![]()
Search Posts
![]()
![]() So I'll start with the fact that Crimson Throne is my favorite campaign, it's the one I started with as a GM, it's the one that over 13 run throughs I have taught the most first time players the game and then been their first full campaign, and I think is the one that tells the best and most adaptable story to any party that fits themselves in the town of Korvosa. As mentioned above, I have completed 12 GMings of the game, and am currently on the 13th (though it is on haitus for personal reasons of one of the players). Those campaigns run around the time the remaster came out, though I have a strong preference for the original printing. Obviously some of those games are too old to have my own memory be good enough for what happened and some contact with players has such drifted away over a decade+ of life. However, for the most recent four completed (and eventually the one on haitus) campaigns we have commissioned "post campaign" art of not only the entire party, but also every major NPC the party had saved along the way at the top of Castle Korvosa and overlooking their journey through the Storval Plateau and eventually to Castle Scarwall. Obviously, many campaigns have been run and still are being run, and because of how big this campaign is to me I wanted to let the background and NPCs act as a sort of community option to any party that similarly wants to commemorate a successful run. The art was commissioned through 2 artists, both who match the style of the original Crimson Throne art style very well, but one got a job as a videogame concept artist so the other had to take over. If you'd like your own version, basically all you would need to do is have the artist make your new PCs and perhaps do slight redraws of some NPCs or rarely create a new NPC that my groups did not cover; aside from whatever that costs, you otherwise are paying a small legacy cost for the background (that goes entirely to the artist for maintaining/updating/compositing your final batch of NPCs). Here is a folder containing 3 of the four amazing versions of the end of the campaign. You can also find other examples of the the artist's work (including the party for our Mummy's Mask campaign and that same party who is on haitus' first commission for their Crimson Throne campaign) at @Tangeeart on instagram, twitter, or reddit. Likewise, they also can be reached at artingallthetime@gmail.com. List of Commissioned NPCs and other background features: Tayce Soldado and her two rambunctious boys Grau Soldado likely looking at Tayce's struggle sympathetically Brienna Soldado revering either Ishani or whichever PC healed her Ishani Dhatri Amin Jallento Sabina Merin pensively in bland civilian clothing after surrendering to the PCs successfully Field Marshal croft in either her armor, or a regalized attire if elected Queen and paired with Marcus Endrin as King Vencarlo Orisini Neolandus Kalepopolis Thousand Bones The Sun Shaman Krojun Eats-what-he-kills Devargo Bavarsi Glorio and Meliya Arkona (in the off chance the party sides with them as a way to undermine Ileosa's influence) Salvatore Scream Laori in an Abadar style clothing for her redemption after scarwall Togomore Ramoska Arkiminos (he has a convoluted side plot I usually write in, but one that can see him rid of the vampirism he is trying to purify, thus letting him appear here as a thankful ghost) Zellara and Venster appearing together as ghosts one last time with the harrow deck Kepira D'Bear Boule Majenko Belshalam can appear in the distance near Castle Scarwall if the party spared him and is hidden in a layer of the art otherwise There are two versions of Cindermaw, one where she is alive and one where the party may have killed her so she is lying dead. Other features include the waterfall of Kaer Maga, the Acropolis of the Thrallkeepers, The House of the Moon (original layout as a tower), and Korvosa Academy in the foreground ![]()
![]() So perhaps my googlefu is failing me and its just that hard of a problem to describe or it has been answered before, but is there functionally a difference between a weapon that has two damage types and one that has either type? E.g. Is a weapon with "B or P" any different in practice better or worse in any conceivable circumstances than a "B and P" weapon? My assumption is no because you can call in the or case which ever is better of the two say in the case of DR, but maybe because you have to call it you're supposed to have a chance to call wrong in case you don't know the enemy's DR. (Also who even bothers to remember if you have an or or an and (Irori this is confusing) to even call one or the other?) There also isn't any downside to an and weapon whatsoever as the damage doesn't get split, it just checks if you have one of the damage types for DR or all of the excluded damage types for damage immunity. ![]()
![]() I imagine this is straight forward, but wanted a sanity check or maybe someone knew some eclectic rule from an old system that was lingering somewhere in my brain... If you roll a nat 1 on a roll where said 1 is an autofail, do riders based on the roll total still apply? Examples are a mirror image being shattered when the nat 1 still has a high enough bonus to miss by 4 or less against the targets AC, kingdom building where a failure by 5 or more means you gain 1d4 unrest instead of just one, and failing a trip on a nat 1 where you are not failing by 10 or more so you would not normally be tripped instead. I would assume in all cases you still simply check the total roll value against this rider effect, but nat 1 is meant to be total failure, which makes me think there *might* be some extra intention behind this. I also couldn't find an FAQ which again makes me think it's just straight forward. ![]()
![]() I have currently run into a disagreement with how illusions work, specifically saves to disbelieve. My GM believes that as figments such as illusory wall do not have "textural" sensations, that someone simply rubbing their hand over the wall not just gets a save to disbelieve as per interaction, but they would instantly be counted as automatically passing by the "proof the illusion isn't real" clause. He bases his reasoning that an image spell or illusory wall (just a permanent silent image of a wall that remains non see through when you disbelieve) has completely zero tactile response. I disagree with his premise and conclusion respectively: Images do have some tactile response, they just don't have "textural" response (as per silent image) but you would feel some vague force pushing back (as per silent image also saying you manifest a force) but that fuzziness of an untextured force pushing back from the wall/other image would tell you that you get the save to notice something is off. Second, while the spell isn't a phantasm directly tricking you into believing the wall is there and apparating a wall that you can see, it is still creating some force which would give you a save because there is a discrepancy, and that save is your ability to simply notice the difference. The difference isn't instantly noticeable as soon as you interact. There isn't another way to interact with the wall short of groping for it's fakeness (as if you were feeling for a real but hidden door anyway) that doesn't greatly tread the line of metagaming. Obviously illusions are a touchy spot because so much of the rules is still unclear and intentionally freeform, but at least too me this is far too easy of a way to just make all illusions useless if as soon as you lay a hand on them, you instantly know for a fact that it is fake. ![]()
![]() So I can't find anything on this, but apparently the disguise self spell is a +10 untyped bonus to disguise checks, while the disguise kit is of course listed as a +2 competence bonus. Obviously, by RAW, they should stack, but based on the wording of the spell... Disguise Self wrote: You make yourself – including clothing, armor, weapons, and equipment – look different. You can seem 1 foot shorter or taller, thin, fat, or in between. You cannot change your creature type (although you can appear as another subtype). Otherwise, the extent of the apparent change is up to you. You could add or obscure a minor feature or look like an entirely different person or gender. Why wouldn't any changes you make with the kit be completely obscured by the effect of a disguise self spell, as if either the spell were a competence bonus and they weren't stacking, or some other method of simply not getting the bonus? I guess this can also be extended to things like alter self and then wearing a hat of disguise, etc. ![]()
![]() To my surprise, these two abilities haven't been mentioned, that I could find. Normally, I would say that RAW lingering performance reduces the cost of Soothing Performance to 2 rounds of performance as the 2 rounds of lingering could cover the cost of the remainder. Lingering Performance:
The bonuses and penalties from your bardic performance continue for 2 rounds after you cease performing. Any other requirement, such as range or specific conditions, must still be met for the effect to continue. If you begin a new bardic performance during this time, the effects of the previous performance immediately cease. But, Soothing Performance has a line mentioning "continuous performance" and it is unclear is Lingering Performance counts for this continuous performance or if continuous performance falls under the realm of "specific conditions" from Lingering Performance. Soothing Performance:
A bard of 12th level or higher can use his performance to create an effect equivalent to the mass cure serious wounds, using the bard’s level as the caster level. In addition, this performance removes the fatigued, sickened, and shaken condition from all those affected. Using this ability requires 4 rounds of continuous performance, and the targets must be able to see and hear the bard throughout the performance. Soothing performance relies on audible and visual components. My personal take is that this combo shouldn't turn a mass serious wounds+ into an even better alternative healing method and make Lingering Performance into an even more must have feat, but I'm just unsure as to the RAW. ![]()
![]() Can you execute a readied action on the same round that you quicken a spell? I had a player fall several hundred feat and die due to fall damage. Obviously his remains are now well outside of a move action and our Travel Domain cleric almost never has a use for phase door, so he quickens a Dimension Door in that slot every-day. Can he ready an action to cast Breath of Life when the dead party member is within reach and then dimension door, even though dimension door ends your turn and if done the other way around would not have let him cast the spell in time? While normally I would think that bringing back a party member in a mostly non-combat environment from what is essentially a trap is an ok handwave, but allowing this seems to open up *way* more possibilities for dimension door and casters that effectively negate that limitation. ![]()
![]() The spell lists it as personal, meaning it draws a 5ft/lvl radius from only ever the caster, but it doesn't clarify if that radius is affected by LoE or cover. Should the effect be a spread that just requires some line of effect, an emanation which is blocked by cover, or does it just always work regardless of anything else but distance to target and why? ![]()
![]() I have an unarmed Barbarian who wants to take Raging Brutality for his next level up. He already has worked his way down the Dragon Style tree and thus adds twice his strength mod to his first attack in a round and a 1.5 to the rest. We are trying to figure out if the multiplier increase Dragon Style would increase the Constitution modifier granted by Raging Brutality. It seems to make sense that it wouldn't as Raging Brutality sounds like it's just working like the original 2-handing rule, but Dragon Style doesn't increase the entire damage bonus as 2-handing (power attack remains unmultiplied) so Raging Brutality should remain unmultiplied as well. But I could also totally be missing something... ![]()
![]() While the ability mentions a fort save, the way it works is that you are distracted, not so much at risk of losing your lunch, so would an object/Construct/Undead that has to react to a swarm still be susceptible and need to roll a fort save vs a swarm's distraction? To me, it seems that the function is you aren't checking if you are "nauseated" so much as checking if you are even doing anything worthwhile as you try and "push through" a swarm that engulfed you. Therefore, you would still need to make the check as a construct/animate object/undead. ![]()
![]() So, long in short, I had a character concept I was sitting on that involves the character losing her eye-sight as part of a ritual forced on her as a child. She is a demonic Tiefling, in a Gestalt game as an Abyssal Sorcereress/Fighter, and as such, I wrote her sight as something not explicitly physiological in nature: even though her eyes were removed, and a permanent veil placed over her now missing eyes, she was begging to gain back her sight as a 6th sense and she eventually would eventually permanency an arcane sight. One way to do this is to just refluff her regular vision not as a mechanical change, but simply that she now sees things differently, her Demonic influence still being rooted and adapting to the veil. Another way would be to try and incorporate some scaling factor like the Clouded Vision Oracle Curse on top of that, but eventually gaining blindsight isn’t something to be freely handed out either. For anyone who might have an opinion on this, what would you say is a good thing to give up for the ability to gain an Oracle Curse and have it scale with your character level or even half character level like normal Oracle curses do? A feat, a Sorcerer Bloodline arcana/power, etc? ![]()
![]() In mundane Crafting and Magical crafting rules, a player can raise the DC by +10/+5 respectively to increase the speed of crafting. Can this be done multiple times to gain the effects again? e.g. For mundane crafting, can you raise the DC by 20 instead of 10 to multiply the result of your successful rolls by the DC+20 for seeing how fast you can craft? And for magic crafting, can you roll against a DC+10 for effectively 4 times the normal crafting rate, or +15 for x8, etc? ![]()
![]() Normal rules for Temporary Negative Levels are that if they last for 24 hours or more, you must make a save or they become permanent. The spell just says that you get a Temporary Negative Level for 1 day and doesn't mention a save or a way to calculate the DC as it isn't coming a from a monster ability like energy drain. I am assuming this means it just goes away, but wanted to be sure I wasn't missing anything. Breath of Life wrote: Creatures brought back to life through breath of life gain a temporary negative level that lasts for 1 day
![]()
![]() Some Double weapons (like a double sword, Darth Maul style) make sense as to why if you take the feat, you get the effect to both sides, because it's the same weapon on both ends. But others, like the Urgosh and "sickle and chain" are realistically two different weapons on either end of the proverbial stick. In both cases, just taking the feat would allow you to do what you need two keen weapon abilities to do. ![]()
