Crie's page

*** Pathfinder Society GM. 7 posts (47 including aliases). 2 reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 26 Organized Play characters. 2 aliases.



Liberty's Edge 2/5

I've been playing a Primal Hunter Companion (Hunter Archetype) in Society Play as of the last year. May or may not be my well into retired -1. However something occurs to me as I look it over that, I may of assumed something wrong.

So the Primal Hunter Companion (PCH), grants Evolutions instead of Animal Focus. These evolutions have to be activated as a swift action, and last for a minute per activation.

I have assumed due to summoner being illegal, that the Unchained Eidolon Evolutions where the evolutions we would have to use. The PCH was originally designed to work with the original summoner, was temporarily banned in society, and is now back in legality.

I assumed because Summoner itself was banned that the regular Eidolon evolutions where not legal-but that my choices had to come from the Unchained Eidolon.

I was writing up a little something about the PCH, when I realized that I could be wrong and I should just triple check my resources. After going over additional resources, and doing a quick google and forum search I've found no clear answer. Summoner itself is banned, but nothing seems to indicate the Eidolon evolutions themselves. I'm also not seeing anything suggesting I should be using the Unchained evolutions as opposed to the regular.

I just made a logical conclusion.

So is there a way to get some clarification on this? Anyone able to find those beautiful little words hidden away somewhere? OR... am I wrong and regular evolutions are actually intended with this archetype? Or am I right and one should be using the unchained? Heck am I overlooking an obvious post and or ruling somewhere? Would be embarrassing if I am. Ha ha ha.

Liberty's Edge

I just can't wrap my head around the purpose of this and similar abilities.

Acrobatics clearly states that you are limited to just your movement speed in any given round for distance allowed in a jump.

So rarely are you above 30ft and for most your likely 20ft because of armor.

Yet there are a number of abilities that give you big bonuses to this skill check. If your dex heavy, 3 or 4 levels in with a dip in Kineticist with Air Focus... You can meet 20 to 30 ft in a jump without spending much.

So I'm not sure entirely the point beyond early level use. Is that maybe the intent?

The Ninja, the Kineticist, and I'm sure there are some spells for it. But beyond dipping a little and going purely monk because of the increases in movement speed... why would you? Is there maybe a feat or something out there that bypasses the limit on it? Or are these abilities just so you don't have to bother putting points into the skill? I assume I answered it for myself there. As just an option for people wanting to allocate points elsewhere? Or... am I just misunderstanding the ability all together?

Sovereign Court

I have a number of questions all revolving around the enlarge person and reduce person spells.

1) If you are enlarged and given a large size item, when you shrink does it remain large? Or like arrows being shot from an enlarged archer, do they return to normal size only upon leaving the hands of the wielder?

2) If you are enlarged, grab an item intended for a large size creature, and place it in one of your bags before you return to normal size... Does it simply rip apart the bag? Does it resize with you temporarily? Is it simply squeezing in the space while continually trying to burst out?

Or does the Bag perhaps only shrink as far as it can with the item inside, until the item is removed?

3) If an enlarged creature swallows something whole, when it returns to normal size what happens with the creature previously (and assuming) only a size category lower?

4) If a creature is reduced in size, then swallowed whole---when the spell wears off assuming the original creature is normally the same size as the creature who has swallowed them... What happens?

Based on responses I'll likely have follow up questions.
I also saw that some of these where asked before, but I'm hoping for some better clarifications.

Sovereign Court

So I was mulling over a potential... err.. Crystal Gems build, based off the show Steven Universe.

<.< Don't judge me.

And was trying to solve how I can keep all the themes if I wanted to jokingly just build this for mechanics. When it struck me this nifty spell exists: http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/p/possession/

Which left me with some interesting questions! Because---I may or may not be obsessed with the mechanic of possession/magic jar/possess object. . .Can I relinquish control without leaving the body?

Example: Bob and Joel hit their first round of combat. Joel casts Possession on Bob, who willingly fails his save. Joel is now in Bob, on Bob's turn instead of skipping it, Joel grants him control over his own body but does not return to his own. Allowing Bob to take his actions. On Joel's turn, Joel returns to control of the body and takes his actions.

While I see nothing suggesting this is a potential strategy--I also don't see much that says otherwise. The spell indicates that they are not displaced like with Magic Jar but remain in the same body. It does show you can return to your own body as a Standard Action. It also indicates you can willingly let them talk to you, telepathically.

I think there may be something somewhere about this but because returning to your own body is a Standard Action it may simply not work. As you may need to expend Standard Actions to do it. Otherwise, most likely, you must remain in control the whole time.

I figure the answer is no, because of http://www.d20pfsrd.com/occult-adventures/occult-rules/magical-possession/ and where it says that a host is helpless within the body. However, it may also be just because you are keeping them helpless.

Maybe someone also asked this before? Who knows. I didn't find it, but I figure this is a worthwhile question to ask before I precede with... Building... dumb things.

Sovereign Court 2/5

In Pathfinder Primer, there is a Vanity that lets you acquire a Pathfinder Lodge of your own. Which, to be honest I want for no other reason beyond to just have the beautiful thing, don't even think I'd use it mechanically. Still, I noticed it had a conditional modifier to the price.

If your character is a venture-captain they get a reduced cost. I wasn't aware player characters could be venture-captains! I have done a little searching but am unsure. Is this actually referring to the OOC position of our local Venture-Captains, and what I assume is an assigned character? Or is there a vanity or some way to acquire such a rank IC?

I am most interested.

As a side question I've seen two rulings on Vanities from factions like Chiliax, being able to be purchased or not by the faction that replaces them. I've seen a quote from additional resources saying that they couldn't, but I also don't see that exact text that was quoted in the additional resources page... So anyone know the ruling on this off the top of their heads?

Sovereign Court

As with most classes that give you an animal companion, it just stacks for levels for that one animal companion. I'm curious, if the phantom animal of the Totem Spiritualist would stack with anything like, Hunter levels as the same companion or if it would have to be a separate companion?

Sovereign Court

32 people marked this as a favorite.

The Mech Pilot's Guide

A Letter to Lady Gloriana Morilla:

Dear Lady Gloriana Morilla,

I wish to thank you personally for the inspiration that has given me the power to fight for the future we believe in. Having risen to a post of some stature once, and having lost it due to the unwillingness of supposed allies has left harsh lessons. A Future worth fighting for. A world where those of noble skill and hearts unify to ensure all are prosperous.

My work, would not be a thing if not for the Court's inclusion of me in the Society. I have garnered the resources to test a powerful new weapon. One I believe will ensure those unwilling to meet diplomacy, will falter. As well as those whom need protection, will find a wall to shelter them. While my tongue is silver, this weapon is the collective worth of many a strong warrior.

I've included some details in this letter about the weapon which I've dubbed the Mark-One. It's uses a simple and overlooked spell of some potency. I believe with it, on the front of efforts that cannot be so simply solved with words we will have little to worry about going forward.

Thank you for your faith, and guidance.
-Karai Lamarchand Snillore

The Main Report:

Man am I nervous. This is my first time building a guide and I tried my best to stick to what the general community seems to do with these things. I've been working months on this. It all started when I stumbled into the spell, having mistaken it for another spell on my Occultist's spell list for a home game.

Later, I started to explore it's uses in Society play and found myself fascinated with the RP aspect of being a Mech Pilot in Golorian. I'm pretty nervous about sharing this, and plan to respond to all questions the best I can. I also plan to keep the guide updated as I learn more, as well as create an eventual FAQ.

The Build, has been tested in seven scenarios. When I say build, I mean mechanic. As it is really more utilizing a singular spell to pull off the entire RP. However it is freaking strong and I've started asking my DMs/GMs before I play if I have permission to play it as well as warning them and giving additional information ahead of time.

Besides some art that needs updated, and maybe some clean up this guide is sort of in it's rough draft stage. However I'm too eager and excited and really want to share it---and I will likely get some excellent feedback post.

For now, please, enjoy and give feed back (and corrections!) my guide to being a Mech Pilot in Pathfinder!

