized for you in one hand, as long as you do not make attacks with your other hand.
So, does this mean I can essentially continuously wield the weapon in one hand as long as I do not make attacks with my other hand and just take a -2 to all my attack rolls with no other penalty?
I have need of "Holding" an item in one hand to gain benefit from it but still want to wield my Naginata with Reach.
Hmm, missed that part, there is a lot of "missing" flavor the book as that d20pfsrd does not have that makes it harder to spot in the book, but the book does say from another plane.
That said, yes, one of my characters visits Haven between adventurers on a constant basis, it is where she was born and raised. (Havenborn alternate racial trait and of course the ability to cast Plane Shift.)
Also don't miss that unlike Fabricate, you could make say an Adamantine Breastplate using Diamonds and only a small bit of Adamantine. This is especially useful in campaigns where Adamantine is far harder to come by then an equivalent value of diamonds.
If my post is the reason for your "new" title, can I get a Pugwampis boon then? JK. Good to see you have an appropriate title now so as to keep people from being confused ;)
Unlike some, I kind of wish Tears to Wine did make the cut, looks like a fun spell, though it is a bit ambiguous how much each individual has to drink to gain the benefit, and ambiguous spells tend to get banned in PFS for some strange reason :P
Where O = empty squares A-B are Allies and X is an enemy creature.
If A and B both have Outflank, they both get the +4 bonus, even if C and D do not.
If at least two of the allies have Outflank and one of them scores a critical hit then everyone who has Outflank can take an AOO.
It only specifies that You and an Ally that are both flanking the same creature have to have the feat, it does NOT say that the ally has to be the one providing the flank to you.
When a Teamwork feat refers to Your Ally, it refers to anyone else also benefiting from the same teamwork feat.
I'm going to start by saying I expect the answer to be no, but I thought I'd ask anyway, mostly because I think it would be funny to do.
If I have a character cast Planar Inquiry, can I summon one of my other characters to answer a question if said character is an Aasimar, or Tiefling, or any other kind of Outsider that is technically a valid "target" for the spell. The only effect I see this having on the spell is being able to use that character's skill bonus for the knowledge check.
The spell specifically states that you can call a specific type, or even individual if called by Name. Also keep in mind, you can't summon an outsider who's hit dice exceed your caster level. This means the caster must be the same level or higher then the one they are summoning.
Do ability modifiers from the same ability stack? For instance, can you add the same ability bonus on the same roll twice using two different effects that each add that same ability modifier?
No. An ability bonus, such as "Strength bonus", is considered to be the same source for the purpose of bonuses from the same source not stacking. However, you can still add, for instance “a deflection bonus equal to your Charisma modifier” and your Charisma modifier. For this purpose, however, the paladin's untyped "bonus equal to her Charisma bonus (if any) on all saving throws" from divine grace is considered to be the same as "Charisma bonus (if any)", and the same would be true for any other untyped "bonus equal to her [ability score] bonus" constructions.
So these two things should stack:
"Add your Charisma modifier instead of your Wisdom bonus"
"A paladin gains a bonus equal to her Charisma bonus (if any) on all saving throws"
No, they do not, you would be adding the same untyped bonus from the same ability modifier to the same thing, and this is not allowed.
It would let you add your Cha mod to your Fort and Reflex saves, but you are already adding your Cha to the Will save. Please note what you bolded is a typed bonus and thus different.
Silly point three: some random human whose only connection to these fox-folk is having been raised by them. Why not, I guess, if he actually had some fox-folk blood in his veins, due to having a fox ancestor. But I really can't see this sort of magic being acquired without there being a germ of innate power to build around.
I think we finished up with the Adopted issue. We have been "discussing" Racial Heritage. Racial Heritage says you have Kitsune blood, there is one in your ancestry.
Ok, I found where it says you CAN even if it doesn't say so in the feat.
CRB says: "If a character has the same feat more than once, its benefits do not stack unless indicated otherwise in the description."
The question is, would it be considered stacking benefits when the benefits are a little different. They would be giving two different subtypes not the same one twice.
People have answered. You misunderstand the function of the quoted rule. This does not mean, "Take any feat as many times as you want, but the effects don't stack". This means, " If you can take a feat more than once, the effects don't stack, unless you're specifically told otherwise."
If you could ordinarily take feats multiple times, there'd be no need for certain feats to explicitly tell you that you can take hem more than once. It is the quintessential exception that proves the rule.
Except there isn't a rule. Just 2 statements (1 repeated over a number of feats) that provide conflicting inferences, and no real way to establish priority. You can't just add words without sufficient context to make it clear. And that statement just as easily and (arguably) more logically leads "[you can]take a feat more than once, the effects...etc."
Does it not say under the 'special' section of the feat format description that the line designates whether or not you can select a feat more than once?
Why can you not retrain out the first copy of the feat then take the feat with the combat slot?
/cevah
If it was used as a prerequisite for something else then you can't retrain it out without first retraining out what depends on it. For example, if you have Dodge and Mobility, you can't retrain out Dodge because you have to have it for Mobility.
This post is an attempt to get this question answered with a FAQ.
The question:
Does a feat have to say you can take it more then once in order to take it more then once, even knowing that taking it a second time will not grant any added benefit?
Reasons for this clarification may not be obvious, after all, why would you take a feat if you aren't going to get anything from it?
So, here is a potential scenarios where you may want to do just that.
A fighter selects a feat that is a prerequisite for another feat but uses a "normal" feat to take it, even though it qualifies to be taken as one of his bonus feats. He gains a level and decides he wants a non-combat feat but this level only gives him a combat feat. If he can take that previous feat a second time using his fighter bonus feat for this level, then he can retrain the bonus feat into whatever he wants without having to pay for multiple retraining just to change one feat.
Rules as written you can't take a feat more than once unless the feat says otherwise.
The rule where it says that multiple instances of feats don't stack the same benefits does not contradict that, it just compensates for the fact that the earlier rule has an exception. That feats that can be taken multiple times exist requires the second rule but it does not state when this happens the first rule does.
This is a case of making assumptions based on implication instead of what is stated. There is no interpretation required.
Again, Where is this written. It isn't RAW if it isn't written. This is one question I've asked multiple times but nobody who says you can't take a feat more then once unless otherwise stated has answered. Several people have agreed that you CAN take a feat more then once, but the rule I quoted says that they have no effect. (BTW, at this point, I consider the original question answered, taking Racial Heritage more then ones does not stack, even for different races. Plenty of people willing to house rule it otherwise though.)
In the Giant Hunter's Handbook, page 33 is the level 3 Sorcerer Wizard Spell Resize Item. Material component is Silver Calipers worth 25gp. The duration however is only 24h. It can be made permanent with permanency for 7500gp.
A potentially cheaper "permanent" solution is the Resizing weapon property for at 4000gp or for armor, Fitting armor property for only 2000gp.
Another option, Ring of Perfect Sizing, 16000gp, lets you resize one weapon or suit of armor to the wearer's size. All of these are on page 33 of the Giant Hunter's Handbook.
I'm just going to start ignoring the people who use strange interpretations of the word Extra as a means to say it doesn't work. Seriously, just because you don't like it doesn't mean you have to find any remotely plausible reason to say it doesn't work.
Ok, I'm going to go with your Tail Terror example.
Tail Terror was ruled to not give any benefit because you didn't already have a tail and the feat did not grow you a tail.
Unlike Tail Terror, Magical Tail actually Grows you a tail AND grants you an SLA.
If your problem with gaining the SLA has to do with no innate magic, remember this. All characters have innate magic, most just can't use it for anything, this is how one can learn to be a Wizard or Magus.
A Human with the Kitsune Racial Heritage has Kitsune blood in their veins, not enough to grant them a Kitsune's starting SLAs but it is there. This is also how the concept of Sorcerers even work, somewhere in a Sorcerer's ancestry is a member of the bloodline they have and they have learned how to tap into it. It is there, but they must learn how to make it grow. That is exactly what the feat Magical Tail does, it teaches them how to tap into their Kitsune heritage to gain the SLA and as a side effect grow a tail.
Developer. Goblin Squad Member. RPG Superstar 6 Season Dedicated Voter, 7 Season Star Voter, 8 Season Star Voter. Pathfinder Tales Subscriber. 5 Star Pathfinder Society GM.
Ok, that ruling is officially (IMO) the dumbest ruling John Compton has EVER had, and I usually respect his rulings on things.
It is also NOT in the FAQ and impossible to find if you don't already know about it.
On another note, technically he is not listed as PFS Leadership which would technically make his posts irrelevant for PFS questions. Not saying that is really true, just a way to interpret it.
As at least two active users in this thread have implied (one of them in another thread) that my Kitsune wouldn't qualify for Magical Tail, I'm interested in takes on a player taking Magical Tail in these situations:
Racial Heritage (Kitsune) on a race that naturally has a tail, such as a kobold
Racial Heritage (Kitsune) on a race that naturally has some form of spell-like ability, such as an aasimar's light
Racial Heritage (Kitsune) on a race that naturally has a dancing lights spell-like ability, such as a gnome or drow
Racial Heritage (Kitsune) on a race that naturally has a tail AND a dancing lights SLA (does one exist?)
A Kitsune whose tail has been severed or severely damaged
and my personal situation,
A Kitsune who doesn't have the Kitsune Magic racial trait.
Personally, in my home games, I would let anyone who counted as a Kitsune through whatever means take the feat, since that's the only requirement and it's not a particularly powerful feat, even when taken enough times to get dominate person (given the length of the feat chain you had to go to get there...), and most of the SLAs you went through on the way would be better duplicated with relatively cheap magic items (a hat of disguise, a wand of charm person, who even casts misdirection anyway?).
Additionally, I can see the draw, as the one place where Pathfinder noticeably lacks is in cosmetic customization. Spending two feats to give your character a fox tail makes more sense to me than spending two feats to get disguise self twice per day.
Just a comment on this, you have to be Human, (or at least have the Human subtype) to take Racial Heritage. So one example of a race with a tail and a SLA that could take it is a Tiefling. Your base Tiefling may have a barbed tail if they want, this isn't even a racial trait. They may even have a Prehensile tail and still have their SLA.
Keep in mind, I also believe a Human with no tails to start also can do this.
In a couple threads in the Rules forum there is a question about being able to take Magical Tails if you have Racial Heritage: Kitsune.
The Prerequisite is Kitsune, no other requirements.
Full Feat:
ARG: Magical Tail:
You grow an extra tail that represents your growing
magical powers.
Prerequisite: Kitsune.
Benefit: You gain a new spell-like ability, each usable
twice per day, from the following list, in order: disguise self,
charm person, misdirection, invisibility, suggestion, displacement,
confusion, dominate person. For example, the first time you
select this feat, you gain disguise self 2/day; the second time
you select this feat, you gain charm person 2/day. Your caster
level for these spells is equal to your Hit Dice. The DCs for
these abilities are Charisma-based.
Special: You may select this feat up to eight times.
Each time you take it, you gain an additional ability as
described above.
There are two questions.
1. Do you grow a Tail?
2. Do you gain the SLAs?
Some people are arguing because you don't have a Kitsune's magic trait you don't gain the SLAs
Some people are arguing because you don't have a tail you can't grow an extra.
To me, this is clear cut, you grow a tail and you gain an SLA each time you take the feat, up to 8 times.
provided an appropriate source such as an official Dev post (as far as I know this does not exist atm) that RAW a Human with Racial Heritage Kitsune can take Magical Tail and grow a tail and gain SLAs and you say "not at my table" I would report you to the VO in a heartbeat.
Funny thing. You won't get anywhere with the VO.
PFS is RAW.
GM reads the rules and determine RAW.
PFS leadership only expects GM's to follow FAQ and PFS leadership responses.
A random Dev comment isn't something that is currently binding. I'm the first to say they probably should be binding, but alas they are not now.
Also, you can find dev posts saying this doesn't work. So the probability of finding a dev saying it does, just not going to happen. At least in my view of probabilities.
Usually the PFS leadership defers to the Devs, but technically you are right. So, why don't I duplicate the tails question over there so they can tell you how it is RAW.
The only correct answer is "not in PFS, in home games ask your GM."
Here is the thing, in PFS RAW rules. If it is determined that RAW you grow a tail and gain SLAs then in PFS you grow a tail and gain SLAs. If it is determined that RAW you gain the tails SLAs you do NOT have the power as a GM in PFS to say no to the player. If I sat down at your table with such a character and provided an appropriate source such as an official Dev post (as far as I know this does not exist atm) that RAW a Human with Racial Heritage Kitsune can take Magical Tail and grow a tail and gain SLAs and you say "not at my table" I would report you to the VO in a heartbeat.
The only arguments I'm seeing against Magical Tail are invisible prerequisites that are being arbitrarily added by people who don't like the idea and a strange interpretation of the word Extra.
This as far as I am aware is not settled one way or the other, making possible table variance, but it does NOT mean it wont' work in PFS at all.
I've been seeing way to much of "Not at MY table" in the Rules forum when it is essentially them saying they are House Ruling that you can't do it. That belongs in the Home Brew forum.
That isn't saying you can't take it more then once, just that you can't benefit from it more then once, and therefore not answering the question of where it says you can't Take it more then once.
So, to those who say you can't do that, I ask this:
What happens in this situation if instead of the Druid using Wildshape to become something bigger instead has Wildshape wear off or get dispelled somehow? There is no longer any magic to keep the Druid the size of a Mouse, it MUST become it's original shape and size again. If that is the same size or bigger then the creature that swallowed it, never mind the size of it's stomach, then they aren't going to be contained anymore.
That debate is still going and quite frankly RAW it does give a tail. Every argument used against it refers to something that isn't required for a Kitsune to take, and benefit from, the feat or an interpretation of the use of the word Extra.
And one more time, WHERE does it say you can't take a feat more then once if it doesn't say you can?