
Orbis Orboros |

Specifically, the first unique power on her stargazer rule. It says that if she peeks at the top card of a location deck with her power and it is a boon and it is her turn, she can encounter it.
If I'm reading this correctly, this means even boons in locations she is not at can be encountered. This raises some questions.
-"While at this location"
Locations like Shrine of Lamashtu do things when you encounter certain cards there. If Alahazra is in, say, the woods and she peeks at the Shrine and encounters a blessing, does she take two damage? What if she's at the shrine and she peeks at the woods and encounters a blessing; does she take damage then?
My initial thoughts are no damage for peeking at the shrine's blessings, but she does get hurt for peaking at the woods' blessings while at the Shrine. This is based solely on what I remember of the card text and goes against the logic of the game world.
-Aid from other characters
This one seems more straightforward, but just double checking. If Alahazra peeks at and encounters an item with two checks to acquire at, say, the woods while she's in, say, the Academy, does she get to have a friend make one of the checks if they are in the woods or if they are in the Academy?
My initial thoughts is that they have to be in the Academy with her. I'm more confident on this one.
---
The first question is the most important to me. It offeres some interesting strategies if she can do things like encounter Blessings at the Shrine free of damage.

Hawkmoon269 |

Yeah. I've been thinking about this too. In general, I think the "at this location" powers refer to the character. So, I think her not being at the Woods and encountering boons from the Shrine would avoid the Shrine's damage. That is because I read it like this "While you are at this location, if you encounter a blessing, you are dealt two points of mental damage that may not be reduced."

Orbis Orboros |

Yeah. I've been thinking about this too. In general, I think the "at this location" powers refer to the character. So, I think her not being at the Woods and encountering boons from the Shrine would avoid the Shrine's damage. That is because I read it like this "While you are at this location, if you encounter a blessing, you are dealt two points of mental damage that may not be reduced."
That's my conclusion. But I feel the intent of the rule is this:
"When a blessing in this location deck is encountered..."I'm mostly curious because this is the first time (to my knowledge) that you can encounter a card in a different location deck.

Orbis Orboros |

As written that is my interpretation as well. I simply hope to have things confirmed - it seems a little exploitative to avoid things like the Shrine's effect in this manner. It could be a big deal in some situations.
Besides, the dev team might have even intended that she only explores if it's at her location as well as on her turn, and the lack of this text is merely an oversight (not that I think that's the case, but it's possible).

![]() |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

Encounters happen where the characters are. (Take, for example, encountering a summoned creature—you know that the creature isn't part of the location deck, yet I bet you that virtually everyone knows they're supposed to apply the "at this location" powers from your location to that encounter without thinking twice about it...)