oloch question


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Shield of gorum power said he can reveal an armor to reduce damage to another character. If more than one character are taking damage at the same time, can he use the power for all of them?

In case of a character taking damage before and after an encounter, can he reveal the same armor to reduce both damage?


To the first: not normally, because you can't use the same power more than once per step. So, say, an ogre that "damage dealt by An Ogre is dealt to each character at this location" you can't block everyone's damage with Oloch's power. (Depends on exactly how it reads; could you get the exact language please? :) )

To the second: certainly, because "before you act" and "after you act" are separate steps.


Sandslice is right. This is why it says another character (singular).


how about when multiple characters have to check skill at the same time? Let's say during a monster encounter, all characters have to check acrobatics otherwise take 1 damage. Oloch can only display blessings to help one character, and if more than 1 character failed the check, Oloch can only help reduce damage to 1 of them only?


And I got a little confuse about using powers
How about Balazar which can discard a spell to draw a monster then banish the monster to draw a card. How many times can he do it per turn? Is it once per step too? So can I do it once per advance blessing step and move step and explore step?


Yes, every power is once per step, except powers that react to something else. So if Oloch's Shield of Gorum power to discard armor he would bury can be used more than once per step because it reacts to something else.

Note two things: step means both step of the turn and step of the encounter. And between steps of the turn you can use powers as much as you want. So there is no limit between the steps of the turn. This, Balazar could swap 5 spells for 5 monsters and then draw 5 cards if it was between the steps of the turn.


Hawkmoon269 wrote:

Yes, every power is once per step, except powers that react to something else. So if Oloch's Shield of Gorum power to discard armor he would bury can be used more than once per step because it reacts to something else.

Note two things: step means both step of the turn and step of the encounter. And between steps of the turn you can use powers as much as you want. So there is no limit between the steps of the turn. This, Balazar could swap 5 spells for 5 monsters and then draw 5 cards if it was between the steps of the turn.

if there is no limit to react powers, doesn't that mean Oloch (sorry i'm going back to Oloch now ;) ) can react to area of effect damages, preventing one damage per character?

Sovereign Court

By reacting, he means powers that automatically trigger, no cost. For example, "When you take damage, prevent 1 of it" would be reactionary, but "When you take damage, you may reveal a thingamajig to prevent 1 of it" is not.


So, yes, Rex. Oloch's power starts "when another character at your location takes damage" so he can use it if multiple characters take damage simultaneously.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

2 people marked this as a favorite.

The FAQ linked above says "If a power says it may be used when something happens, you may use it every time that happens. Otherwise, a specific card’s power may only be used once per check or step." Oloch's power says "When another character at your location is dealt damage," he can do his thing.

The subtly here is that if a bane said "all characters are dealt 1d4 Fire damage," that's a single thing happening, even though it affects multiple characters. So Oloch can use his power just once.

If, on the other hand, the bane said "each character must succeed at a Wisdom 9 check or be dealt 1d4 Fire damage," then that creates a separate event for each character, and he could use his power on each of them.


Vic Wertz wrote:

The FAQ linked above says "If a power says it may be used when something happens, you may use it every time that happens. Otherwise, a specific card’s power may only be used once per check or step." Oloch's power says "When another character at your location is dealt damage," he can do his thing.

The subtly here is that if a bane said "all characters are dealt 1d4 Fire damage," that's a single thing happening, even though it affects multiple characters. So Oloch can use his power just once.

If, on the other hand, the bane said "each character must succeed at a Wisdom 9 check or be dealt 1d4 Fire damage," then that creates a separate event for each character, and he could use his power on each of them.

Side question, and it may not even matter, but does "all characters are dealt 1d4 fire damage" means on roll is made and each character suffers the same amount of damage, or each character rolls their own damage.


Westward wrote:
Side question, and it may not even matter, but does "all characters are dealt 1d4 fire damage" means on roll is made and each character suffers the same amount of damage, or each character rolls their own damage.

This is in the rulebook in the "Rules:Rolling Dice" sidebar on page 6:

WotR Rulebook p.6 wrote:
If a card calls for a die roll that affects multiple characters or situations (for example, if it says that each character at a location is dealt 1d4 damage), roll separately for each.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / oloch question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion