Andrew Nevin's page

22 posts. Alias of kapow.


RSS

Grand Lodge

I would suggest that you give build examples such as an archer, mounted and standard melee build. I am playing an archer build at the moment using Divine Hunter archetype. It is far more powerful this way with what you gain with the archetype than the much weaker teamwork feats for archery.

Grand Lodge

I believe Sean K Reynolds has said it before the Vestigial Arm discovery was intended as a resource to have different options to them as indicated by the example. It was not intended to provide additional arms for combat, but arms to do other things like use potions and other items.

Grand Lodge

There are people that have posted on both sides of the conversation however some are more vocal than others. I know there are both points of view, that's why the post went up initially to look for an appropriate answer from someone with authority.

I appreciate your opinions, I am saying they are not the opinions I am seeking at this point. That's not meant to be taken as offensive I am looking for a source point to answer as it puts a definitive end to the conversation. If I am wrong I am wrong, that's fine and I don't mind that I just want an end to result that isn't questionable either way.

Grand Lodge

You can still fight with 4 arms and 2 2Handed Weapons. Just you can never lesson in PFS the penalties for doing so.

Grand Lodge

Okay PatientWolf there is the 1 point you are not understanding that I have said multiple times now.

The text of Vestigial Arm does not refer to the FEAT Two-Weapon Fighting, it refers specifically to the section of chapter 8 in the core rule book on page 202 titled Two-Weapon Fighting.

The FEAT "Two-Weapon Fighting" only reduces the penalty as per the rules within the Two-Weapon Fighting section of chapter 8. If the character has more than 2 arms they can not take the FEAT Two-Weapon Fighting they have to take the FEAT Multiweapon Fighting.

Please refer to the MWF Special section, how you are saying it's not an overruling feat I don't know, it states exactly what it does clearly. TWF and MWF only apply reductions to the rules for Two-Weapon Fighting. Once again this being the section from chapter 8 in the core rule book on page 202 which is what the part of Vestigial Arms is referring to not the FEAT "Two-Weapon Fighting".

Grand Lodge

Can we please steer away from the extra attacks section as it isn't relevant to the rules question at hand.

Grand Lodge

PatientWolf I posted here for an Official clarification above my own ruling. As easily as you are saying that my own agenda applies here as may your own.

MWF is an overruling feat, there is no 2 ways to argue around that. Vestigial Arms says it uses TWF which refers to chapter 8 of the core rule book. Which is a completely and utterly separate from the TWF feat which is immediately overruled by MWF once you have 3 or more arms.

I am not here to argue with you I am here for a direct answer from the Design team as your opinion is your opinion not a ruling.

Grand Lodge

Because they have taken the wrong feat, if they have 3 arms and are taking TWF that's an illegal feat choice, the character has to take MWF instead as per the special ruling part of MWF. If they already have TWF and gain a third arm like all other feats that you violate the prerequisites for by losing them or falling under a different ruling the feat becomes suppressed until the condition causing it to become illegal is removed.

Grand Lodge

MWF still replaces the TWF regardless of the text in the Vestigial Arms description because of that.

Grand Lodge

PatientWolf what you don't understand is in the vestigial arm text when is says using two weapon fighting it refers to the rules for two weapon fighting in chapter 8 of the core rule book not the feat.

Grand Lodge

Yes that is exactly what you are reading. As the special of MWF states. Anything with more than 2 arms requires it rather than TWF.

Grand Lodge

It's banned in PFS play, that does not mean that is ceases to exist.

It's Special: This feat replaces the Two-Weapon Fighting feat for creatures with more than two arms.

Clearly states exactly what it does. Refer to the additional Resources page.

Grand Lodge

I have an ongoing discussion with a player who believes because the Multiweapon Fighting feat from the Monstrous Feats part of Bestiary 1 is not legal for play, Two-Weapon Fighting is used for his 4 armed character.

His argument is because it's not legal Two-Weapon Fighting is never subject to the special component of the Multiweapon Fighting feat. I have told him that just because it's not legal for play doesn't make it non existent. The feat is still there and still replaces the Two-Weapon Fighting feat it simply means that in Pathfinder Society nothing with more than 2 arms can use 2 weapons within PFS.

Two-Weapon Fighting:
You can fight with a weapon wielded in each of your hands. You can make one extra attack each round with the secondary weapon.
Prerequisite: Dex 15.
Benefit: Your penalties on attack rolls for fighting with
two weapons are reduced. The penalty for your primary hand
lessens by 2 and the one for your off hand lessens by 6. See
Two-Weapon Fighting in Chapter 8.
Normal: If you wield a second weapon in your off hand,
you can get one extra attack per round with that weapon.
When fighting in this way you suffer a –6 penalty with
your regular attack or attacks with your primary hand and
a –10 penalty to the attack with your off hand. If your offhand
weapon is light, the penalties are reduced by 2 each.
An unarmed strike is always considered light.

Multiweapon Fighting:
This multi-armed creature is skilled at making attacks
with multiple weapons.
Prerequisites: Dex 13, three or more hands.
Benefit: Penalties for fighting with multiple weapons
are reduced by –2 with the primary hand and by –6 with
off hands.
Normal: A creature without this feat takes a –6 penalty
on attacks made with its primary hand and a –10 penalty
on attacks made with all of its off hands. (It has one
primary hand, and all the others are off hands.) See Two-
Weapon Fighting in the Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook.
Special: This feat replaces the Two-Weapon Fighting
feat for creatures with more than two arms.

Grand Lodge

Becoming Even More Fearful: Fear effects are cumulative.
A shaken character who is made shaken again becomes
frightened, and a shaken character who is made frightened
becomes panicked instead. A frightened character who is
made shaken or frightened becomes panicked instead.

The description of stacking fear effects from the core rule book.

Grand Lodge 2/5

2 people marked this as a favorite.

The smaller problem that's involved with the paper chronicle statement is that for instance I'm Australian and I play with people from all over the world, even sending a letter overseas costs us $3+ depending on where they live so if I have a table of 6 people that's an $18 overhead to mail everyone paper chronicles and I don't think that's a reasonable expectation on GM's.

Grand Lodge 2/5

For the existence of the Online play and for it's continued growth this is a necessary ruling coming from Mike and the team.

For me this is very simple and is a little similar to the choice to not allow crafting within PFS. It's made because of the minority that would seek to take advantage of the situation and to maintain uniformity across a platform designed to be compatible wherever you go.

For transparencies sake I've had to have one of my online sheets reissued because of this ruling after going back and verifying all of my sheets where legal.

Another +1 here if you need someone to look over sheets etc to verify that they are in order. Contact me via PM.

Grand Lodge 2/5

The following from Prepared Spell Retention says that components must be used to complete the spell. My interruption of that line of text would denote the completion of a cast time.

Prepared Spell Retention: Once a wizard prepares a
spell, it remains in his mind as a nearly cast spell until he
uses the prescribed components to complete and trigger it
or until he abandons it.

Grand Lodge

The monk class has a clear indication of the limitations to the choices for the feats not just as combat feats but at specific levels that would indicate and associate with HD rather than BAB.

The Warpriest doesn't suffer these restraints as it gains open access to choose from anything listed as a combat feat. This to me indicates that it is written as intended and cannot qualify for combat feats he does not have the prerequisite BAB for. Even in saying this most of the bonus feats are gained at levels with appropriate BAB for combat feats at +4, +6, +9, +11 etc.

It would be really nice to see the Warpriest levels to stack at either 1 to 1 or 1/2 Warpiest level for the purposes of qualify for Fighter feats such as Weapon Spec etc as BAB is not associated with those feats.

Do bear in mind ekibus that because you treat the BAB as full when attacking with your Focus and Deity weapons this does mean Power Attack functions as if you where a full BAB character so take away some +'s.

Grand Lodge 2/5

From my point NZ couldn't have much better leadership than these guys I think anyone on your tables will be extremely lucky after the quality of role-playing you guys brought to PaizoCon Oz earlier this year as players it makes me envious of the players on your tables.

Although I haven't had the pleasure of meeting Paul or playing with him I have no doubt he is equally awesome.

Grand Lodge 2/5

Definitely congrats Shadow Stalker, it's incredible to see such a dedicated youngster in our ranks. Keep having fun and providing fun for those you play with.

Now if you'll excuse me I have some local players to go inform that a 9 year old girl isn't scared of gming so they should give it a go. Maybe you will inspire them.

Grand Lodge 2/5

Hey you leave my yammering out of this! You guys like my yammering in the channel from time to time, plus besides you're finally getting your series you've been begging for me to run.

Decided if you will be coming up in November yet?

Grand Lodge 2/5

Hey whats another case of insanity in our city really going to do anyway Daniel?

Thank you for the privilege to share something I enjoy and help it grow.