| bitter lily |
I just gifted my PCs in my Jade Regent game with a set of 6 Rings of Juxtaposition that would allow anyone wearing any ring in the set to cast a Touch spell on anyone else currently wearing another. My NPC gave them out at the end of the session. Now I get to think about the nitty-gritty. (Ouch! They finished up faster than I was ready for!)
I obviously am thinking of a different form of the
Reach Metamagic Rod Lesser reach metamagic rod 3,000 gp; Reach metamagic rod 11,000 gp; Greater reach metamagic rod 24,500 gp
The wielder can cast up to three spells per day with a one-step increase in their range category (such as from close to medium, or medium to long) as though using the Reach Spell feat.
Details I need to think about in setting limits on the gift & determining its value:
(A) The rod only applying to spells of a certain level vs. likely the same for the rings.
-- But what should the maximum spell level for the rings be?
(B) The rod granting 3 uses per day vs. most rings granting unlimited uses.
-- Do I need to impose a use limit on my Rings of Juxtaposition?
-- If so, is it for each caster, each target, or the set as a whole?
(C) The rod allowing any one-step increase vs. the rings granting step(s) up from Touch only.
-- Do the caster & target rings have to be in close range of each other (a one-step increase)?
-- How much more would it cost to permit medium range?
-- Is "close" or "medium" range defined for the caster or for the 7th-level ring-forger? (Is it set at 40 or 170 ft?)
(D) The rod affecting any type of spell vs. the rings affecting only (we hope) harmless spells. (See E.)
-- Do I need an attunement period to reduce shenanigans?
-- Would 1 hour do it?
(E) The rod affecting any target vs. the caster's ring affecting only up to 5 other ring-wearing targets.
-- Can a spell allowing multiple touches be delivered to one target via actual touch and another via ring?
-- Will delivering two charges of the spell to two different, ring-wearing targets take two actions?
(F) The rod occupying a hand vs. the rings occupying a ring slot.
(G) The rod not applying to spells cast from a wand or staff vs. I'd assume the same for the rings.
-- Or would the rings work differently?
(H) Whatever I'm overlooking.
| Debnor |
I obviously am thinking of a different form of the
Ultimate Equipment under Rods wrote:Reach Metamagic Rod Lesser reach metamagic rod 3,000 gp; Reach metamagic rod 11,000 gp; Greater reach metamagic rod 24,500 gp
I was originally going to suggest the Dungeon Rings as a possible alternate source, but upon review, that's not quite correct either. Further thoughts below....
(B) The rod granting 3 uses per day vs. most rings granting unlimited uses.
-- Do I need to impose a use limit on my Rings of Juxtaposition?
-- If so, is it for each caster, each target, or the set as a whole?
I don't think so. The flexibility provided by the rod, I think, makes a use limitation more appropriate for it.
(C) The rod allowing any one-step increase vs. the rings granting step(s) up from Touch only.
-- Do the caster & target rings have to be in close range of each other (a one-step increase)?
-- How much more would it cost to permit medium range?
-- Is "close" or "medium" range defined for the caster or for the 7th-level ring-forger? (Is it set at 40 or 170 ft?)
I don't know why you're assuming a CL7 to create the rings, when the metamagic rods you're basing the items on are CL17. But having said that, I would say that they can only be used for touch -> close (i.e., not permitting larger range increases), but using the caster's CL to determine close.
(D) The rod affecting any type of spell vs. the rings affecting only (we hope) harmless spells. (See E.)
-- Do I need an attunement period to reduce shenanigans?
-- Would 1 hour do it?
I think that an attunement period would be appropriate to the function of the rings. And the typical attunement period is 24 hours.
(E) The rod affecting any target vs. the caster's ring affecting only up to 5 other ring-wearing targets.
-- Can a spell allowing multiple touches be delivered to one target via actual touch and another via ring?
-- Will delivering two charges of the spell to two different, ring-wearing targets take two actions?
Yes; the rings simply add to the possible targeting options for the spell. And yes, of course it will take two actions, no matter whether the rings are used or not!
(F) The rod occupying a hand vs. the rings occupying a ring slot.
Well, that's another way in which the rod is more flexible than the ring. Ring slots are highly valuable, and all-too-frequently overfilled....
So we're looking at (for the rings):
Pros:
Unlimited use
Unlimited spell level
Cons:
Occupying a commonly-used ring slot
Attunement period
Only affecting touch spells
Only going to ring targets
Using a slot is a quick halving of the cost right off the top. With the unlimited spell level removed, the rings are actually considerably more limited than the rod, though the unlimited use helps make up for that. I would say perhaps one third of the rod price for each of the spell level ranges.
| bitter lily |
Debnor, I want to start responding to you with my one major disagreement. I've looked at it carefully, and I believe the CL cited on a magic item is its own CL later, not the minimum CL needed to make it. (If I'm wrong, people out there, please let me know!)
Obviously, my rings will have a requirement of Forge Ring, Reach Spell (Metamagic). I don't think there's anything else. My understanding is that that means that my 7th level Cleric can forge them, provided she has the two feats. I'll grant you, the end CL of the rings might end up different than 7th -- a question I will have to ask about.
I base this belief on what Core says about the CL listed for magic items -- note that "minimum CL to create the item" is nowhere mentioned.
Caster Level (CL): The next item in a notational entry gives the caster level of the item, indicating its relative power. The caster level determines the item's saving throw bonus, as well as range or other level-dependent aspects of the powers of the item (if variable). It also determines the level that must be contended with should the item come under the effect of a dispel magic spell or similar situation.
For potions, scrolls, and wands, the creator can set the caster level of an item at any number high enough to cast the stored spell but not higher than her own caster level. For other magic items, the caster level is determined by the item itself.
And here's an example of a ring that shows the distinction between end CL and crafting CL.
Ring of Protection
Price Varies; Aura faint abjuration; CL 5th; Weight —
+1 bonus 2,000 gp; +2 bonus 8,000 gp; +3 bonus 18,000 gp; +4 bonus 32,000 gp; +5 bonus 50,000 gp
This ring offers continual magical protection in the form of a deflection bonus of +1 to +5 to AC.
====================
Construction Requirements
====================
Cost varies
+1 bonus 1,000 gp; +2 bonus 4,000 gp; +3 bonus 9,000 gp; +4 bonus 16,000 gp; +5 bonus 25,000 gp
Forge Ring, shield of faith, caster must be of a level at least three times higher than the bonus of the ring
Despite the phrase "higher than," I believe the intent is that the CL has to be at least 3rd for a +1 ring or 6th for a +2 -- except, no, it's 7th due to the need for Forge Ring. But then we get 9th for a +3, 12th for a +4, and 15th for a +5 Ring of Protection. Nonetheless, all of these casters forge rings at CL 5! That is due to the effect that is created by the rings.
I open this up to commentary -- or maybe this should be moved to the Rules forum? It's important!
| bitter lily |
I do feel that a disclosure is in order: Debnor plays in my campaign, and therefore his PC just got one of these rings! However, I trust his system mastery in general and his ability to look at something fairly distinct from the advantage to his PC.
Debnor, I'm responding to the other specific points you made, although the order is a bit jumbled, in an attempt to make better sense of the math.
<> I definitely want the rings to be "equal opportunity" for the many casters in our party. So I agree, having a Caster ring & Target rings like the Dungeon rings won't work.
<> I do tend to think of the rings as allowing unlimited use. I went through a lot of math, and it came out so close to saying, continuous doubles the value over a 3-charge command item that it's the easiest thing to do.
<> There is a change in action economy for spontaneous casters if I say that the rings do not alter the action economy of a spell. (Which is what I want to do. The rings are simply magically in juxtaposition.) This is valuable, though, for only some users: spontaneous casters of Touch spells, not even recipients of such. So I can't call it worse than action economy doubles the value of the rod.
<> I had wistfully thought more ambitiously, but I can settle for the rings only permitting a one-step increase (from touch to close, as defined by the caster's CL). Now, this is without a one-level increase in the spell slot, of course, just like the rod. So no change in value for a one-step increase.
<> This has a further effect: the rings cannot be usefully sold independently. Walk farther away than 100 feet or so from all of the other rings, and the one you just bought is worthless. I'm willing to say this serious lack of re-sale value cuts the value in half.
<> Now, a ring-wearer can only increase the range of Touch spells, whereas a rod-wielder can increase Touch, Close, & Medium ranges. That looks like it's more, but I can go with limited range cutting the value in half.
<> And the rings definitely take up a ring slot. Slot clearly cuts the value in half.
<> I do like an attunement period to ensure that the rings are principally used for beneficial purposes, as the cleric who forged them intended. And if 24 hours is the only tradition, I can go with that. In contrast, anyone can pick up a rod and use it immediately. And now we look at how valuable those ring slots are, and how likely someone would want to switch rings in and out for the occasion. The attunement period could easily mean that a lot of recipients would choose not to wear it! I guess I can settle for saying that attunement reduces the value by half.
So here's my math:
*2.0 for continuous use
*2.0 for action economy
*1.0 for one-step increase
*0.5 for highly reduced resale value
*0.5 for only Touch range
*0.5 for ring slot
*0.5 for attunement
For every 1,000 gp that the rod costs, a ring should cost 250 gp?
| bitter lily |
Anyone? How does this sound?
Rings of Juxtaposition
Price 1,200; Aura moderate abjuration; CL 9th; Weight —
These gold rings are typically forged in sets of two to six rings, as indicated by engravings unique to each set. Spells of up to 4th level with a range of Touch may be cast upon a target at Close range, provided that the caster has line of effect to the target and both are wearing Rings of Juxtaposition from the same set. This does not affect the time that it takes to cast the spell or touch the target. Your Ring of Juxtaposition will not function until you have worn it for at least 24 hours, and will not affect spells cast from spell-trigger items.
CONSTRUCTION REQUIREMENTS
Cost 600 gp
Forge Ring, Reach Spell