Paired Opportunist + Bodyguard


Rules Questions


Basically, does this combo work together? For clarity, here's the wording of the feats as well as an example scenario.

Bodyguard (Combat)
Prerequisite: Combat Reflexes.
Benefit: When an adjacent ally is attacked, you may use an attack of opportunity to attempt the aid another action to improve your ally's AC.

Paired Opportunists (Combat, Teamwork)
Benefit: Whenever you are adjacent to an ally who also has this feat, you receive a +4 circumstance bonus on attacks of opportunity against creatues that you both threaten. Enemies that provoke attacks of opportunity from your ally also provoke attacks of opportunity from you so long as you threaten them (even if the situation or an ability would normally deny you the AoO).

Now the Scenario. Fighter A and Reach Cavalier B are fighting in your standard dungeon adjacent to each other. Reach Cav B has Bodyguard, and is sharing Paired Opportunists through his abilities. BigNasty Orc is adjacent to Fighter A, and 10ft from RCB. BigNasty attacks Fighter A, triggering an Attack of Opportunity from RCB thanks to Bodyguard.

Now, do the two feats interact as they seem to? Would the AoO granted through Bodyguard then trigger Fighter A's Paired Opportunists feat granting him an AoO on BigNasty? Thanks!

Silver Crusade

I believe it won't work the way you want it. When bodyguard gets triggered it uses an AoO from your pool, but it's not an AoO. No AoO has been provoked.

I might count Paired Opportunists +4 on the to hit for Bodyguard, where you try to hit AC 10. But that's not what you're looking for.

Other opinions?


I'll be honest, I was waiting for others to chime in. I'll take the fact that they didn't as a general consensus that this is the way it's interpreted though.


Remember that you essentially expend an Attack of Opportunity to Aid AC, according to the bodyguard feat. The bodyguard option only applies when an adjacent ally is being attacked; it is not of itself triggered from a provocation, meaning the PC does not also get an AoO. Additionally, since the Bodyguard feat specifically calls out the Aid Another action, it is not in itself an Attack of Opportunity, meaning the +4 would not apply either.

Of course, there has been much debate as to how the Bodyguard feat actually functions, since RAW, you are using the Aid Another Action via spending an AoO (something that, normally, requires a Standard Action). The designer behind the feat has stated how it was intended to function according to how he wrote the feat, and TBH, I would say that his RAI would surpass even the big man's interpretation/rulings, since he is the one who invented the feat, versus JB who simply allowed it into the published products.

It's like saying Megaman was invented by Nintendo, when the creator of Megaman was actually from Capcom, and Nintendo merely helped license and distribute its product via allowing them to use their gaming console(s).


bodyguard burns an AoO, but the action you preform is not an AoO

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Paired Opportunist + Bodyguard All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.