The Mech Pilot's Guide

Also please excuse the crazy IC post. I got pretty damn excited and decided I'd do a little RP with this. I.. Half expect something to be banned or errated out to fix this crazy nonsense too... Ha.

The Alpha - Zeta Test:

  • Scenerio 33: Assault on the Kingdom of the Impossible
    Scroll cast was successful. Was only useful for one fight, however decimated the enemy. Became unable to progress due to underground.
  • Scenario #5-19: The Horn of Aroden
    Was successfully cast early in. Decimated the first two battles.
    Ran out before the third due to excess time for travel. GM doubled the presence of one enemy and soaked most of what may of been a TPK if not for the Suit. Two enemies took more then one round to kill,
    rest died immediately.
  • Scenario #8-16: House of Harmonious Wisdom
    Suit was never popped. Didn't need to.
  • Scenario #8-14: To Seal the Shadow
    Enemies had the upper hand. Had to pop suit early. Before could reach combat, bard countersonged. Suit was not useful for next portion so left suit. Other skills came in handy.
  • Scenario #8-01: Portent's Peril
    Popped suit and Burrowed under house to use the enemies own tunnels. Devastated the enemy. Had to leave suit to act as Face for party.
  • Scenario #7-08: To Judge a Soul, Part 2
    Popped suit to deal with difficult terrain. Rescued ally who had fallen into river. Used inside of suit as shelter before encounter with enemy. Was able to detain enemy. Second fight used enemy's cover to climb speed into them faster. Worked excellent to make them focus on me. Final enemy destroyed upon contact. Little resistance.
  • Scenario #8-10: Tyranny of the Winds part 2
    Avoided suit for most of game. Was playing up. First encounter was too easy, second utilized Occultist necromantic servant till out of focus points and swarmed enemy. Third fight opening TPK'd party except self--self rescued party and destroyed enemy.

Sovereign Court 2/5

This will be my second time running this scenerio that ended with a bit of confusion.

Spoiler:
Everything has run well and pretty darn good. Except no one seems able to read Zarta's handwriting on Handout #2. The lines that require translation, I'm sure each party could of figured it out. However neither could read every letter (Most mistake the Q as a G).

Anyone know what the letters are? Not the translation. No need for that. Just the actual letters as my players even post playing are still trying to decipher it and are getting weird stuff--and we just can't seem to figure out what letter we're reading wrong (much like they usually do with the Q being mistaken for a G)?

Sovereign Court

So there are a number of spells like Magic Jar and Possess Object, that's duration reads something along the lines of: Duration 1 hour/level or until you return to your body

The Until you return to your body has come up in discussion. A few people where assuming they could be in contact with the possessed body or object, with their original body.

A GM ruled that the text until you return to your body, included the physical contact between a possessed target and the original players body. Most, seemed to think that return to your body was only intended to explain the process of the player willingly returning their spirit via dropping the spell or having the possessed body die sending them back.

I could not seem to find answers by searching the text, return to your body, or searching the spells that say that in the duration.

So I'd like to get rules clarification on this, in case it comes up or to be 100% sure of it.

2/5

So, I have searched the forms, and I see where people ask about buying statues as they are listed as being able to be purchased. I have a build, I kid you not, that requires a rather large statue.

I'm attempting to buy a statue, for mechanical use. I already got transport figured out and I kind of want to keep secret my use until post using the statue. I just need a rock solid price or way to price it.

Initially we looked at material per pound cost, and not all materials list this. We also looked at various objects of similar size, as it really only needs a humanoid form, some detail on the chest, and the construction.

We had been looking at Vanity items. However it appears Statues primarily appear in Ultimate Campaign, which only lists on additional resources legality with traits (thus, if we understand this correctly means the buildings in UC cannot be purchased) otherwise I could just buy a statue form it's listings.

Another route, we've looked into may be simply getting the base cost of a Golem of the size and material to represent the cost for the statue minus spell casting and all that nonsense as we aren't making a freaking golem.

Is there any hard rule we can use, that would be Society Legal, to purchase a statue? Or are we in the dark here.


Howdy Folks,

I did a search on google and used the forums mostly searching the name of the spell and the words actions, as well as a few combinations of actions to see if I could drudge up anything. Most of what I got was some fun discussions about the spell but not the answer I was seeking.

For those unfamiliar with the spell

http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/ultimateMagic/spells/possessObject.html

It works like Magic Jar, and animates like Animate Objects. I have several questions, some had prior answers, but I felt they where not given proper attention and some that don't seem to show. Mostly with Action Economy -depending on the conclusion of wording.

According to the spell: You possess a single object, as opposed to a creature. At first leaves me thinking I can only possess a single object of some undefined size.

It then reads: animating it as if the animate objects spell.

This leaves me with a curiosity. In Animate Objects you can animate a number of objects based on your caster level. While the Possess Object reads: "This spell functions as magic jar, except you transfer your mind to a single object", it does also read "animating it as if using animate objects, except your mind controls the object as if it were your own body.".

So my first question is; do you technically possess one object, while animating a number of objects within your amount allowed by caster level. Or do you simply remain to the one object, as per the first line of the spell.

My second question is; if by some weird, unlikely, silly, reason that you get more then one animated object out of this is how would their actions work. Would each have their own, pulling from your abilities, or would they all only have a collective set number of actions. A single shared move action, a single shared attack action. Meaning only one object gets to move or attack.

I believe the wording, indicates only one object of the size equivalent to your allowance by caster level via animate objects :

"Targets one Small object per caster level; see text"

"You may animate one Small or smaller object or a corresponding number of larger objects as follows: A Medium object counts as two Small or smaller objects, a Large object as four, a Huge object as eight, a Gargantuan object as 16, and a Colossal object as 32."

Or does it mean that, via some weird reasoning you'd be able to possess one object, counting as one, but technically be animating several? Or even technically possess the several at once?

The third question; what is the target for a dispel magic? If it is like Magic Jar would it not have the same needed target for a dispel (the Jar or crystal acting as a tether or the original body my spirit is from) or would it for some reason just need to target the Possessed Object?

The Fourth Question; Assuming you have a way to change the objects size. Does the CP remain the same (I know some say you don't get CP, but CP seems to be automatic based on the size of the animated object). I assume it remains the original sized objects CP.

Final Questions; Spells and Speaking does not work while possessing the object. Can a familiar with speech speak for you, and can you still use abilities, like Lay on Hands or Focus Powers from an Occultist?


So looking at the current rules for submission 750 words is the limit. Is this an absolute or if your over lets say anywhere from 5 to 50 words will there be a problem? I imagine so, as it is a word limit but is it an absolute word limit?

I've been working on my first attempt at a submission and I have found that some of the details on skill checks I'd like to see are taking up... a bit more then I'd like. As I'm a fan of giving players options and I've sort of figured different paths for each encounter I've written in.

Next I did some searching and one thing I've seen asked but not seen an answer is use of Venture Captains. Do we just use an existing Venture Captain or should we make our own up, as long as they are nothing world changing?

Now for future Scenarios I have some things I'd like to add. A small tribe of Orcs with their own culture that pop up here and there as regular NPCs in a few submissions. Same clan maybe not same NPCs, is that allowed as it wont be super impact on anything?

The final thing I noted that you can't do a big huge adventure path, but can you re-use npcs from other scenarios you submit and / or potentially use additional scenarios as a continuation of some minor sub plot involving them that simply advances as consequence of PC action?

Like lets say I submit two scenarios that are only related by some similar themed area or bad guy, and a third scenario that leads the two quest giving npcs to potentially 'fall in love' and a fourth to have some kinda weird conclusion I don't wanna reveal too much on yet. If each is written as it can be still an individual scenario without the others, but would be better with all four played in sequence, is that an okay thing? I assume not but I'd like to inquire.

I will likely post more later. My grammar is kind of messed up due to a poor early education, and I definitely need editing, and I have been following many suggested threads (passive voice still boggles me despite reading soooo many descriptions).

Anyways thanks for taking the time to look over my questions and to give any feedback. I hope I am not, you know, being that stupid newbie asking the things asked a trillion times. I just didn't seem to find my answers in my three or four searches I've done (on three occasions). Likely my own fault. Ha ha ha.