![]() If I attempt to follow a BBEG that opens a gate to his own demiplane with my own planar shift to follow, his plane is incredibly small and it is guaranteed that I will end the shift well outside the limits of the demiplane. Do I end up in the Astral Plane or do I (and my party) take the shunting damage for moving all the way back into the normal limits of the Demiplane (1d6/5ft)? ![]()
![]() Arcane Spontaneous Casters have a mental fatigue tracker. After receiving the effects of resting for 8 hours, the DC is set at 0. Every time a spell caster casts a spell, the DC increases by the spell level of the spell just cast. Once the spell is complete, the caster must make a Will save equal to the mental fatigue DC; the caster cannot fumble this check and does not need to roll is the DC is equal to her Will save+1. If the caster fails this save, she gains the condition "Mentally Fatigued". If the caster already has the Mentally Fatigued condition and fails this Will save again after continuing to cast, the caster gains the "Mentally Exhausted" condition. Should the caster continue to cast from this point and fails her Will save a third time, the caster falls unconscious until her DC reaches 0 again. For every minute the caster goes without casting or concentrating on a spell, the DC lowers by 1 to a minimum of 0; once the DC reaches 0, the mentally Fatigued and Exhausted Conditions are removed. New Conditions: 1. Mentally Fatigued: A character who is mentally fatigued takes all the penalties of being fatigued and has to make a concentration check DC=10+Spell Level or lose the action, but not the spell. 2. Mentally Exhausted: A Character who becomes mentally exhausted takes all the penalties of the exhausted condition and has to make a concentration check DC=15+Double Spell Level or lose the action and spell slot. New Feats: 1. Mental Endurance: (Prerequisites: CL1) The caster gains a +2 bonus on the Mental Fatigue Will save. 2. Mental Endurance, Improved: (Prereq: CL 7; Mental Endurance; INT, WIS, or CHA 16) The caster gains an additional +4 on the Mental Fatigue Will Save and a +2 on concentration checks made as part of the Mentally Fatigued or Exhausted conditions. 3. Mental Endurance, Greater: (Prereq: CL 15; Mental Endurance, Improved; INT, WIS, or CHA 19) The caster gains an additional +4 on the Mental fatigue will save, an additional +2 on concentration checks made as part of the Mentally Fatigued or Exhausted conditions and while Mentally Exhausted only suffers the effects of Mentally Fatigued. When the caster would normally fall unconscious from failure of a third Mental Fatigue save, the caster instead suffers the effects of the Mentally Exhausted condition. 4. Mental Tenacity: (Prereq: CL7) When the caster would lose a spell for failing a Mentally Exhausted concentration check, she has a 25% of not losing the spell. My main questions are
![]()
![]() So we have the Celestial half-humanoid and the fiend half-humanoid, but what happens if they meet and have a baby? There isn't anything in base game for a Nephilim type race and I haven't found anything for them in the forums. I recently finished reviewing the Blood of Fiends/Angels companion books and created my own idea of what they would be stated at. (It assumes that the base Aasimar and Base Tiefling count as "bloodlines".) Size: M
Nephilim get either a +2 bonus to attack against any outsiders besides other Nephilim or a +1 on all saving throws against their effects and to AC
These abilities and traits have their own story/lore reasons behind them but right now looking for balance concerns. Any feedback is welcome. ![]()
![]() So I'm looking to make some giant snakes to scare the squeamish players in my game, but I don't see anything about constrict that says its affected by size increases (from adding a template) and a lot of the constrict granting abilities don't say if they do or not. I would assume that since it does say X damage for medium X-1 for small, etc. that it doesn't scale but it might also be that it assumes medium creature damage and I'm supposed to calculate from there. Does anyone know for sure? ![]()
![]() I'm looking to have a druid for once of my games who does not use wildshape (a player wants something else that fits the flavor of his character) but we cant find anything in any of the Archetypes that meet what the player want (I don't actually know what he wants, but he's new to the game and probably just doesn't understand the rules enough to make a guess at how it functions). He is a human Druid that has a snake companion and is more a nomadic "nature mystic." Any ideas that would work to replace the wild shape ability with something else that scales would be appreciated. ![]()
![]() So I'm looking to use a weapon that is well known in the real world for its eastern Assassin usage in a homebrew game. The weapon (as seen here) is worn either on the pointer finger and pinky finger or attached at the wrist and pushed against palm of the hand, and is used by slashing across flesh, raking the hand against the target. (A nice demo video here.) Someone told me this is a weapon that exists in other DnD versions (he specifically said 3.5) but wasn't ported into Pathfinder; my question is whether or not this exists anywhere, and if it doesn't what are some of your opinions as to how it could be remade in PF as a custom item. Also if I were to make this as a item, what sort of KN or Craft checks needed to be made (obviously Craft (weapons)) and what said DCs might be. Thanks ![]()
![]() Hypothetical: So I have a character that has a 0 misfire value (reliable culverin) that has rolled a NAT 1. It doesn't misfire since it has no misfire value, but does it still fumble, automiss, or calculate the attack against enemies AC as normal for a gun? Surprisingly couldn't find anything when I searched "misfire 0 fumble or hit". Personally I think it would still just miss as almost all of the fumble cards don't make sense for guns (except for one where you just throw your gun at them), but being able to resolve the attack normally would still be nice. ![]()
![]() So I'm a little blind but I started a thread that belongs here in General Discussion because I didn't see this one. Here is a link to OP and early replies: http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2rtpq?Weapon-size-ruling ![]()
![]() "A weapon's size category isn't the same as its size as an object. Instead, a weapon's size category is keyed to the size of the intended wielder. In general, a light weapon is an object two size categories smaller than the wielder, a one-handed weapon is an object one size category smaller than the wielder, and a two-handed weapon is an object of the same size category as the wielder." "Inappropriately Sized Weapons: A creature can't make optimum use of a weapon that isn't properly sized for it. A cumulative –2 penalty applies on attack rolls for each size category of difference between the size of its intended wielder and the size of its actual wielder. If the creature isn't proficient with the weapon, a –4 nonproficiency penalty also applies." "The measure of how much effort it takes to use a weapon (whether the weapon is designated as a light, one-handed, or two-handed weapon for a particular wielder) is altered by one step for each size category of difference between the wielder's size and the size of the creature for which the weapon was designed. For example, a Small creature would wield a Medium one-handed weapon as a two-handed weapon. If a weapon's designation would be changed to something other than light, one-handed, or two-handed by this alteration, the creature can't wield the weapon at all." I am in a tangy (not fully heated) discussion about whether or not one can use a Medium sized shortsword as a Small longsword to overcome the difference in damage type (and take a -2 penalty for size difference) because the damage, weight, and special qualities (which it has none). My reading say that this is possible because of the lack of a direct ruling (that I have found) and because it logically makes sense ignoring rules (see below for explanation). If there is anyone who knows of a official ruling, please link me to it or if a creator/editor could tell me that would help. My interpretation of the rule is that a small long sword and a medium short sword are both tiny sized therefore no difference in mechanic size and there is no significant difference in physical dimensions size by the descriptions of the weapons. There is also no difference between them besides one uses Slashing damage and the other uses Piercing damage. However, should this be true, I am now using a small weapon as a medium creature so I must take a -2 on my attack roll. In real life this would make even more sense, a short sword (say roman glatus) is designed for stabbing and puncture wounds but can still be used for slashing all be it with less efficiency. A long sword (say Excalibur) is designed for slashing and hacking but can still be used to poke and stab, albeit with less efficiency. This efficiency could be represented with a -2 attack in pathfinder systems. This -2 attack is already present with Pathfinder's Iconic Barbarian. She uses a Bastard Sword sized for a large creature when she is a medium creature and just takes a -2 and uses it as a two-handed weapon (This is possible because she has a exotic proficiency feat that makes the Bastard sword a one handed weapon for a larger creature making it a two handed weapon for a medium creature. If she did not have the proficiency, she could not wield it because it would be pushed to a size category larger than two handed which is prohibited by the ruling "If a weapon's designation would be changed to something other than light, one-handed, or two-handed by this alteration, the creature can't wield the weapon at all.") Could this interpretation be pushed down to the difference of Medium short sword vs. Small long sword to account for the difference in damage types and the -2 awkwardness of attack style compared to intended use? |