Zasril

Bane Wraith's page

Organized Play Member. 882 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.



1 to 50 of 85 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

Ahoy! Just want to be sure I'm not missing something vital.

So, I have a non-monk character choosing to use the Shielded Gauntlet style feats. They opted to use basic gauntlets, not spiked gauntlets. The character wields a dagger in one hand. They do not have Improved Unarmed Strike.

The character chooses to make an attack with their gauntlet alone.

1) As this is an unarmed attack, do they still provoke AoO? Or, is the fact that they're otherwise holding a dagger (threatening spaces around them with it/considered armed) mean that they don't provoke AoO?

My opinion is that they don't provoke AoO.

It seems if they didn't have the dagger, they'd provoke AoO as it's considered an unarmed attack, and they have nothing equipped to suggest they're armed and threatening. Likewise, it seems they would provoke AoO if their melee weapon of choice was something two-handed or a weapon with reach.

Combat - Core Rulebook:

Unarmed Attacks: Striking for damage with punches, kicks, and head butts is much like attacking with a melee weapon, except for the following:

Attacks of Opportunity: Attacking unarmed provokes an attack of opportunity from the character you attack, provided she is armed. The attack of opportunity comes before your attack. An unarmed attack does not provoke attacks of opportunity from other foes, nor does it provoke an attack of opportunity from an unarmed foe.

An unarmed character can't take attacks of opportunity (but see "Armed" Unarmed Attacks, below).

"Armed" Unarmed Attacks: Sometimes a character's or creature's unarmed attack counts as an armed attack. A monk, a character with the Improved Unarmed Strike feat, a spellcaster delivering a touch attack spell, and a creature with natural physical weapons all count as being armed (see natural attacks).

Note that being armed counts for both offense and defense (the character can make attacks of opportunity).

-
=
-

2) The character is an Occultist and wishes to know whether to apply Legacy Weapon or Aegis (Effectively a weapon enhancement bonus or armor enhancement bonus) particularly for use with the Shielded Gauntlet Master feat, which uses this enhancement bonus for extra shield AC.

My opinion is that they use the weapon enhancement bonus.

However, I'm unsure if the armor enhancement bonus would work as well with regards to the feat. I'd be lenient and suggest that both work (without stacking), but thought I'd post the question here.

Shielded Gauntlet Master:
Benefit: While using Shield Gauntlet Style, you no longer lose your shield bonus to AC when you attack with your gauntlet (or spiked gauntlet) or use it to hold a weapon. In addition, you add your gauntlet’s enhancement bonus to the shield bonus to AC granted by this feat as if it were a shield enhancement bonus.


Core Rulebook wrote:
Shooting or Throwing into a Melee: If you shoot or throw a ranged weapon at a target engaged in melee with a friendly character, you take a –4 penalty on your attack roll. Two characters are engaged in melee if they are enemies of each other and either threatens the other.

I don't have Precise Shot. But, I do have this snazzy bow and arrow.

Which of the following scenarios, if any, suffer a -4 penalty to attack due to shooting into a melee?

A) Two armed bugbears are currently in melee combat, feuding over who will get to eat me. Neither are my friend. Both would happily kill one another and me. I don't care which I hit.

B) A bugbear and the party rogue, disguised as a bugbear, are in melee combat. The bugbear would attack me, the rogue would not. I can't tell which is which, but happen to select the real bugbear as my target when I attack.

C) A bugbear and a disguised rogue are side by side. Neither are currently in melee, but both are armed and suspicious. Both have a readied action that if anyone attacks, they'll melee one another. I choose to attack, and trigger the readied actions in the process.

D) A bugbear and that one Chaotic-Stupid rogue are engaged in melee combat. The bugbear would attack me, the rogue would remain an ally- probably. No disguises. I don't care which I hit. Seriously; an 'Accident' would be perfectly fine here. Please.

E) A bugbear and the party monk are engaged in melee combat. The bugbear would attack me. The monk would not; He has Deflect Arrows, and sincerely doesn't care if I hit him by accident. I don't care which I hit.

F) A bugbear and a Lawful-Stupid monk are engaged in melee combat. The bugbear would attack me. The monk would not attack me- Unless I miss the bugbear. He has Deflect Arrows, Snatch Arrows, and Throw Back Arrows. If I hit the bugbear, the monk will remain an ally. If I miss, he will be my enemy. If, somehow, he counts as being targeted, he'll throw it right back. In spite of my best interests, I choose to be Chaotic-Stupid and go for it anyways.

Scenarios A through F; Which are fine, and which are friendly?

Bonus Round)
The monk from scenario F and the rogue from scenarios B&C , are in melee combat. The rogue is disguised as the monk, and has betrayed the party. Same rules as F apply for the monk. I attack, and question my life choices and judgement of character.


Does a blast with the Cloud, wall, or other form infusion, also damage a kineticist that is caught in its area? Is there a way around it?

I like the idea of using Ride The Blast to appear in the middle of a Blizzard cloud, obscured and dangerous, but I don't want to be buffeted by my own powers!

Perhaps I missed a feat somewhere that acts like the Selective Spell metamagic?


Heyo. Asking this because my search-fu has only yielded many older, long threads with regards to attacking from stealth, and I haven't quite found a conclusive statement.

Is attacking from stealth still debated? Does a character that chooses to attack after using stealth (Say using the Hide In Plain Sight ability) get any bonus or deny the opponent their dexterity?

It seems the PRD still has the "It's impossible to use Stealth while attacking" quote, but I'm not sure if the 'Breaking Stealth' section is a newer addition or otherwise not present when the above was discussed years ago.


What counts as a nonmagical attack? What counts as a magical attack? Is an attack that overcomes magic DR automatically considered a magical attack?

