Retraining prerequisites


Rules Questions


I know that normally, when retraining, you cannot retrain a prerequisite. What if you still had the prereq from a different source?

For example, I take Endurance as a level 1 feat, then Diehard at level 3, and Stalwart at level 5. Somewhere along the way, I pick up a Scarlet and Green Ioun stone (grants Endurance Feat). Can I retrain the Endurance Feat since I still have it from the item (which IS legal for meeting prereqs)

BTW, this is for PFS.


1) You should include "[PFS]" in the title, as that has different rules.
2) Here are the retraining rules for feats.

You could retrain the feat chain, then retrain the feats back in order, but using the Ioun Stone as the prerequisite for the feat.
A) Retrain Stalwart -> something else #1
B) Retrain Diehard -> something else #2
C) Retrain Endurance -> Diehard, using Ioun Stone as prerequisite
D) Retrain something else #2 -> Stalwart
E) Retrain something else #1 -> something wanted
If what you want does not depend on the chain, you can skip step E by using it for #1.

/cevah

Sczarni

I have no idea what Cevah is trying to say.

The rules for this are no different in PFS.

Retrain Endurance, then equip your Ioun Stone. Simple as that.

(edit: derp, it's late. Leave your Ioun Stone equipped and then retrain, not the other way around)

Whenever you remove your Ioun Stone going forward, of course, you temporarily lose access to those other feats as well.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Retraining prerequisites All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions