Magus / Kensai - Perfect Strike Question


Rules Questions


Hey everyone, hope everyone is enjoying their Monday.

So I have a Kensai question. This question focuses on the following ability:

Perfect Strike (Ex)

At 4th level, when a kensai hits with his chosen weapon, he can spend 1 point from his arcane pool in order to maximize his weapon damage. Don’t roll for damage—the weapon deals maximum damage. This affects only the weapon’s base damage dice, not additional damage from sneak attack, magical weapon properties, spellstrike, or critical hits. If the kensai confirms a critical hit, he can instead spend 2 points from his arcane pool to increase his weapon’s critical multiplier by 1.

This ability replaces spell recall.

So.. Based on this description, here is my question:

Is there anything (that you guys are aware of) that would prevent the Kensai from spending 4 points to increase the Crit multiplier by 2? Or 6 to increase to in crease it by 3?

I ask because I'm not seeing a specific restriction here on how many times you could pump up the multiplier.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

ENF

Shadow Lodge

Not sure. In PFS they probably wouldn't allow it because people would have x6 scythes and not use their arcane pool for other things. ask your gm for other encounters.

Sczarni

Bonus Types: Usually, a bonus has a type that indicates how the spell grants the bonus. The important aspect of bonus types is that two bonuses of the same type don't generally stack. With the exception of dodge bonuses, most circumstance bonuses, and racial bonuses, only the better bonus of a given type works (see Combining Magical Effects). The same principle applies to penalties—a character taking two or more penalties of the same type applies only the worst one, although most penalties have no type and thus always stack. Bonuses without a type always stack, unless they are from the same source.

Core Rulebook, Page 208

Bonuses are all coming, untyped, from the Kensai ability. So, to answer your question: No, you certainly cannot.

Scarab Sages

ArmouredMonk13 wrote:
Not sure. In PFS they probably wouldn't allow it because people would have x6 scythes and not use their arcane pool for other things. ask your gm for other encounters.

A kensai won't be using a scythe. He'll be using a weapon that is 18-20 x2.

Liberty's Edge

EvilNecroFairies wrote:
Is there anything (that you guys are aware of) that would prevent the Kensai from spending 4 points to increase the Crit multiplier by 2? Or 6 to increase to in crease it by 3?

Wrong question. Is there anything that would allow the Kensai to spend 4 points to increase the Crit multiplier by 2? Or 6 to increase it by 3?

Perfect Strike does what it says it does. It doesn't do anything else. Just because the ability doesn't specifically say that you can't do something, that doesn't mean you can.

Posts like this make me upset enough to Rage. And then Rage again. And then Rage a third time!!!

Grand Lodge

Heymitch wrote:
EvilNecroFairies wrote:
Is there anything (that you guys are aware of) that would prevent the Kensai from spending 4 points to increase the Crit multiplier by 2? Or 6 to increase to in crease it by 3?

Wrong question. Is there anything that would allow the Kensai to spend 4 points to increase the Crit multiplier by 2? Or 6 to increase it by 3?

Perfect Strike does what it says it does. It doesn't do anything else. Just because the ability doesn't specifically say that you can't do something, that doesn't mean you can.

Posts like this make me upset enough to Rage. And then Rage again. And then Rage a third time!!!

This and so much this. Abilities ONLY allow what they specifically say they allow. If they can be scaled up by any means, those means will be specified in either the ability itself or supplementary rules written specifically for that ability.


Akinra, thank you for your post. It's laid to the point of where it makes sense. I can understand why it would be restricted

Thank you for your reply!

ENF


Heymitch wrote:
Posts like this make me upset enough to Rage. And then Rage again. And then Rage a third time!!!

If you had read thoroughly you'd know that doesn't stack! >:O


Similar question will the max damage and increased crit multiplier stack? Always wondered this one. Knew couldn't pay more for +2 or +3 to crit multiplier.


'instead' means you have to choose one or the other.


Dang, must of read over instead, stupid me.

Liberty's Edge

Heymitch wrote:
Posts like this make me upset enough to Rage. And then Rage again. And then Rage a third time!!!
chaoseffect wrote:
If you had read thoroughly you'd know that doesn't stack! >:O

Yeah, yeah, I know. They'd all be morale bonuses.

Still, the rules don't explicitly state that I can't shoot death beams from my eyes when I Rage, so I must be able to.

Oh, and my farts are vorpal...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magus / Kensai - Perfect Strike Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.