Here are some examples I'd like clarified:

A) An attack by a fighter with a +1 longsword
B) A level 4 Monk's unarmed strike (w/ ki pool)
C) A natural attack by a creature w/ DR/magic
D) An attack using the spell Stone Discus

For reference you may want to consider the rules for Incorporeal creatures and Damage reduction.

There are also several effects in the game that reference nonmagical attacks, but don't necessarily cause one to become incorporeal. See a Breeze-kissed Sylph , or Subjective Reality from Occult Origins (Though the latter can be debated). This question only exists because most of the above claim to be magical "for the purpose of overcoming damage reduction".


Can you make a touch attack (whether ranged or melee) against an object that is worn, wielded, or otherwise attended? If so, what's the AC, or how is it resolved?

There's a 100-post long thread with regards to Disintegrate's use against worn armor over Here. A large part of it is of people disagreeing that it can target an attended object in the first place. Other spells, such as Node of Blasting and Rusting Grasp may benefit from this thread.

Some potentially helpful material:

Smashing Objects
Sunder
PRD's Magic Section Especially in regards to Aiming a Spell and Range (touch)
Touch Attacks
Touch spells in melee have been ruled to usually be done with the hand

Some people have suggested it is resolved as if a Sunder maneuver, using your hand (melee touch) or the ray (in disintegrate's case). Some suggest assigning an AC to the item as per Smashing Objects. Some claim success with a simple touch attack against the attending creature (Especially with regards to Rusting Grasp). Others still seem to houserule, or propose methods not clearly described in the RAW.

What's your take, and what rules have been missed or looked over?
It'd be appreciated to have any inferences made accompanied by a link to the relevant rules.


Can an object with Node of Blasting cast upon it be used offensively to touch a creature? If so, or if not, what is considered 'touching the object'?

To elaborate:

This is mainly a question as to whether "Touching X" is synonymous with "Being Touched by X" for the purpose of spells.

A variety of spells and abilities can be used to launch objects at other creatures without directly touching the object itself. Node of Blasting is one of many spells that require physical contact with a creature, and one of the fewer spells that are phrased as a creature touching it, not vice versa.

In pathfinder, especially with regards to 'holding a charge' and delivering touch spells, there have been some murky points as to what counts as 'Touching' (Such as when a spell accidentally discharges). There are other spells that explicitly describe they can't be used offensively (such as Antilife Shell) and Node of Blasting is not one. In plain english, Touching something can refer to either putting your hand, fingers, etc, on something, or it can refer to simply being in contact with something. So, what happens?

Some example situations under question:

1) You cast Node of Blasting on a moving object, such as a rolling ball. A potential target chooses to stand idly in the path of the ball, making no other action. The ball and target collide. Does the spell discharge?

2) You cast the spell on a rock at the bottle of a pit. A character jumps (or falls) into the pit, and collides with the object. Does the spell discharge?

3) As part of a needlessly complex system, an object and character are rushing towards one another at the same velocity. They collide. Does the spell discharge?

4) You choose to cast the spell on a coin in your possession. You are not otherwise handling the coin, but it is in direct contact with your being. Does the spell discharge?

5) You cast the spell on a loaded crossbow bolt. The bolt is not directly handled by the shooter, and is fired (via a normal attack roll), hitting a target. Does the spell discharge?

6) You cast the spell on a bucket. A character idly chooses to kick it. Does the spell discharge?

All above examples are of a Node of Blasting clearly coming into physical contact with a target, whether intentionally or not, without the character attempting to handle the object with their hands. Citations or reference to specific rules would be appreciated in any and all responses, and if an argument is to be made based on delivering Touch spells, a solid reason for why these mechanics relate would be appreciated.

Some possible reference material:

Most of these are intended for touch spells, but there seems to be little reference otherwise.

Node of Blasting (duh)
FAQ referencing Magus' Spell Strike, and noting Touch Spells being delivered via the hand.
FAQ regarding Touch Spells and worn equipment
Witch Spell 'Spite', for using touch spells defensively.

PRD; Combat, under 'Holding the Charge':
Holding the Charge: If you don't discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates. You can touch one friend as a standard action or up to six friends as a full-round action. Alternatively, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) while holding a charge. In this case, you aren't considered armed and you provoke attacks of opportunity as normal for the attack. If your unarmed attack or natural weapon attack normally doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity, neither does this attack. If the attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges. If the attack misses, you are still holding the charge.

Previous Thread


As if a lesser form of telekinesis, can you use Mage Hand to touch an object to a creature within 15 feet?

Not sure if this has been answered anywhere. If so, please do link.

The Reason:

If you were capable of using Mage Hand to touch an object to an enemy, you could use it to touch a pebble w/ Node of Blasting to an opponent without directly handling the object yourself. Clearly, Mage Hand is not written to be offensive- what I want to know is how much accuracy this spell was intended to have.

Since you can launch it up to 15 ft in any direction, would you say that it'd allow a ranged touch attack to reach a specific target? Would you even need to make a ranged touch attack?

Since this is a non-magical object that has had a spell cast upon it, would it be a possible target for Mage Hand in the first place?


Is it:
A) Entangled, Staggered, Unable to move.
B) Pinned, Unable to move.
C) All the above.
D) Only unable to move.

PRD; Gunslinger, Archetypes & Class Options, Advanced Class Guide wrote:


Pinning Shot : At 15th level, the bolt ace can spend 1 grit point while shooting a crossbow and attempt to pin down its target with the bolt. If the crossbow attack hits, it pins the target to a nearby object, to a wall, or to the ground, entangling and staggering the target. While pinned by the bolt, the target cannot move (except by teleportation) until it takes a standard action to free itself from the pinning bolt. This deed replaces menacing shot.

I'm a little curious as to whether this ability grants the actual conditions of Entangled, Staggered or Pinned, along with all their penalties (Limited actions per turn, -4 AC, -4 Dex, -2 to attack rolls). The only certain effect it seems to unquestionably have is the inability to move without taking a standard action, but some of the above conditions also fit. It's important to know, especially when this deed can be chosen by Signature Deed and applied to every single attack.


APL 4-5. Using Automatic Bonus Progression (So, no flat enhancement bonuses, resistance bonuses, etc.). Excluding weapons and armor. Need some decent generic gear for an extremely poorly equipped party, the main cast of which are a dagger-wielding rogue, a natural attack using ranger, and (mostly) melee hunter. Main Tactic: None of us are fighters, The main healer's dead, but let's charge in anyway!

Looking for some generally good equipment for min. 3 players, totalling 6000-8000. More than willing to let them exceed this total, as a reward for putting up with nearly no equipment for so long.

The dagger-wielder had to craft his daggers. From the bones of an orphan. Help.

Explanation...:

I'm still only a fledgling GM at this point, and taking a shot at making a homebrew game for my players. 8 or 9 sessions later, it seems pretty successful, though I'm having a little difficulty putting some creativity into the story.

A more immediate issue is their gear; After a rampage through a prison island, trudging through a small dungeon, and fleeing from trolls, the players (APL 4, very soon 5) barely have any gear to their name. The most pricey bits of gear they've found are a single set of usable mithral armor and a few potions, scrolls and minor wondrous items that they've failed to identify (They got unlucky and lost the one spellcraft-savy NPC they knew... As well as 1 player death, and a few other NPCs they dragged along...). I'm quickly beginning to realize I need to enrich (pun intended) their next encounter.

Anticipating this, and knowing myself to place only what's necessary and expected in a grittier barren world, I've given them bonuses as per the Automatic Bonus Progression, and they've so far adapted pretty well. But the players have missed a few opportunities and are only now really getting the chance to a visit a neutral/friendly town. Knowing the players, they're Not going to invest time in researching desired items for themselves, so it's going to be up to me (Or you guys!) to suggest items, and provide opportunities to get them without all the coin they never picked up.

Their next encounter is likely going to be through some abandoned drow ruins, and at least one monster attack at an above-ground settlement. Basically, I can throw in any shiny knickknacks I like... But that massive list of items is a bit intimidating, so I'm posting here first for some general advice before diving into every specialized belt, boot, and bracer.


The PRD, in the Magic section of the core rulebook, states the following:

PRD wrote:

Summoning: A summoning spell instantly brings a creature or object to a place you designate. When the spell ends or is dispelled, a summoned creature is instantly sent back to where it came from, but a summoned object is not sent back unless the spell description specifically indicates this. A summoned creature also goes away if it is killed or if its hit points drop to 0 or lower, but it is not really dead. It takes 24 hours for the creature to reform, during which time it can't be summoned again.

When the spell that summoned a creature ends and the creature disappears, all the spells it has cast expire. A summoned creature cannot use any innate summoning abilities it may have.

Emphasis mine.

Questions for any Summon Monster n users:

1) Does this mean you may not summon creatures of the type that died for 24 hours?
2) What happens when you're capable of summoning multiple creatures of that type?
3) What does it mean for the monster to 'reform'?
4) What is the nature of the monsters you summon?

Are they their own entity, or echoes? Are they capable of bringing messages back to their home plane, or isolated? If your 'Bob the hound archon' dies, can you still summon 'Tim' and 'James' the hound archons?

Is this All GM territory, and if it is, does the emphasized portion of the quote mean mechanically?

This is a continuation of the thread found here


I've not played in groups that heavily rely on Summon Monster spells, and only once used a called outsider. I'm planning to make an Arcanist with the Occultist archetype. My question is simply; Does an outsider summoned via the Summon Monster spell retain all knowledge skills and the ability to communicate said knowledge to the caster?

If I summoned a Xill, as an example of a creature that speaks common and has a +14 to Knowledge(Arcana & Planes), could I use it to make a knowledge check for me? If so, is there a limit to using a summoned creatures knowledge checks in this way?


I'm pretty sure this this would have been answered in the past, but my search-fu is weak...

Reading the description of virtually any crossbow; Loading it requires X action, and some of them allow you to shoot it (but not reload) with only one hand.

With crossbow mastery and this ability, does this finally allow someone to wield a crossbow with absolutely no need to manually reload it? If so, does this finally allow a hassle-free dual-wielding Hand Crossbow bolt ace?

Granted ammunition will still likely be in hand's reach, you are technically taking no action, not even a free action, to reload your weapon. It's only the action, now not an action, that requires two hands.

It seems obvious to me this only refers to the time required, but I could always be hopeful. After all, this is "Inexplicable"...


Okay. So, a wizard/arcanist/bard (Whichever) picks up this useful little spell. How can an early level character 'Forget' the information they've memorized? Is there no other early-level method to forget what Memorize Page has magically imprinted in your mind?

The Arcanist uses Quick Study, prepares it, and commits a spell to memory from a scroll without wasting the scroll itself. The Wizard prepares it one early morning, memorizes a treasure map, and burns the real thing. The Bard copies a speech or some sheet music to perform in front of royalty without needing to constantly reference a sheet of paper.

All useful stuff. Their individual goals are fulfilled, the party continues on adventuring. A few days, weeks, or even months can pass. These beings *Still* have the information. Only the bard, at much higher levels, can actually modify their own memory; The wizard or arcanist must have the UMD skill and an expensive magic item, or find someone to perform this specific (And Dangerous!) service.

Am I missing something?


Can an a character that has taken the "Battle Host" archetype of the occultist class use the focus power "Conjure Implement"? If so, what happens?

Would it:

A) Not function for them, due to the lack of any implement they know how to use?
B) Only be used to conjure a masterwork replica of their Panoply Bond?
C) Conjure any weapon, shield, or set of armor that the battle host knows how to use (Is proficient with)?
D) Other?

A is a possibility because the implement class feature was strongly altered into their Panoply Bond.

B is one interpretation, but the only possible use I could see for this is the unlikely event of their original panoply bond being stolen. This would eliminate the possibility of using the Conjure Implement ability in the first place.

C would be the dream option; The ability to summon a weapon for any situation, or a set of armor before an encounter, would be both thematically appropriate and most useful in my opinion. All the battle host's other abilities are centered around armor, weapons, and shields, and these are the items they can select from for their Panoply Bond in the first place. The wording "Know how to use" would prevent them from summoning exotic weapons or firearms without other dedicated feats.

I can't really think of another possibility.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

When using the "Conjure Implement" focus power, under the Conjuration school, can an Occultist immediately wear the armor they conjure without the need to take minutes donning it normally?

Why I ask:

Spoiler:
I'm thinking about making a Battle Host occultist, and making their bonded item something near-impossible to disarm and able to be wielded constantly without consequence, such as a gauntlet.

The game I'm planning to join is using Automatic Bonus Progression, eliminating the need for magic armor or weapons with enchantment bonuses, so a plain masterwork set of armor is more than adequate. Thus, Conjure Implement would be effectively giving my character some of the best possible equipment they can use, with other focus powers allowing them to imbue it with any additional abilities (Flaming weapons, Fortified armor, etc.).

If Conjure Implement can be used to immediately don a full set of heavy, full-plate armor, this will eliminate the need for wobbling around in a mobility-hindering, sleep-obstructing heavy metal suit that requires other people to don properly.


1)A Kitsune is "Agile(EX)"; +2 on acrobatics checks.

2)A Kitsune can "Change Shape"; an effect equivalent to a polymorph subschool spell (alter self), which changes you into a specific appearance/form.

3)While under the effects of a polymorph spell, you lose all extraordinary and supernatural abilities that depend on your original form.

Question; When a Kitsune is in Human form, (or fox shape if that feat is taken), do they lose their Agile racial trait?
EDIT: What about their "Kitsune Magic(EX/Sp)"?

EDIT2: Bonus Question: Is a Kitsune in human form immune to size-changing and involuntary polymorph spells?


My character has managed to create an animated object, the Craft Construct way, that is both capable of supporting his weight (in light load) and has a movement speed of 40 feet.

Since constructs cannot fatigue, suffer non-lethal damage, does not sleep, etc, it's safe to say that this construct can "Hustle" indefinitely.

Is it safe to say they can also Run indefinitely? (Given that its creator staves off sleep and other activities during this travel time, and can direct it appropriately)?

If so, how would this be calculated for overland movement?


The question: Can an Unarmed Strike ever be considered a Concealed Weapon?

This topic is particularly of interest to rogues or ninjas wishing to use the "underhanded" rogue talent.

A previous thread I posted was marked for FAQ; Staff response was 'no response needed'.

Looking up questions regarding the Underhanded rogue talent, it seems there was a thread that might clarify its use of concealed weapons, And it claims to have been answered in the FAQ, but I have found no such entry.

Other threads have some community input, but no official answer.

Could anyone lend some aid on the matter?


Heyo! So, I'm having a little trouble in my search of how multiple such factors interact, and determining which encounters would favor a sneak-attacking rogue (Given NO additional talents or feats). If anyone could provide some insight on the following questions, it'd be much appreciated:

1) Does being Aware of an opponent imply the need to recognize them as an actual (potentially armed/ill-intending) opponent, or merely perceive their existence? (An example would be passing through a crowd; Would a rogue that has successfully disguised themselves as a mundane, non-specific crowd member, get a Surprise round? )

2) If the above implies the need to recognize an opponent as an opponent, does that need further entail recognition that they're combat-ready? (Or, is it simply an initiative roll at that point?)

Naturally, some talents (such as Underhanded) would benefit greatly from the need to recognize an opponent as a potential combatant. I'm sure that has its own thread somewhere. Meanwhile, it seems that if neither of the above are answered positively, then it all boils down to who acts first on Initiative. Which brings up question three:

3) If 1) is answered "no", then is there any other non-feat, non-talent specific factor that benefits the Initiator of a combat over that of the target? (In other words, does it always boil down to a simple initiative roll every time? )

And finally, there's the question regarding a new combatant entering a pre-existing combat scenario:

4) If original combatants (A&B) are unaware of the joining combatant (C) right up until the moment "C" takes their action, are A&B flat-footed or otherwise especially vulnerable towards C's advances?

Clarifying such matters would go a long way towards having a rogue or other combatant (such as an ever-armed Monk) make educated choices on when to begin combat. Thank you in advance for any input!


Can I make an item identical to Eyes of Charming in every way, save that it uses "Charm Monster" instead?

It seems Very strange to me that Eyes of Charming uses a heightened Charm Person spell, instead of Charm Monster... and I can't seem to find any reasoning why a "Charm Monster" spell wouldn't work in its place.

Eyes of Charming
= 4 (heightened spell level) * 7 (CL) * 2000 (use-activated)
= 56,000 GP

Effect: On-use DC 16 Charm Person , CL 7th

New Item (Let's call it Eyes of Monster Charming)
= 4 (spell level) * 7 (CL) * 2000 (use-activated)
= 56,000 GP

Effect: On-use DC 16 Charm Monster , CL 7th

Edit: That Is right, isn't it? ... Raised to a 4th level spell, requires a minimum of 14 intelligence, +2 modifier, meaning a save DC of 10 + 4 + 2 = 16... It seems to fit the estimations perfectly. But the same calculations let you achieve an item with even greater use.... and one that lasts for Days, even, if successful.


Since they can be considered creatures (constructs), can you sunder an intelligent item?

How about animated objects (created via the craft construct feat, so they can still be held)?


Alright. So, I've been looking into this. I'm hoping to make a wizard that'll earn "Craft Construct" by level 5, And since it's going to be a couple of levels before I can even make a homunculus, I might as well see what I can do with Animated Objects.

Specifically, animated objects modified with weapons.

All the following relates to Animated Objects made using the Craft Construct feat.

So let the questions begin:

1) Is there any difference between crafting an animated object using the feat, as opposed to using the spell 'Animate Objects'?

2) Can an animated object be subject to a Weapon Modification, even if that modification would normally change the size of that animated object?
( For example; Outfitting a Tiny animated object with a medium creature's Greatsword, or a Small animated object with a similarly sized Great Axe)

Bonus: Would it suffer for wielding a weapon not built for its size category?

3) Does a weapon's reach apply? crit range? All questions found Here and Here ... (I'm actually unsure if that was, or if there is, a truly 'official' response... )

Edit: Also other things like range, ammunition consumption and reloading, damage type, and possible combat maneuvers...

If I had to throw in my two cents... I'd hypothesize that an animated object needs to have the appropriately spent construction points to gain any benefits of a weapon other than pure and simple Damage modification. This includes range, reach, crit multiplier, and damage type. Furthermore, an animated object created using the Craft Construct feat can be carried or worn, since it's not actually a spell effect. But I'm left in the gray as to whether or not a Small chair can have a Large Greataxe grafted onto it...


Does a kitsune's "Gregarious" racial trait ( or any custom-made race with it ) stack with itself?

Effectively, is there a limit to how many times a kitsune can "win someone over"? Or is it theoretically possible to stack the penalty multiple times, and have anyone a slave to your charisma-based skills?


Alright, so when a transmutation spell of the Polymorph subschool turns you into...:

PRD wrote:
a creature of the animal, dragon, elemental, magical beast, plant, or vermin type, all of your gear melds into your body.

Wonderful.

We know what happens to the armor bonuses... we know where the equipment goes, and we know that your ability scores aren't changed unless noted by the spell.

So, what happens if you're already carrying a medium or heavy load, and you're encumbered? Can a spell of the polymorph subschool really make that go away?

You pick up your new form's base speed. That's great; but should that speed be reduced to a certain amount because of a heavy load prior to the spell? Likewise, does equipment have any effect on your total weight After the spell?

Right now, I'm looking at the Kitsune's "Fox Shape" feat.

Is this feat really the By-the-RAW answer to gaining 40 base speed while carrying a heavy load?

Sadly, I can only quote this much from d20pfsrd :

SRD wrote:


Fox Shape (Kitsune)
You can change into a fox in addition to your other forms.

Prerequisites: Cha 13, base attack bonus +3, kitsune.

Special: A kitsune may select this feat any time she would gain a feat.

Benefit: You can take the form of a fox whose appearance is static and cannot be changed each time you assume this form. Your bite attack’s damage is reduced to 1d3 points of damage on a hit, but you gain a +10 racial bonus on Disguise checks made to appear as a fox. Changing from kitsune to fox shape is a standard action. This ability otherwise functions as beast shape II, and your ability scores change accordingly.

PRD:

Beast Shape II
Fox
Polymorpph spells


So, you can use the Secret Stash deed to whip out an Adamantine bullet.

You can use the Secret Stash deed to whip out a magic bullet (say, a Dry Load bullet, or a Tracer )

...But can you use Secret Stash to obtain an already-poisoned pitted bullet?

Pitted Bullet wrote:
The cost of purchasing an already prepared poison compound for the purpose of treating pitted bullets is equal to the poison's base cost + 20 gp.

Add 5 GP, and that's your poisoned bullet...


My search-fu is weak.

Would someone kindly show to me:

1) Any statement within the RAW that shows that a temporary ability bonus cannot apply to feat prerequisites, but a permanent bonus can. (Or any statement to contradict this, if it is not the case)

2) Any statement within the RAW that a feat can/can't be taken in the following scenario:

- An alchemist with the Feral Mutagen discovery qualifying for the Multiattack feat (even only when under the effects of a mutagen)

- If the above case is allowed, what about a witch with the flight hex qualifying for Flyby attack, or similar. What are the limits?


...Simply reading from the PRD, I'm not yet finding anything to contradict this. I'd appreciate if someone corrects me... Because this really seems like it shouldn't work.

Can a witch repeatedly "Blight" someone that they've got an active "Scar" on?

...Essentially, does that mean being scarred is sure death unless you can remove the hex in time?

Blight doesn't seem to have any limit in how often you can cast it on one person; simply a limit to how many can be active Furthermore, if it's a curse effect with no onset time, does that not mean it immediately deals 1 con damage on a failed save?

...In otherwords... if you manage to Scar someone, with or without their knowing, can you essentially kill them at a distance of 1 mile?

Blight wrote:
Blight (Su): The witch can curse an animal, plant creature, or plot of land, causing it to wither and die. Blighting an area takes 1 round, during which time the witch and her familiar must be in contact with the target. If it's used on a plot of land, the land begins to wither the following day, and over the next week all plants in the area die. Nothing will grow in that area so long as the curse persists. A witch can affect an area with a radius equal to her class level × 10 feet. Blighting a creature is a standard action that requires a melee touch attack. If used on a creature of the animal or plant type, the creature gains the following curse: Blight Hex—type curse; save Will negates; frequency 1/day; effect 1 Con damage. Both types of curse can be removed with a remove curse or similar magic, using the save DC as the DC to remove the curse. A witch can only have one blight in effect at a time. If another blight hex is made, the first immediately ends.
Scar wrote:
Scar (Su): This hex curses a single target touched with horrible scars of the witch's choosing, whether something as simple as a single letter on the target's forehead or blotchy, burnlike scars on his body. The target may make a Will save to resist this hex. These scars do not interfere with the target's senses or prevent it from using abilities, but may affect social interactions. The witch can user her hexes on the scarred target at a range of up to 1 mile, and she is considered to have a body part from the target for the purpose of scrying and similar divination spells. They persist through disguises and shapechanging. The witch can withdraw this hex from a target as a move action at any range. The number of supernatural scars the witch can maintain at once is equal to her Intelligence bonus; once she reaches this limit, she must remove the scar from a current victim in order to mark another. Effects that remove curses can remove the scar.


For many factors, it's clear to see when levels in Master Chemist will stack with existing levels in Alchemist;

Bomb damage... Check
Extracts CL... Check
Duration of mutagenic form... Check

But some things seem a little in the gray:

For example, take Dispelling Bombs, an alchemist discovery. Would those take both Alchemist levels and Master Chymist levels together, to determine the CL of the Dispel effect?

How about Spontaneous Healing & Healing Touch?

The one phrase that gives me hope, can be taken from the description of the Master Chymist's 'mutate' ability:

PRD wrote:
In this form, she gains all the bonuses and penalties of her mutagen and adds together her alchemist and master chymist levels together to determine her effective alchemist level for the duration of this form.

This, interpreted one way, can make it seem like Not only are the alchemist and Master Chymist levels added together to determine the duration of the mutagenic form; FOR THE DURATION of that form, Effective Alchemist level = Alchmist levels + Master Chymist.

In other words, an Alch 8/ MC 7 could use things like Spontaneous healing as a level 15 alchemist...

The Extracts Per Day quote, which claims, as per usual, "She does not, however, gain other benefits a character of that class would have gained, except for extracts per day and an increased effective caster level for extracts." may obviously be brought into question. However, one may argue that since there is a particular, Specific time where effective alchemist level is equal to Alch + MC levels, there is no conflict, that trumps the general statement.

What say you? What say the officials? Has this question been asked before?

Edited: Extracts per day --> Extract CL, at the very beginning of post.


Alright, so, I've been planning out a character very reliant on dexterity and intelligence, with a crossbow as their main weapon... Eventually, this character is going to have rapid reload, crossbow mastery, and multiple different bonuses for his ranged combat style. I've been trying to plan out ways at later levels to add a little punch, and eliminate a few weaknesses...

Then I thought: Hey... Launching Crossbow. Dip a single level in Alchemist, get "Throw Anything" for the bonus int modifier... essentially gain the ability to use splash weapons in a full attack, with all the benefits of using a crossbow And using splash weapons. Right?

...Well, it seems a bit sketchy to me. So I'd like to ask a few questions to the community here, see if the motion passes according to the Rules as Written, and general consensus.

So:

1) Does using a Launching Crossbow apply bonuses (enhancement bonuses, and any granted from feats or class features relevant to crossbows) to the splash weapon as a typical crossbow would to a bolt?
3) If so, does it affect the actual splash damage of the splash weapon?
4) Is it still a ranged attack against touch AC?
3) Does it *Also* count as using a splash weapon for the purpose of the Alchemist's "Throw Anything" ability, thus applying a +int modifier?

Any input to help clear this up would be appreciated!


5 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Staff response: no reply required.

After a brief search, I failed to find an answer.

Is it legally possible to Conceal an unarmed strike, especially for the purposes of the Underhanded rogue talent? After all, it is a light weapon... But something tells me this talent wasn't designed for someone hiding a fist in their pocket. Would suck even more if one had to draw their fist as a Move Action w/ Quick Draw =P

That being said, combined with sap adept, sap master, and various other rogue talents and feats, this'd make a hell of a surprise round.


What I'm mainly looking at are their respective Grit abilities. Do they work together? Do they stack? Does one alter the other, or do they not function at all?

...Some important things to note:

1) The Bushwacker's "Trembling Grit" ability Alters that of the Gunslinger class' original "Grit" ability.
2) The Mysterious Stranger's "Grit" ability simply suggests that the gunslinger gains a Grit ability that works off Charisma, instead of Wisdom. But nowhere does it say that it alters, or even replaces the Gunslinger's original "Grit" ability (Obviously, It's probably intended that it Alters the ability. Still, it's never written. Which befuddles me...)

...so, By RAW, How would you interpret these two archetypes to interact? Can both archetypes be taken? What about the Rules as Intended?


Is it possible to have a gunslinger with both these archetypes?

On first glance, the answer is an obvious "no", since they both replace the DeadEye deed. On the other hand, though, the Pistolero archetype actually regains the Deadeye deed at a later level.

Because the Pistolero is effectively only moving the DeadEye deed around, is it possible to take both these archetypes to make a powerful, close-ranged ratfolk gunslinger?


This question is specifically intended for a Kitsune that takes the appropriate Fox Shape feat. However, I suppose the same question can be asked for any creature under the effects of a Beast Shape - like spell or ability.

The main question; When using Fox Shape ( or similar abilities) to take the form of an animal (fox), can you use Disguise Self to change into any type of animal of equal size?

So, a kitsune's wearing a Hat of Disguise. One day, he decides he wants to infiltrate someone's manor by appearing to be a harmless housecat. Sadly, the Disguise Self effect of his Hat is nowhere close to capable of doing such.

So instead, the Kitsune takes off the Hat. He turns into his Fox shape. Then, he dons it once more. Now, he looks like a cute Tiny kitty, with a little ribbon (Or earring or whatever), and nobody without Detect Magic's the wiser.

Can it be done?

Edit: If it can, does the Hat of Disguise need to be removed and donned again, or can the kitsune just keep it on since it's a constant effect?


I was thinking the other day of trying out a Myrmidarch (Magus Archetype), developing into Arcane Archer. Words of Power seemed like a neat idea for the character, especially with a ranged spellstrike, for Targeted damage-dealing words at excellent range. (And later on Imbued Arrows)

Before taking the idea anywhere beyond the contemplation phase, I was wondering if some of the more experienced forum-dwellers would care to share thoughts on how useful the Words of Power system is now, or will ever be.

Will Paizo ever be making improvements or changes to the system, in the near future? What are the current exploits and/or limitations of the system? What's your advice on its balance or use as it stands now?


A little while ago, I heard from another player that having access to an extensive library might justify a character performing a second knowledge check where they've failed a time before.

I haven't found anything to support that at all, nor really have an idea where it might have come from.

Is there anything by the RAW that might allow one to retry a knowledge check?

Spells, maybe, that might allow a reroll? A significant enough change in bonuses? Anything of the sort?


...Been looking around at some old threads regarding the use of Actual Weapons as improvised weapons. Sadly, my search-fu is weak, and I've decided to ask here for a quicker answer.

When using a Masterwork and Magic weapons (or even ammunition) with an enhancement bonus, does such a bonus apply when using the weapon as an Improvised Weapon (such as by a Monk of the Empty Hand)?

Are there official statements or RAW to support either argument?


Sylph.

"Airy Step" racial feat. (prerequisite)
"Wings of Air" racial feat.
"Inner Breath" racial feat.

Can I go walk on the moon now?

embed a Clear Spindle ioun stone in my forehead.

Can I go Live on the moon?


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

If this post has already been answered elsewhere, please link to it and forgive this entry.

Vivisectionist's Sneak Attack class feature has some rather unique wording...

PRD wrote:


http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/ultimateMagic/spellcastingClassOptions/a lchemist.html#vivisectionist-(archetype)

Sneak Attack: At 1st level, a vivisectionist gains the sneak attack ability as a rogue of the same level. If a character already has sneak attack from another class, the levels from the classes that grant sneak attack stack to determine the effective rogue level for the sneak attack's extra damage dice (so an alchemist 1/rogue 1 has a +1d6 sneak attack like a 2nd-level rogue, an alchemist 2/rogue 1 has a +2d6 sneak attack like a 3rd-level rogue, and so on). This ability replaces bomb.

So here's the main point: Though the text above gives a clear example of Vivisectionist and Rogue classes stacking together, it never explicitly states that only the rogue and/or base and/or alternate classes are the only ones it can stack with. The wording does not limit the class feature from stacking with Prestige Classes that also grant Sneak Attack.

This can be both detrimental and beneficial to the character.

Multiple prestige classes gain the Sneak Attack class feature at level one. Because they are "Classes that grant sneak attack", they would qualify to stack with the Vivisectionist's Sneak Attack... basically forcing the character to gain, At Most, one additional sneak attack die every Other level (instead of potentially one every level, by taking multiple different Prestige Classes that grant it at level one.)

One prestige class in particular can stand to gain from the Vivisectionist's sneak attack; Because it gains an additional sneak attack die every 3 levels, you could potentially gain an additional sneak attack die by investing a single level in Vivisectionist

For example: an 18th level character has Rogue-8, Master Spy-10. He gains 4d6 SA from his levels in Rogue, and 4d6 from Master Spy (total 8d6). At 19th level, he can take Vivisectionist. He is then Rogue-8, Master Spy-10, Vivisectionist-1. Because he now has 19 levels in "Classes that grant Sneak Attack" they stack to determine the effective rogue level for the sneak attack's extra damage dice. In this case, an effective rogue level of 19. Which means 10d6.

Last but not least... the number one flaw here...

Though many prestige classes qualify as "Classes that grant sneak attack"... Their own Sneak Attack class feature is often defined as follows (We'll take the Master Spy as example):

PRD wrote:


Sneak Attack (Ex): This ability is exactly like the rogue ability of the same name. The extra damage dealt increases by +1d6 at every third level (1st, 4th, 7th, and 10th). If a master spy gets a sneak attack bonus from another source, the bonuses on damage stack.

This is repeated in many prestige classes..

Quote:
If an assassin gets a sneak attack bonus from another source, the bonuses on damage stack.
Quote:
If an arcane trickster gets a sneak attack bonus from another source, the bonuses on damage stack.
Quote:
If a low templar gets a sneak attack bonus from another source, the bonuses on damage stack.

To summarize...

All these qualify as "Classes that grant sneak attack"... And all of them grant *Stacking* sneak attack damage, On top of other sources, as is the norm. They would grant sneak attack damage in Addition to what the Vivisectionist's Sneak Attack class feature gives.

Our level 19 Rogue-8, MS-10, Vivisectionist-1 character just went from 10d6 to 14d6, because the Master Spy's sneak attack damage is given in addition to that of the Vivisectionist's.

The Vivisectionist's Sneak Attack class feature absolutely must be rewritten to specifically omit prestige classes from the "Classes that grant sneak attack" ... if it is to work as intended.

EDIT: P.S. It'd also be nice to know officially how Vivisectionist, Ninja, and Rogue all interact together as well.


Say a character picks up a chair leg, or even a sturdy stick...

Will that improvised weapon (that would deal bludgeoning damage) count as a "Bludgeoning Weapon", for the purpose of the Sap Adept and Sap Master feats?

Thought about taking "Catch Off-Guard" and "Bludgeoner" on a rogue. Pick up any old object that can be used to deal bludgeoning damage, and still apply the massive bonuses from Sap Adept and Sap Master (Especially the latter since every hit will be against a flatfooted (if unarmed) opponent)

Is this legal?


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Friend has a Ninja.
Ninja has Vanishing Trick.
Vanishing trick is Swift action.

Friend is currently in stealth mode. Takes a ranged attack at an opponent a sufficient distance away. (simple standard action). Before going into stealth again with his Move action, he wants to use Vanishing Trick for the immense bonus thanks to invisibility.

Can he do it?

Standard action shoot
Swift action Vanishing Trick
Move Action (sniping) stealth check.


What exactly counts as "natural damage reduction", for the purpose of the Student of War's deadly blow ability?

would DR gained through various class features or feats count?


Tried something a little bit different one day; Took a Sylph character, gave 'em the "Cloud Gazer" feat... decided that, in combat, he'd have an Eversmoking Bottle, unstoppered, strapped across his shoulder.

The idea: Teehee, maybe I can be a major annoyance, run around in smokey area that I can see perfectly fine through, and force a close combat that I excel at!

...As readers might have imagined by now, it didn't work out so well.
So. Might as well get these questions out of the way:

1) Does Cloud Gazer see through Smoke as well as fog mist, and clouds?
2) What is the nature of the Eversmoking Bottle's smoke? Is it:
- Non-magic, or magic in nature
- capable of granting Total Concealment? Only concealment? Neither?
- Following the same rules as, say, a Fog Cloud?
- possible to see through to a certain distance?
- Following the bottle, if the bottle remains in motion?
- Hard to breathe in, choking, (like the Pyrotechnics spell required to make the item) ?
- ,If above is true, capable of suffocating a creature?

Throw in whatever else you can think of...

and finally... something completely Cloud Gazer related:
3) In the event of a Fog Cloud, an effect created by magic, does Cloud Gazer grant one the ability to see 15 feet through without penalty, or None at all, since anything within 5 feet already has Concealment?


Combat maneuvers used by certain monk archetypes use the character's Monk Class Level in place of their base attack bonus. In a similar question to the recent synthesist one, How does this interact with the BAB gained through other classes? Does it combine at all?

In short, if I take a 1-level dip into the Terori monk archetype, will all my future grapple checks be doomed to an effective BAB of 1?

What about the Maneuver Master, where the description for Flurry of Maneuvers seems to be more specific to that single class feature?

Do the same rules apply anywhere else and/or with other classes and class abilities?


title says it all.

The reason I'm asking; Diverse Training, from the Eldritch Knight prestige class.


Some classes wear a full set of armor. Others seem to just seem to run circles around opponents, or parry.

In an unavoidable encounter with a physically tough opponent, which quality shines the most; Being the Tank, or being the Evader?

Goal: Your purpose is to be the person standing between your Large Opponent, and your supportive party of ranged damage dealers (archers, ray-shootin' sorcerers, a gunslinger, etc.). You must survive or delay your opponent for at least 3 rounds.

I leave the levels to you. You may use:

Any combination of classes & Prestige classes that is plausible.
Skill use, and Combat Maneuvers
Class abilities, feats, etc.
Mundane (non-magical) equipment, preferably not single-use.

Spells, traps, and environment-based tactics are discouraged; try to keep to feats, skills, class abilities, and mundane equipment. You have One round to ready yourself. Your "supporters" are cheap pricks who won't share actually supportive spells or tactics. Basically, you're bait.

Your mission is to survive a 3-round, close-range, full frontal attack, possibly composed of several Natural attacks, Unarmed attacks, or Weapons, in any combination. The purpose of this thread is to determine whether or not there is any one strategy that clearly outshines the other (With or Without optimization), and in which situations.

You may, of course, counterattack as you see fit. Consider the opponent to be a Large humanoid or beast. If your actions cause some effect that your opponent may be immune to, note it, but try not to rely on it. Consider your opponent strong enough to withstand your attacks for three rounds as well, until your supporters can pick them off.

Any takers? (possibly similar threads?)

Edit: Just to clarify... 'Tank' may refer to a character that gains AC through tangible armor, that specializes in Taking a hit with minimal consequence, and that generally tries to be a Survivor. 'Evader' will rely more on skills, feats, abilities, and various other tactics to effectively dodge, parry, or avoid head-on attacks without the use of stealth or fleeing.


15 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

The Pathfinder Chronicler prestige class grants Bardic Performance, which stacks with any other Similar ability to determine effective Bardic level.

The Archaeologist wields Archaeologist's Luck, as a replacement to Bardic Performance. In addition, it gains none of the class abilities that use Bardic performance. All this is instead replaced by the Luck ability.

Does the Pathfinder Chronicler's Bardic Performance instead add to the Archaeologist's effective bard level, for the purpose of Archaeologist's Luck?

Archaeologist's Luck *should* work with Epic Tales... And the rest of Pathfinder Chronicler's abilities don't seem to conflict at all. It's only this one class ability. To know if it works or not by RAW is rather important.


Thunk the Titan Mauler Half-giant, picks up a dagger.

That dagger is actually suited for a Gargantuan creature; it's ten feet long, and deals a mere 2d6, and takes Two hands just to wield (let alone Lift).

Point is Not that it deals the same damage of an appropriately sized Greatsword, with a ton more penalties;

Point is this: Can I wield that dagger One-handed, for an additional -2 penalty, thanks to Jotungrip?

if not, why is it Jotungrip allows me to wield a Greatsword one-handed, but not a larger sized Longsword?

If yes, please answer quickly! =D

1 to 50 of 85 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>