| Abraham spalding |
GM was right this time. Larger creatures get to choose a square to determine flanking.
Flanking
When making a melee attack, you get a +2 flanking bonus if your opponent is threatened by another enemy character or creature on its opposite border or opposite corner.
When in doubt about whether two characters flank an opponent in the middle, trace an imaginary line between the two attackers' centers. If the line passes through opposite borders of the opponent's space (including corners of those borders), then the opponent is flanked.
Exception: If a flanker takes up more than 1 square, it gets the flanking bonus if any square it occupies counts for flanking.
Only a creature or character that threatens the defender can help an attacker get a flanking bonus.
Creatures with a reach of 0 feet can't flank an opponent.
| Jeraa |
You are mistaken.
When in doubt about whether two characters flank an opponent in the middle, trace an imaginary line between the two attackers' centers. If the line passes through opposite borders of the opponent's space (including corners of those borders), then the opponent is flanked.
Exception: If a flanker takes up more than 1 square, it gets the flanking bonus if any square it occupies counts for flanking.
| Abraham spalding |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Also note you don't have to be opposite of each other, just that the line between the flankers has to pass through opposite borders including corners...
If the line passes through opposite borders of the opponent's space (including corners of those borders), then the opponent is flanked.
So someone on the corner flanks with anyone on the two opposite sides.
| Ravingdork |
| wraithstrike |
| Ravingdork |
Yeah that's exactly what I mean. I can't see any other interpretation of that line that makes sense. Corners of an opponent's space count as the border for the opposite side. Literally what it says there.
Still seems VERY iffy to me.
| Jeraa |
Yeah that's exactly what I mean. I can't see any other interpretation of that line that makes sense. Corners of an opponent's space count as the border for the opposite side. Literally what it says there.
Yeah, that isn't flanking.
When in doubt about whether two characters flank an opponent in the middle, trace an imaginary line between the two attackers' centers. If the line passes through opposite borders of the opponent's space (including corners of those borders), then the opponent is flanked.
Exception: If a flanker takes up more than 1 square, it gets the flanking bonus if any square it occupies counts for flanking.
In no way, shape, or form does a line drawn through the 2 attackers centers cross opposite borders or corners of the defender. It isn't flanking. The line just refers to flanking diagonally across, from the corner of one border to the opposite corner of the opposite border.
The PRD even has an image very similar to this situation, except with a large creature. It specifically says it isn't flanking. (Combat section, Flanking rules, example #2)
| Joe Kondrak |
Ravingdork wrote:That's not flanking.Abraham spalding wrote:So someone on the corner flanks with anyone on the two opposite sides.I don't think this would be true in the case of Medium creatures.
I agree with wraithstrike (edit: and Jerra). A line between the middle of the two red-dotted squares passes through 2 adjacent sides (not opposite) of the green-dotted square. The line doesn't go through a corner.
In the OP's example with large creatures, though, the slightly offset corner-flank seems to work because of the "...if any square it occupies counts for flanking..." part.
RedDogMT
|
Ravingdork wrote:That's not flanking.Abraham spalding wrote:So someone on the corner flanks with anyone on the two opposite sides.I don't think this would be true in the case of Medium creatures.
Yeah, that is not flanking. The sides depicted in the link are adjacent to each other, not opposite.
In the case of medium and small creatures, they must be directly opposite of each other.
In the case of the mounted example, since at least one square of one mounted attacker is directly opposite of at least one square of the other mounted attacker, they both have flanking. It's one of the perks to being a biggun. The PFS GM was correct.
| thorin001 |
It is flanking. For large critters treat each square as an individual creature. If any square counts as flanking then the creature is considered to be flanking.
In the diagram one square of the bottom red critter is diagonally across from one square of the top red critter, through the green critter. Since if there were two medium (or small) creatures in those squares you would say they were flanking, so too are the large creatures occupying those squares.