Goblin Pegleg & rerolls


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


With Goblin Pegleg forcing you to reroll any successful combat check with it, a previously-cornercase question now is more relevant (as it could come up every combat for Jirelle):

If a power allows you to reroll 1-2 dice, and then you must use the second result (Jirelle's power), does a card (a monster such as Crab Swarm, or a weapon like Goblin Pegleg) that usually requires a reroll on success still trigger a reroll if you have already rerolled on that check? Or does 'must use the second result' preclude all further rerolls (barring things higher up the Golden-Rule chain)?

(Previous thread on rerolling: http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2rfpo?Rerolling)

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Our current ruling is that "you must take the second result" means "you must take the second result."

But Goblin Pegleg actually says that you must take the lower result, which is a bit of a wrench in things, because it has a built-in reroll... and playing a reroll card *after* that, which would specify you take the second one, might mean you make the *third* roll but take the second, which would be weird. (But beneficial, if the second one were worse than the first....)


Vic Wertz wrote:

Our current ruling is that "you must take the second result" means "you must take the second result."

But Goblin Pegleg actually says that you must take the lower result, which is a bit of a wrench in things, because it has a built-in reroll... and playing a reroll card *after* that, which would specify you take the second one, might mean you make the *third* roll but take the second, which would be weird. (But beneficial, if the second one were worse than the first....)

OK this one is hard for us non native English speakers. Can someone give me detailed examples of dice (re)rolled and results in the different cases :

Jirelle vs Crab Swarm
Jirelle using Pegleg
Pegleg vs Crab Swarm
Jirelle using Pegleg vs Crab Swarm


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I haven't gotten my Goblin Pegleg yet, so I'm not sure exactly what it says. I will note this though, Jirelle's power says you can reroll a die (or 2) and that you must take the second result of that die. I take that to be different than taking the second result of the check as a whole.

But for Jirelle vs Crab Swarm, this is how I've been playing it. So if you use her power the first time you attempt the roll, then have to attempt the roll again, you can't use the power again. But if you didn't use it the first time you attempted the roll, you can use it the second time.

Lantern Lodge

Now that we've had the Goblin Pegleg around to play with for a bit, has anyone else decided that the only thing it's missing is the "Magic" trait?

I've got Valeros running around with it, beating the ever-loving tar out of stuff. 3d10+5 (two skill bonuses to strength) without any other bonuses is just mean. Drop a Blessing of Gorum or Besmara and it's kinda shameful. Put this thing in Oloch's hands and you've got a weapon of mass destruction.

I was lucky enough to pick it up early in The Wormwood Mutiny, and I beat the hell out of The Whale AND The Brinebrood Queen twice last night just because we couldn't temp close a location. We had plenty of blessings left in the blessing deck and the other location had just two cards in it. So Valeros beat them out of one location, we took the round to set up and load up our hands, then Valeros went after them again and beat them like red-headed stepchildren.

Yeah, I've had one close call with the reroll, but in the last scenario Plugg's Uglies, once all the bonuses were thrown in I smacked Mr. Plugg around and was wound up rolling a 38 and a 50 for damage. Oh darn, Mr. Plugg only took 38 points of damage.

The Goblin Pegleg is freakin' terrifying.

Scarab Sages

The real winning combo, it seems to me, would be a rogue like Olenjack, who gets a bonus winning a poison-trait combat, with the Pegleg. Poison weapons, or poison, can be hard to come by until late in an AP - but the Pegleg shows up early, allowing Olenjack to use his power. In the game that Hawkmoon & I play with some friends, this is my Most Coveted Card, for sure, even though Olenjack is a bit more of a Dex than Str guy.

The Pegleg might be the "Poog of Zarongel" of the S&S set.

Scarab Sages

I read the effect of the goblin pegleg on rerolls as follows:

If a roll involving the Goblin Pegleg gets a reroll affecting all dice or just one die, the reroll must be done twice with the lower of the two rolls counting as the reroll result. If the reroll states the "second" roll must be kept, then the reroll result IS the second roll.

Lantern Lodge

Calthaer wrote:
...even though Olenjack is a bit more of a Dex than Str guy.

With a +2d10 and the poison trait, it kinda doesn't matter that you have to use a lower Str score. I imagine Olenjack and Wu Shen both could have a lot of fun with it.


Vic, what was the decision on this? We have goblin pegleg vs Shark eating crab


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, PF Special Edition, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Troymk1 wrote:
Vic, what was the decision on this? We have goblin pegleg vs Shark eating crab

I'm not Vic, but here's how I understand it:

Goblin Pegleg makes you reroll on a successful check and take the lower result, and I'm 80% positive shark eating crab makes you reroll on a successful check and take the second result. Both are at the same "level" in terms of the golden rule, so we can't rely on that to resolve the difference. Given that, you pick the order the two powers resolve in, and whichever resolves second is the one that wins out.

1. You fail the first check - no rerolls for you, take damage as normal.
2. You succeed at the first check, and apply Goblin Pegleg first.
2a. If that fails, take damage based on that result.
2b. If that succeeds, apply Shark Eating Crab and make a 3rd roll, but take the 2nd (successful) result, so you win regardless of that roll.
3. You succeed at the first check, and apply Shark Eating Crab first.
3a. If that fails, take damage based on that result.
3b. If that succeeds, apply Goblin Pegleg and make a 3rd roll, and take the lower result of the 2nd and 3rd rolls to apply. The grammar of the pegleg implies you choose between the roll that resulted in the reroll and the new roll, so even though the 1st result may be the lowest, you only choose the lower of the 2nd and 3rd to apply.

Given the sequencing, applying Pegleg first is the optimal choice as applying the Crab first gives you 3 chances to fail.

Aside: WotR moved from "use the second result" to "use the new result" which is a really nice change that simplifies the zaniness going on here.


That's what we did.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Yeah, feel free to treat it as "take the new result."

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Goblin Pegleg & rerolls All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion